We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort to your Saves list
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   354-1 Maezato, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0002, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Ishigaki
Berlin
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

The ANA-InterContinental is a little outside the city, but with a rental car it is easy to get around the island (this is much recommended!).

The island has some beautiful spots (i.e. waterfalls, beaches, mountains) which wait to be discovered a little off the beaten track... the concierge holds som reall insider tips for that...

The resort is newly refurbished and the rooms are spacious and light. Breakfast was great and range & variety great.

Service typically Japanese - very attentative to details, just "deeper" conversations and more complex requests occasionally get lost in translation...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    221
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
195
140
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Nice hotel a short taxi ride from the airport. The hotel kindly upraded our room when we requested a dpuble bed instead of a twin. Originally we were allocated a twin room neat the top of main building but instead got a bigger room with a sea front view in the Coral wing. Massive room with great view. Great bathroom. Very clean and modern. Big LCD TV with a couple of English speaking channels, and a DVD player. Free internet in the rooms was fast. There's even some computer in the lobby that are free to use if you've not brought a laptop. Aircon in the rooms was good and essential as it was very hot and humid in Ishigaki in June. The hotel has is right next too the beach which is the nicest one on Ishigaki. If you don't want to eat at the hotel which is expensive there are a few restaurants nearby which were good. The hotel has nice grounds and a swimming pool if you don't want to swim in the sea. There's also a gym but we never had time or motivation to use it. I would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Conveniently located less than 10 minutes away from the airport. The drawback is one can hear the plane which fortunately wasn't very frequent.
We stayed in the Coral wing and the rooms are very nice - bright and spacious with a nice view over the golf course and the sea.
We love the pool especially the water slide.
Breakfast was good. The staff were courteous, friendly and fairly helpful, though the level of English needs some improvement.
We were told that it's semi-high season but the place didn't feel crowded except for breakfast.
The only complaint I have is they are rather stingy with complimentary items. But overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I stayed at the ANA Ishigaki during my first trip ever to Okinawa prefecture, and also Ishigaki. We went in the first week of November, the beach season 'officially' ends on Oct 31, which means that the lifeguards are no longer on duty and rental leisure equipment is shut away. (However, the weather was still warm (up to 25 C) and we were able to enjoy swimming in the beach directly in front of the hotel, and there were no crowds anywhere, thus I really loved going during the off season). We stayed for 5 nights in the room package on floors 4-7 including breakfast plan. I opted for 'breakfast only' plan rather than 'breakfast + dinner' as I'm not a great fan of hotel food as it's usually expensive and not always delicious, and I thought it would be safer to have options. In the case of ANA, I was wrong - the food here was DELICIOUS and I would choose bfast+dinner now in a heart-beat.

As it was my first trip to Ishigaki and I wasn't able to do as much research as I liked before going since most of the tourism materials were in Japanese, I wanted a relatively full-service hotel that could give us good advice on activities to do in Ishigaki. I used Tripadvisor.com and Rakuten Travel as my 2 sources of customer reviews to make my final decision. I debated between ANA Ishigaki, and the Karuizawa Club Hotel, which was one of the most highly rated in both websites.

Ultimately, I chose ANA Ishigaki, even though I had secured a special anniversary rate at Karuizawa Club. The ANA hotel is extremely central - it's only 5 min from the airport (free shuttle bus or taxi exists), it's only 5 min from 'town' (again a free shuttle bus or quick taxi ride). The facility is extremely comprehensive - it has indoor pool, outdoor pool, large bath facility on 2F with sauna(daiyokujyou 大浴場), numerous delicious restaurants (and all reasonably priced vs peers in the rest of Japan, and considering the high quality of the food), fantastic bar/lounge (great desserts, high tea, and delicious cocktails). Behind the hotel is the beautiful sandy Maezato Beach, perfect for swimming or sun bathing. Karuizawa Club is further inland, thus you would have had to either have a car, or taken the taxi, to get to the beach or to town.

The 2 final deal breakers, after enjoying all these facilities to the max, was the friendly and warm staff, and the Tour Center. I had always heard that people in Okinawa are warm and friendly. However, on top of this, the staff were very helpful, their recommendations for things to do spot on, their professionalism top notch, I would compare them to the concierge at a high end hotel such as the Four Seasons. And everyone we spoke to, we felt like family. We felt very well taken care of. The Tour Center is a very elaborate concierge. They have numerous pamphlets and binders of information on things to do in Ishigaki, and in nearby islands, snorkeling, ferry tours, diving, etc. We chose to do the day trip to Iriomote Island, day trip to Taketomi island, Ishigaki island 1/2 day bus tour, car rental for the day, and the Ishigaki Matsuri festival.

I would highly recommend a trip to Ishigaki Island, and I would highly recommend ANA Hotel if you're looking for a full-service hotel. There are many other hotels on the island where you can rent cottages and cook yourselves, if you have families or large groups, thus there are other options available depending on your needs.

Note: All rooms in the main hotel overlook the hotel pool and have ocean views (thus you don't have to make the heart-breaking choice as in other resort hotels of ocean view or city view, etc). From the outside, the hotel's architecture may look odd. However, you realize afterwards that this architecture allows all rooms to have an ocean view.

There is a golf course, and a spa, but we did not use either as we had so many other activities to do. Thus I cannot comment on either sadly.

Here's is an English language website on Ishigaki I found very helpful

http://www.ishigaki-japan.com/

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skyybluebunny
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Highly recommended. Especially the low/off season times.
All rooms are OCEAN VIEW. The beds are comfortable and towels are fluffy.
RESORT CENTER was helpful and great suggestions with the arrangements.
Pool and Hot bath was a nice addition to the trip and great options for bad weather.
Very relaxing ambience and atmosphere.

As per our cab driver, this is indeed the best hotel on the island.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

This hotel was recommended by friends and a good choice. Large comfortable room with an uplifting view over the garden and pools to the beach, sea, and coral reefs. Charming and helpful staff who on arrival efficiently organised everything including car rental, restaurant and travel suggestions.
Buffet breakfast was very good with a variety of western and okinawan/japanese choices.
10 minutes to the airport and main Ishigaki town by taxi.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

The Ana hotel is sited on a large complex about ten minutes from Ishigaki airport by taxi. There is a bus to and from the port (also possibly the airport) direct from the hotel. The hotel itself boasts about six restaurants of different styles, a wedding chapel, a large outdoor leisure pool, an indoor pool and small gym, and an onsen / sento (Japanese bath). The hotel also offers numerous activities based around the private beach such as waterskiing, pedalos and so on.

I enjoyed my stay at the Ana and the staff were extremely helpful. It did ease the stay to speak a little Japanese but there are English speaking staff available as well. Like many Japanese hotels, I did feel that the rooms weren't quite as nice as the lobby etc suggested, being slightly small and also rather basic in terms of furnishing and bathroom decor. On the other hand, all of the rooms and facilities were scrupulously clean as you would expect in Japan. Overall I would recommend this hotel and doubt that there is a better option on the relatively small island of Ishigaki.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort

Address: 354-1 Maezato, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0002, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ishigaki
#3 Family Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Ishigaki Hotel Ishigaki
Ana Hotel Ishigaki
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.