We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ishigaki Seaside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ishigaki Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ishigaki Seaside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   154-12 Kawahira, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0453, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Ishigaki
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The location is great for the beach. The rooms are spacious, clean and have great views.

The staff on reception speak very little English, and I think their tour desk is more for show than actually knowing much about what tours are available / helping you experience the island to the full.

The quality of the food at breakfast / dinner is not great, and dinner is really over-priced: I would definitely recommend heading in to Kabira itself for dinner. (I'd definitely recommend "Asian Bar Pulau", sign-posted on the way in to Kabira. If, like us, you don't have access to a car it's just 15-20 mins walk away.)

On our last day, we ventured into the restaurant for lunch and it was really cheap and the food was amazing! Why can't they do this in the evening, too?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
43
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amagasaki, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location near to the best beaches and the fact that it’s on one of the main bus routes to Ishigaki Town Centre. The bus stops right outside the hotel lobby and takes you into Kabira Bay area then onto Ishigaki bus terminal. The staff were all friendly and helpful, although as is the case throughout Japan, their English ability was very low, expect to use a lot of gestures. Rooms were exactly as advertised on their website, very clean and light.

The breakfast buffet was very western friendly, all the usual Japanese fare and then pastries, cereal, fruit etc. For dinner the all-you-can-eat-&-drink Korean style BBQ (yaki niku) on the ground floor was fantastic. The buffet in the hotel's restaurant Mora Mora was OK but not great, the main issue was that all of the food was lukewarm at best and was cold before you had got back to your table. You are limited to the hotel and Kabira for dinner if you don't rent a car as the last bus back from Ishigaki bus terminal is at 6:10pm, perhaps the buses run later in the high season though?

From this hotel we easily booked taxis (ok price between 4 of you) to visit Yonehara beach, which had amazing snorkelling. We also went on a few dive / snorkelling trips to various points around the island. We didn’t book these with the hotel as other dive shops were better priced and their staff spoke English.

Overall, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the Ishigaki Seaside Hotel. We had a wonderful week there and would definitely stay again if we returned to Ishigaki.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I found this place through a travel agent when planning a trip in November 2010. I'm not sure how easy booking without a travel agent would be, or what kind of rate you'd get, but I was able to book a very large room (which is enormous by Japanese hotel standards) for about $90USD a day, which was great.

The hotel is massive, with two buildings and multiple levels, but I felt like I had the hotel to myself. In fact, the only time I saw more than one guest at a time was at breakfast, which was included. It's clearly outfitted for hundreds of guests, so I can well imagine it's packed in season.

If you're looking for night life you're in the wrong place. There are several hotels in the area, but really, this is a sleepy farm town. It's right on the water but the Seaside Hotel is also surrounded by rural pastures and sugarcane fields. If you want a more interesting area to explore and hike and see some of the pastoral beauty of the island. Just cross the the main road out front and follow the farm roads which zigzag through fields and around hedges. You'll find beautiful butterflies, cows, herons and if search a little you'll find your way to the other side of the isthmus where there is a lovely beach and rock formations to explore.

There are some amenities in the hotel. There's a store to buy snacks and souvenirs, a bar and a restaurant which seemed a little pricy and stodgy. I didn't eat there, since there was a more choice in Kabira village which is maybe 20 minutes walk away. But you need not walk, since there is a bus that stops right in front of the hotel and which meanders through town and heads off to Ishigaki town, about a 40 minute ride. It comes about once an hour and runs til about 10pm, as I recall. That certainly leaves you plenty of time to go to Ishigaki town if you'd like to karaoke, socialize or have some more variety in eating. Check in to the 5day bus pass when you're in Ishigaki town. It's the best deal on the island if you plan to see the island beyond Kabira.

Also, check out "Palau", a Japanese/Indonesia take on a pizza restaurant in Kabira village. Yes, you heard right. It sounds odd, but the food is fantastic and very reasonably priced, plus the owner is very friendly. As you enter, Fuku (I hope I have that right), her tiny Pomeranian with greet you with a wagging tail while wearing a "Palau" t-shirt. Pet him and he might just sit on your lap while you wait for your food. It's also one of the few good restaurants that is open off-season.

There is an internet station in the lobby near the entrance, but it's quite slow. Still, it's enough to check email, or you can head to a net cafe in Ishigaki town if you require more bandwidth.

I found the diving great in this part of Okinawa, so if you're interested, check out Umicoza dive shop. They'll pick you up from the hotel and bring you to the dive shop, which is only about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: Visit off season. You'll get a good deal and a room with a seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at the Ishigaki Seaside hotel as part of a tailored travel package booked with Audley travel. We have travelled with Audley before to Japan and they always make sure we are met and the travel timetables work, however complex or remote the areas we visit.

We stayed in one of the luxury beach huts at the Ishigaki seaside hotel and thorough enjoyed the island and the snorkeling.

The food was excellent and fresh and we thoroughly enjoyed the Yakiniku seafood bbq.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ishigaki Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishigaki Seaside Hotel

Also Known As:
Ishigaki Seaside Hotel Japan - Okinawa Prefecture
Address: 154-12 Kawahira, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0453, Japan
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ishigaki Seaside Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Expedia, Jalan, Travelocity and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Ishigaki Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ishigaki Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.