We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort: One night is never enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suginoi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Suginoi Hotel to your Saves list
Suginoi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Onsen Hotel   |   1 Kankaiji, Beppu 874-0822, Oita Prefecture (Beppu Onsen)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
¥1,000 off room rate
Ranked #4 of 131 Hotels / Ryokan in Beppu
4.0 of 5 stars 396 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice resort: One night is never enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It is a huge resort located on a hill with two buildings of rooms and a Palace with swimming pools, onsens, shops and other amusement facilities. They are connected by walkway and by regular hotel shuttle. Unfortunately, we stayed only one night and it was impossible to enjoy everything there.

Our room was in the Hon-kan building. It was a half Western and half Japanese style with wide array of windows, providing a fantastic view to overlook Beppu city and Beppu Bay. It was a little worn out when compared with the other building (Hana-kan) where we found the lobby and rooms were more modernised.

We visited the Acquabeat which was a indoor pool with a wave pool, super slides, cave and pools for kids. Our two kids were crazy for it. However we stayed in Saturday evening and it was very crowded. There were also the Aqua Garden amd Tanayu which are outdoor pool and onsen on the top floor with magificent view of the city. In the night time, there were decorations of different model animals and fairy tales characters with tens of thousands of brilliant colourful night bulbs.

The buffet dinner in Restaurant Seeds was excellent with very fresh sushimi, spider crab legs, high quality steaks and many other delicious food. This was one of the best buffet we have had in Japan.

May be the hotel was too big, we cannot find the quietness, warmth and caring to details feeling as in other Japan Onsen hotels. But it was a wonderful hotel that will keep you busy all the time.

Room Tip: Rooms in Hana-kan were more modern and have a central location in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    187
    59
    13
    8
See reviews for
235
70
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in April for our son's wedding. Wonderful staff and excellent buffet meals. Room was Western style facing the Mountain. Reasonable size and clean. No internet in rooms but available at reception.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My family and I visited Suginoi on a Friday, which is quite crowded. However, they were super efficient in checking us in, despite there being a large tour group in front of us. Since I drove, I had to park the car up the hill and take a shuttle bus down.

The men's onsen was not crowded (about 15 men in the pools) but my wife said the women's outdoor onsen was very crowded, with many children with their mothers. She went to the basement onsen and it was a lot quieter. The men's onsen had 4 big pools, 3 individual tubs and a small 'cave' like pool with oranges floating on the water.

The Seeds restaurant had sushi, sashimi, snow crabs, steak, salad, and many more items, all you can eat. However, desert was so - so.

We tried bowling and they had a deal whereby you pay 800 yen to play from 8pm to 12 am.

The room was large and we had one which faces the city and ocean. Room was clean and they had the futon put out while we were taking a walk to explore the place.

Overall it was a great stay and experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel has it all. A variety of hot springs for the adults, a water park for kids in the summer, a bowling alley, a video arcade, a supermarket, and tons of cages and restaurants.
We never once had to leave the hotel.

We will definitely go back with our kids. It was easy and the kids had entertainment.

Rooms were standard, big for Japanese standards. Buffet was pretty good quality.

Room Tip: We plan on booking the new remodeled rooms next time. They were remodeling the grace rooms and all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimonoseki, Japan
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
560 helpful votes 560 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Last year, we stayed here five times. Last week, we came back for the first time this year. The stay was perfect as usual with a reasonable budget. The hot spa and the meals were both wonderful. You have to be careful in selecting the right food for you, because there are too many varieties to eat for dinner and breakfast. After experiencing the restaurants here more than 10 times, we know what to eat. One of my European friends describes this place to be the 5-star hotel with the 3-star budget. We used to visit many different hot spas in Japan, but recently we tend to come back to this hotel to be satisfied perfectly, because we only care about the qualities of hot spa and food. Yes, there are some people who complain that they have to walk a lot in the big space. Then they should choose the small place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our family stayed in the hotel for one night in May 2014. We took the hotel shuttle at Beppu Station. It took about 10-15 minutes from the station to the hotel. It was a very large hotel.

Most people go to this hotel for the famous outdoor hot spring. There is also a swimming pool called Aqua Garden. The breakfast and the service was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I'm stay with my family at Beppu suginoi hotel from 9th-10th May 2014. We stayed in the Western room style. The room was quite small and almost no space to keep our bag. It has standard facility eg; hair dryer, television, thermos. Our room is in the main wing building but the restaurant and onsen is located in another building so it takes around 5-8 minute to get to both place. But food is great, I ate variety of food: Japanese, Italian, Europe especially Foie gras. Onsen at this hotel is the best onsen i've ever seen. It located at 3rd floor and outdoor type that you can see Beppu city view at night from that. Star, city view, nice weather combine and made me and my family felt a happiness experience. Lastly, I recommended this hotel for traveller who travel with family and no limit in expense. I'm sure you will have a great experience here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suginoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suginoi Hotel

Address: 1 Kankaiji, Beppu 874-0822, Oita Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Beppu > Beppu Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Onsen Hotel in Beppu
#2 Family Hotel in Beppu
#2 Spa Hotel in Beppu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suginoi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suginoi Hotel is located on the top of the hill ,Kankaiji hot spring area, that is one of the eight hot spring areas of Beppu. You will enjoy stunning view of nature as far as Shikoku Island over the Beppu Bay on a sunny day on one side and Mt. Tsurumi on the other. We offer hot springs and amusement facilities such as an open air hot spring bath "Tanayu", an open air swimsuit hot spring pool " The Aqua Garden", indoor pool with wave "ACQUABEAT" during summer time, the bowling alley, the game center, and many souvenir shops. We continuously strive to improve our facilities and service to keep entertaining our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Suginoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suginoi Hotel Beppu
Suginoi Onsen Hotel Beppu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suginoi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.