We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort

Save Saved
You added ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   354-1 Maezato, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0002, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Ishigaki
no where
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hotel is 10-15mins drive from airport, so very convenient!

It seems the rooms in the main building all have twin beds rather than double beds as our party had 5 rooms & they were all the same! Room decor is fairly simple & I feel it needs updating, however the room & bathroom are nice size & well equipped, slippers, hair dryer, night shirts & intercontinental amenity boxes which is refilled everyday.

The staff are really courteous & helpful, concierge team speaks good English also the screens by the concierge desk advises the weather & what trips are available & time, really useful.

Hotel beach is beautiful, guest can use the sun loungers, watersports equipment free of charge & towels are supplied, there is a small patch of coral on the beach, theres a good selection of fish to see there, do check it out!
Indoor & outdoor pool are nice size & very clean with plenty of loungers.

Hotel location is not too far from the market & restaurants, about 20mins taxi ride roughly 1000yen or so.

Breakfast is plentiful but service somewhat slow...the FIRESIDE TERRACE was really nice, fresh lobsters & wagu beef & pork..well worth a visit.

Very nice & relaxing hotel, will stay again if we visit Ishigaki again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    183
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
156
124
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. Our serene spa-like room was in the Coral Wing. It had 2 oversized twin beds and a couch that served as a bed for our child. The golf course/ocean view room was very large with floor to ceiling windows. Wifi out in the lobby provided awesome coverage for using VoIP on my cell phone. The bathroom layout was in 3 sections, large soaking tub/sink/large shower in one room, toilet in one room, large sink in one room. High end toiletries, everything you can think of: toothbrush, comb, razor, spa quality shampoo/shower gel/conditioner/lotion. The room came with robes, slippers, and nightshirts!!

Tour desk always had someone who spoke reasonable English. We rented cars and reserved tours through them with ease. Hotel staff was pleasant and hotel atmosphere was relaxed. Beautiful grounds and plenty of solid surface for walking/jogging around the hotel area. Beach was groomed and swimming area had netting. The ferry and downtown area is an inexpensive cab ride away. Shopping and dining is also a moderate walk from the hotel.

I would give this hotel 5 stars but there were a few drawbacks: Outdoor pool only had about 2 to 2 1/2 feet of water in it. It may have to do with it is still early in the pool season. The indoor pool was pleasantly warm but the women's changing area needs serious maintenance. Showers stalls are corroded, marginal cleanliness, no towels and only one of two hairdryers worked and they had obviously seen better days. Free wired internet in the room was slow with intermittant periods of no internet availability.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel as we would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Hated to say good-bye after three nights at this pleasant and friendly resort hotel. We visited in April with a terrific deal: third night free. No complaints. Service is just as good as everyone says. We went for room in Coral Wing, facing golf course with blue ocean beyond. Terrific and spacious! Wow. Tons of room, a wonderful bath area with polished stone flooring, separate shower, large tub and two sinks. Bamboo flooring that meshed with a nice matting in room center. Large HD screen -- what a nice place to get up early to watch Master's finish! Then went out to snorkel. A 3-par golf course is next door, a 2-minute stroll. Can rent clubs. Porter said the green fee is 4,500 yen per person, and you can play all day. Nothing special; greens looked round and flat, but the place looked well-kept.

The room was peaceful and silent. Not even any ticking from the alarm clock. Just superb sense of relaxation. I can't say enough about that. Excellent desk. Free internet in room. Big window. Really. We hated to pack up.

Weather was so perfect in April we didn't need too many excuses to have fun. My Japanese wife loved the second-floor ofuro (hot bath), and our son did a dozen reps non-stop on the swimming pool slide. Indoor and outdoor pools. They only go to one-meter in depth, so don't count on lap swimming. I did see some men swimming laps in the beach area. With wetsuits, which help. Shoji, our snorkeling guide, was outstanding and entirely patient and helpful. Took us on boat out to edge of reef, where the underwater views were good. Not much depth, but lots of types of fish and a huge assortment of coral.

As for food, the hotel breakfast was impressive and of course designed for Japanese taste. I loved the fresh fruit and nice breads. The hot food was not aimed at me.

