We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Neko Beppu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Happy Neko Beppu to your Saves list
Happy Neko Beppu
1 Kumi, Kitaju, Beppu 874-0845, Oita Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beppu
5.0 of 5 stars 82 Reviews
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Perfect place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We loved our time at the Happy Nekko, everything is so close and the room was very nice. Hyotan spa is 2 min walk. There are very good restaurants near and an grocery store. We can also walk to the jigoku (hells).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
28
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The venue is convenient and Bibo assisted us very well to get used to beppu! Pay attention that to take the shower you have to go to an onsen (there is a nice one close to the hotel) and it is really nice!
Another good idea is to have lunch cooking by yourself in the public steam kitchen at the tourist information office! It was a unique experience I would recommend! 2000¥ for two huge plates of fish, shrimps and oyster.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Really nice place to stay in Beppu!
The host is very friendly and knowing a lot of information of Beppu, so you can enjoy Oita tradition loco food which from the host best recommend also have nice hot-spring experience in Japanese public bath!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villeurbanne, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our one night stay at Happy Neko. We booked a Japoneese style room. It was very authentic and clean. The manager, Bibo, drove us from the train to the hotel. We arrrived to late for the tourist information center but Bibo had prepared all tourist booklets informations and gave so much good advices. The hotel is far from the city center but is closed to all great place to visit in Beppu. The onsen zone and Hells zone is accessible by a short walk.
Conclusion: best place to stay in Beppu!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Clean, cheap and convenient. Had a good experience in Happy Neko! Good service, will be excellent if shower room is provided. Location is perfect and many restaurants nearby. Anyway, we will come back and highly recommended to everyone :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka-shi, Fukuoka, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Happy Neko is run by the lovely Mr. Bibo who's dedication to excellent service is rarely seen.

I and a friend stayed in one of the apartments on-site. It was simple but clean and perfect for our needs. Though there was no shower in the apartment, being in Beppu AKA hot spring capital of the world, means finding somewhere to bathe is hardly a feat.

The place is walking distance to the hells but quite far from the downtown area. If you're going to Beppu without your own transport, it might be best to book something closer to the JR station. If you have wheels and want more of a peaceful and local feel, stay at Happy Neko.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had such a brilliant time at the Happy Neko! Bibo very kindly picked us up from the station and drove us back, giving us lots of information about the local attractions. We stayed in the Tatami suite which was absolutely lovely and huge, and it was easily within walking distance of the hells, the free public foot bath and various restaurants. We asked Bibo to recommend a place to eat one of the traditional local dishes on an info sheet he had given us, and this was a great experience - a small restaurant which looked like it was part of someone's house, with a lovely lady cooking and serving delicious food. We slept very well on the futons and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Beppu - thank you.

Room Tip: The Tatami suite is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Neko Beppu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Neko Beppu

Address: 1 Kumi, Kitaju, Beppu 874-0845, Oita Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Beppu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beppu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable budget accommodation in traditional Japanese house and apartments with tatami rooms in the heart of Kannawa hot springs area. Just a few minutes walk from Beppu Jigokus (Hells) and many onsens and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Neko Beppu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Neko Beppu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.