We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, too bad they killed their coral reefs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort to your Saves list
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   354-1 Maezato, Ishigaki 907-0002, Okinawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Ishigaki
4.0 of 5 stars 458 Reviews
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, too bad they killed their coral reefs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everyone recommended we stay here, so we decided to extend our trip after a few nights at another hotel. The rooms and service are international standard, great views, nice pools and restaurants, etc. We booked several tours through an off-site tour agency and they were very informative about the island ecology, etc. When we told them where we were staying they told us of how the hotel had overdeveloped the land too close to the ocean and had in fact killed all the coral reefs nearest their private beach. We asked some other locals if this was true and apparently is a common point of angst among island natives. I hope the hotel does something to try to remedy this, but in the meantime I wont again to a hotel that has such a cavalier attitude towards the environment on which it depends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    221
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
195
140
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was my second time staying at the ANA intercontinental in Ishigaki. Located by the secluded Maesato beach near the Ishigaki port and airport, this hotel is close enough to the island city activities but far enough to feel like paradise. The hotel rooms feel new and have a tasteful decor. We stayed in the Coral wing which had nice views of the ocean but had no balcony.
There is golf, tennis, indoor and outdoor pools, and beach activities on site. There is even a bathhouse open from the mid afternoon till 11pm for guests. I was most impressed with the hotel's staff and service. I felt welcome and appreciated during my stay and I couldn't have asked for more from the hotel staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and wished it was 10. The Hotel is in a good spot, very near the airport but the planes don't really bother you, infact watching them land is quite fun! The Hotel has a really nice feel to it, the lobby, public and restaurant areas inside are beautifully appointed. Outside the gardens are very nice with a good pool, but there are a couple of areas that do need attention eg the pool bar (which was closed) but we did get the impression the hotel was working on improving things where needed - eg the indoor pool was being renovated while we were there.

Our corner room was huge - we had two massive picture windows and a double balcony over-looking the beach and Ishigaki Town in the distance, great views all round. Two 3/4 beds pushed together made for the biggest double ever! The bathroom was very well kitted out, good separate shower and amenities and one of those Japanese automatic toilets which does everything for you....!

Big flat screen TV, nice furnishings, towels and very good maid service - all in all a great room.

The beach in front of the Hotel is not private but is very much the domain of the Hotel with staffed sunbeds for guests and a beach house selling trips, drinks and snacks. Good showers and lockers etc and nets to keep away the jellyfish. We took a snorkelling trip to the nearby reef and had a great time - just three guests but two guides made everyone feel safe, and the novice lady who came with us was very well looked after by the excellent all female staff who took us out.

One feature worthy of note in this Hotel was the variety and quality of the food. There is a very good breakfast buffet with something for everyone and outdoor seating weather permitting. There are about 6 different restaurants offering local, Japanese, Chinese, Sushi, etc etc. We tried several meals and all were excellent. The Tepenyaki was particularly good - not cheap but worth a try. Our Chef was charming and prepared excellent food. A lunchtime Italian buffet was an intersting but tasty departure from the Asian food we enjoyed.

There isnt much nearby the Hotel, a small locals Bar and then Cafe Puff Puff about a mile away which is a nice sea view cafe. That doesnt matter however as the nearby Ishigaki Town is a short taxi ride away and there is always a taxi waiting outside the hotel. About 1000 yen into town.

A smarter option is the bus which runs a continual loop from the airport, hotel into town and then up to the beautiful Kariba bay. An unlimited 5 day pass is only 1000 yen and we used it all the time - the buses run all day at about 40 minute intervals. The bus terminal in Ishigaki is very central and right by the Ferry terminal where you can catch ferries to all the nearby islands.

We would very much recommend taking a tour to these islands - the concierge at the hotel can put one together. They are all different and have a lot to see and do. The Ferry ride itself is quite a trip - really fast!

Ishigaki Town is bit rough and ready to look at - the Typhoons mean all the buildings are very stocky and no frilly bits! That said it does have a certain charm, and as with all places it is the people who really make a place and the people here make it a great place. We dont speak Japanese and most locals dont speak any English but we cant recall being made to feel more welcome anywhere, by everyone we encountered.

Even in Restaurants without a photo picture of the food we somehow made ourselves understood, and I would encourage all non-Japanese speakers to get out amongst the locals and give it a go - they will really appreciate you and help you make sense of everything. A basic phrae book or App is a useful tool and enough to get by with locals helpful attitude. There are loads of different bars and restaurants in Ishigaki town, there is a matrix of central streets full of them. The whole place feels very safe and friendly.

Back at the hotel the concierge staff mostly speak good English and can really help you navigate your way around. We had a fantastic trip to the Island and the Hotel was the ideal base to enjoy it from.

We would very much recommend the Hotel and would love to return.

Room Tip: The big corner rooms in the main hotel overlooking Ishigaki town give the best space and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
no where
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hotel is 10-15mins drive from airport, so very convenient!

It seems the rooms in the main building all have twin beds rather than double beds as our party had 5 rooms & they were all the same! Room decor is fairly simple & I feel it needs updating, however the room & bathroom are nice size & well equipped, slippers, hair dryer, night shirts & intercontinental amenity boxes which is refilled everyday.

The staff are really courteous & helpful, concierge team speaks good English also the screens by the concierge desk advises the weather & what trips are available & time, really useful.

Hotel beach is beautiful, guest can use the sun loungers, watersports equipment free of charge & towels are supplied, there is a small patch of coral on the beach, theres a good selection of fish to see there, do check it out!
Indoor & outdoor pool are nice size & very clean with plenty of loungers.

