We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy room, nice restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   558-8 Uchidomari, Ginowan 901-2227, Okinawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
4.5 of 5 stars 191 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfy room, nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Pros
There are two bedrooms, which is not typical in Japan.
I felt a satisfaction about the quality of foods in Breakfast. Fresh yogurt, fresh cut fruits(mango, white and ruby grapefruit, melon, pineapple etc) are the best ever.
Cons
In thunderstorm, it is a little bit noisy in my suite. Because an air duct fun is running all days long receiving for strong wind.


Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    67
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
99
41
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel is located about 30 mins drive away from Naha city during non peak hours. Location is central enough to utilise as a base for exploring both the north (up to Churaumi Aquarium) and south (up to Gyokusendo Cave) of Okinawa main island. Car parking is free and there are many lots. Free wifi access is available in the lobby and restaurant area only.

We booked a deluxe one bedroom. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. There was a separate living area with a very comfortable and wide sofa to watch the TV with a coffee table. Free bottled water is provided in your room every day. There is even a reasonably sized kitchenette with a IH stove and kitchen sink. There is a small/mid sized fridge (not just a bar fridge) and a microwave. A big 24-hour supermarket is 5 mins walk away so you can prepare simple meals if you wish. We love the ocean view from both the bathroom and balcony.

The surroundings are quiet. The service is excellent and the staff are friendly. The hotel surprised us with a complimentary plate of fresh sweet fruits in our room one day with a personalised little card. It was very sweet of them. Will definitely return to stay and recommend to anyone I know visiting Okinawa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a wonderful 14 day stay at this high-end home away from home. Our room consisted of two bedrooms, two baths, with a large living area and kitchen. The staff was very welcoming and receptive to our needs. The pool area was clean and friendly. The kitchen/restaurant was reasonable and a true experience to sample various foods. I highly recommend this hotel for a short or long term visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked a deluxe twin room in August. The hotel provides free parking lot. Free wi-fi access is only available in the hotel restaurant and lobby but not in the room. The room is clean, spacious and has excellent ocean view from room/balcony and bathroom. The hotel prepared free bottled water every day. Electric kettle is also provided so we can have hot tea inside the room. Buffet breakfast from 7-11am, and the food is fresh and lots to choose. There is a restaurant close to the hotel and only walking distance to a supermarket. Remember to close the bathroom door otherwise will be waked up by the sunlight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family of 4 had an excellent stay at Moon Ocean in July 2013. The location was convenient, around 30 mins by taxi from Naha airport. A big 24-hour supermarket is 5 mins walk. The room with added beds was just big enough for 4 adults. The fridge was surprising large, microwave and a heating plate allowed some simple cooking. Breakfast was also satisfactory with sufficient choices. Swimming pool was disappointingly small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had an excellent 15-night stay at the Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel in May, while I was in town on business. I experienced excellent customer service from the moment the taxi dropped me off to when I left for the airport two weeks later.

The gentleman who helped me with my luggage upon check in politely demonstrated how I should use the slippers provided instead of wearing my shoes inside the suite, by taking off his own shoes before bringing my luggage inside. My surprise at the gesture was soon eclipsed by the awe in seeing the one-bedroom suite that I would be occupying for the next two weeks. It was spacious with simple, efficient furnishing that created a place of serenity. Pictures on TA could not do the suite justice. The multi-function toilet is in a separate room from the shower/tub. Behind a pantry door is a microwave and mini-refrigerator. Unfortunately, the microwave dial is in Japanese, so it was a constant guessing game for me when it came to how long to reheat food. There are no English channels on the TV. Also, only wired internet is available in the room. The main lounge area and the bedroom each had an air conditioning unit operable with a remote control. The balcony was adequately-sized and faced out to the street and the hotel courtyard, which was impeccably landscaped.

I enjoyed a high level of customer service from the Moon Ocean Hotel's staff. They always greeted me when I returned to the hotel at the end of the day. One time I forgot a bag in the trunk of a taxi and the front desk staff was kind enough to call the taxi driver on my behalf and the bag was returned within 20 minutes! I never had to request assistance to get a cab or with help bringing bags back up to my room as assistance was immediately available before I could ask.

I enjoyed dining at the Ocean Grill, especially the breakfast buffet. A variety of local Okinawan and standard breakfast items were served at breakfast. The Moon Ocean is centrally-located and within walking distance to a 24-hour grocery store, a Hotto Motto, and a few eateries inside the Convention City building.

I would highly recommend a stay at the Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel while in Okinawa. I hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good hotel with very large rooms - positively gargantuan with a separate bedroom and kitchen. The hotel is on a major highway which abuts the ocean. Okinawa is Japan's southern resort island. Should you travel here instead of the Caribbean, the Mediterranean, or whatever island beach is closest to you; NO. But, you can understand why the Japanese come as it is relatively close to every major Japanese city.

The breakfast is fine but nothing exceptional. The WIFI is great, the pool is very good, but the fitness facilities are basic. The hotel is not close to a lot of restaurants so a car would help. If you are coming to Okinawa for a beach vacation, you can probably do better. If you are coming to attend a convention at the nearby Convention center, then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up so you can enjoy the ocean views, especially the sunsets. Every room has a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence

Address: 558-8 Uchidomari, Ginowan 901-2227, Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ginowan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels / Ryokan in Ginowan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel And Residence
Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.