We found three good cafes worth a visit: Cafe Puff-Puff, which is just about a mile away, an easy drive. This is a cool, seaside cafe of the type often found in Okinawa prefecture, with soft jazz in the background and fresh and trendy cuisine. Good place to ease into the lifestyle. An's Cafe near the ferry terminal opened at 10 for breakfast, with a simple 'morning set,' with fried egg, bacon, toast and coffee, for 500 yen, about a fifth of the price of a hotel breakfast. Really nice people. We found more in English there because one young waitress speaks English well. She also works as an English-language staffer on cruise ships, so you foreigners (like me) can hope she's still there. Nice interior, tastefully decorated. Foreigners would like the look and feel and the coffee.

Another good stop, especially if you have kids craving Western food, is Vanilla Deli in the restaurant district, where the hamburgers are just excellent, using the local and very tasty Ishigaki beef. Wow. Try the burger with creme cheese. Look for the sign in English above the windows on front of building. It's not on main dori (street) but is about 100 meters inland on a fairly wide side street. Took us awhile to find it, but finally spotted the sign. Worth the search.

We really enjoyed Ishigaki. Also did usual sightseeing and took tour of other islands. All great. Best part was the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana Rose
Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed 4 nights here in mid-November. Great location for our needs. Though not in the city, it is easy to get there by bus, taxi, or car. Close to airport, but we never heard a plane. The hotel staff deserve the highest praise. They were so helpful in booking restaurants, providing information, explaining things, and booking an island tour. Most could speak some English (or could find someone quickly that could). Nothing seemed a chore, they always had a smile. Not knowing Japanese, the concierge service was very important to us and they made our trip more enjoyable.

We ate at the hotel's Chinese Restaurant which was fabulous and the Japanese Restaurant which was very good. The outdoor pool was already closed for the season, but the indoor pool was still open....water warm, great facilities, beautiful atrium room with floor to ceiling windows. We were in the tower wing on the 9th floor corner room...very spacious with lovely views. Bathroom was very spacious, clean, modern. Bed was firm, but very comfortable, with nice fluffy sheets and pillows. They also have very nice shops that are competitively priced with a wonderful selection of items. The hotel is expensive compared to the other hotels in town, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

The ANA-InterContinental is a little outside the city, but with a rental car it is easy to get around the island (this is much recommended!).

The island has some beautiful spots (i.e. waterfalls, beaches, mountains) which wait to be discovered a little off the beaten track... the concierge holds som reall insider tips for that...

The resort is newly refurbished and the rooms are spacious and light. Breakfast was great and range & variety great.

Service typically Japanese - very attentative to details, just "deeper" conversations and more complex requests occasionally get lost in translation...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Nice hotel a short taxi ride from the airport. The hotel kindly upraded our room when we requested a dpuble bed instead of a twin. Originally we were allocated a twin room neat the top of main building but instead got a bigger room with a sea front view in the Coral wing. Massive room with great view. Great bathroom. Very clean and modern. Big LCD TV with a couple of English speaking channels, and a DVD player. Free internet in the rooms was fast. There's even some computer in the lobby that are free to use if you've not brought a laptop. Aircon in the rooms was good and essential as it was very hot and humid in Ishigaki in June. The hotel has is right next too the beach which is the nicest one on Ishigaki. If you don't want to eat at the hotel which is expensive there are a few restaurants nearby which were good. The hotel has nice grounds and a swimming pool if you don't want to swim in the sea. There's also a gym but we never had time or motivation to use it. I would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Conveniently located less than 10 minutes away from the airport. The drawback is one can hear the plane which fortunately wasn't very frequent.
We stayed in the Coral wing and the rooms are very nice - bright and spacious with a nice view over the golf course and the sea.
We love the pool especially the water slide.
Breakfast was good. The staff were courteous, friendly and fairly helpful, though the level of English needs some improvement.
We were told that it's semi-high season but the place didn't feel crowded except for breakfast.
The only complaint I have is they are rather stingy with complimentary items. But overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort

Address: 354-1 Maezato, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0002, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ishigaki
#5 Family Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Ishigaki Hotel Ishigaki
Ana Hotel Ishigaki
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.