Hotel location is not too far from the market & restaurants, about 20mins taxi ride roughly 1000yen or so.

Breakfast is plentiful but service somewhat slow...the FIRESIDE TERRACE was really nice, fresh lobsters & wagu beef & pork..well worth a visit.

Very nice & relaxing hotel, will stay again if we visit Ishigaki again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. Our serene spa-like room was in the Coral Wing. It had 2 oversized twin beds and a couch that served as a bed for our child. The golf course/ocean view room was very large with floor to ceiling windows. Wifi out in the lobby provided awesome coverage for using VoIP on my cell phone. The bathroom layout was in 3 sections, large soaking tub/sink/large shower in one room, toilet in one room, large sink in one room. High end toiletries, everything you can think of: toothbrush, comb, razor, spa quality shampoo/shower gel/conditioner/lotion. The room came with robes, slippers, and nightshirts!!

Tour desk always had someone who spoke reasonable English. We rented cars and reserved tours through them with ease. Hotel staff was pleasant and hotel atmosphere was relaxed. Beautiful grounds and plenty of solid surface for walking/jogging around the hotel area. Beach was groomed and swimming area had netting. The ferry and downtown area is an inexpensive cab ride away. Shopping and dining is also a moderate walk from the hotel.

I would give this hotel 5 stars but there were a few drawbacks: Outdoor pool only had about 2 to 2 1/2 feet of water in it. It may have to do with it is still early in the pool season. The indoor pool was pleasantly warm but the women's changing area needs serious maintenance. Showers stalls are corroded, marginal cleanliness, no towels and only one of two hairdryers worked and they had obviously seen better days. Free wired internet in the room was slow with intermittant periods of no internet availability.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel as we would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Hated to say good-bye after three nights at this pleasant and friendly resort hotel. We visited in April with a terrific deal: third night free. No complaints. Service is just as good as everyone says. We went for room in Coral Wing, facing golf course with blue ocean beyond. Terrific and spacious! Wow. Tons of room, a wonderful bath area with polished stone flooring, separate shower, large tub and two sinks. Bamboo flooring that meshed with a nice matting in room center. Large HD screen -- what a nice place to get up early to watch Master's finish! Then went out to snorkel. A 3-par golf course is next door, a 2-minute stroll. Can rent clubs. Porter said the green fee is 4,500 yen per person, and you can play all day. Nothing special; greens looked round and flat, but the place looked well-kept.

The room was peaceful and silent. Not even any ticking from the alarm clock. Just superb sense of relaxation. I can't say enough about that. Excellent desk. Free internet in room. Big window. Really. We hated to pack up.

Weather was so perfect in April we didn't need too many excuses to have fun. My Japanese wife loved the second-floor ofuro (hot bath), and our son did a dozen reps non-stop on the swimming pool slide. Indoor and outdoor pools. They only go to one-meter in depth, so don't count on lap swimming. I did see some men swimming laps in the beach area. With wetsuits, which help. Shoji, our snorkeling guide, was outstanding and entirely patient and helpful. Took us on boat out to edge of reef, where the underwater views were good. Not much depth, but lots of types of fish and a huge assortment of coral.

As for food, the hotel breakfast was impressive and of course designed for Japanese taste. I loved the fresh fruit and nice breads. The hot food was not aimed at me.

We found three good cafes worth a visit: Cafe Puff-Puff, which is just about a mile away, an easy drive. This is a cool, seaside cafe of the type often found in Okinawa prefecture, with soft jazz in the background and fresh and trendy cuisine. Good place to ease into the lifestyle. An's Cafe near the ferry terminal opened at 10 for breakfast, with a simple 'morning set,' with fried egg, bacon, toast and coffee, for 500 yen, about a fifth of the price of a hotel breakfast. Really nice people. We found more in English there because one young waitress speaks English well. She also works as an English-language staffer on cruise ships, so you foreigners (like me) can hope she's still there. Nice interior, tastefully decorated. Foreigners would like the look and feel and the coffee.

Another good stop, especially if you have kids craving Western food, is Vanilla Deli in the restaurant district, where the hamburgers are just excellent, using the local and very tasty Ishigaki beef. Wow. Try the burger with creme cheese. Look for the sign in English above the windows on front of building. It's not on main dori (street) but is about 100 meters inland on a fairly wide side street. Took us awhile to find it, but finally spotted the sign. Worth the search.

We really enjoyed Ishigaki. Also did usual sightseeing and took tour of other islands. All great. Best part was the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana Rose
Top Contributor
525 reviews 525 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed 4 nights here in mid-November. Great location for our needs. Though not in the city, it is easy to get there by bus, taxi, or car. Close to airport, but we never heard a plane. The hotel staff deserve the highest praise. They were so helpful in booking restaurants, providing information, explaining things, and booking an island tour. Most could speak some English (or could find someone quickly that could). Nothing seemed a chore, they always had a smile. Not knowing Japanese, the concierge service was very important to us and they made our trip more enjoyable.

We ate at the hotel's Chinese Restaurant which was fabulous and the Japanese Restaurant which was very good. The outdoor pool was already closed for the season, but the indoor pool was still open....water warm, great facilities, beautiful atrium room with floor to ceiling windows. We were in the tower wing on the 9th floor corner room...very spacious with lovely views. Bathroom was very spacious, clean, modern. Bed was firm, but very comfortable, with nice fluffy sheets and pillows. They also have very nice shops that are competitively priced with a wonderful selection of items. The hotel is expensive compared to the other hotels in town, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort

Address: 354-1 Maezato, Ishigaki 907-0002, Okinawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ishigaki
#3 Family Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Ishigaki Hotel Ishigaki
Ana Hotel Ishigaki
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.