We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I use them for visiting Huis Ten Bosch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Sasebo ekimae

Save Saved
You added Toyoko Inn Sasebo ekimae to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Sasebo ekimae
1-4 Miuracho, Sasebo, Nagasaki Prefecture 857-0863, Japan (Sasebo Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 hotels in Sasebo
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“I use them for visiting Huis Ten Bosch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

As I'm not familiar with Kyushu area, I thought that sasebo might be the nearest town to stay in if I were to visit Huis ten Bosch(20mins by JR seaside liner). Then I found out that the train from hakata actually splits into two at Haiki, so Haiki seems to be the nearest town!

Actually the hotel is situated right outside of the station. It's not exactly the happening area of sasebo. Not much choice of food late at night.

Room was ok, clean and compact. Breakfast more for Asian taste. I like thier local specialty 'saraudon' the most, it's a Nagasaki noodle dish. Do try out 'chanpon' and 'castella cake' too!

I think the hotel suits those who wants to explore kujuku islands nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
10
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Toyoko Inn Sasebo is probably one of the most centrally located hotels I have ever stayed at. When walking out of the railstation this will be the first building you encounter.
The first impression is that it is hotel with a rather small footprint, it makes up for this with its height which also gives half of the rooms a rather good view.

The hotel is quite cheap, but then again it is a business hotel and not much more than that. I woulden't go here for a holiday stay, but for sleeping after work and a night stay during a festival it will do the job.
The staff is Japanese (naturally...) which leaves the normal language barrier, but in my experience they try their utmost to help you in any way. They they both checked and got me a different hotel when I needed an extended stay and they were fully booked. Still, have patience. Some speak decent English, but not all.
There are only two elevators in this hotel, and that is a bit of a stretch for a 14 floor hotel, so during the breakfast hours I would recommend not being in a hurry to get out.

The room:
Rooms are small but kept spotlessly clean. Contains a bed, a desk and chair, a tv with an ok selection of channels (I didn't find any English speaking channels) and a small but very functional bathroom with shower. Fresh towels and a clean bed every day, just like it should be.
Doors are thick as well, so you won't hear much of what goes on in the hallways.

Breakfast:
This one needs an extra note. It is teh reason for the low rating on the restaurant.
Breakfast is complementary, but it is a very Japanese selection, and I would say a rather simple Japanese selection.
They serve some noodles, rice, porrage and a small selection of white bread, meats/sausages and vegetables.
It does the job, but for a regular western traveller it will be "non-standard".
In my case I only had time for the breakfast twice in a week, but in general I would say you are better off grabbing a sandwich or something similar from the nearby Family Mart if you are picky.

Room Tip: Rooms on the westside of the building have a view of the sea and harbour area. Just remember this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Whilst we have been to Japan many times this is our first experience with Toyoko Inn...and what a positive experience it was!
We arrived early and even though we could not access our room until 4.00 pm ( known prior to arrival) we were able to book in, leave our belongings at the hotel and go out for several hours. The booking process was, as always in Japan, done promptly and without any dramas. Payment is made up front. We had pre-booked a non-smoking room.
Whilst it is true to say that little or no English is spoken at many hotels in Japan, a little humour and few words in Japanese will serve you well, even if mispronounced or completely wrong word.
Whilst most of the staff did not speak English, one lady, Yukiko, spoke a little and was brilliant, friendly, helpful and a great asset to the hotel.
The hotel is located less than one minute from the railway station. At the front of the hotel taxis abound and many of the bus services stop there or over the road.
The location makes this hotel a wonderful base from which to explore surrounding towns ie Imari, Huis Ten Bosch etc and further afield to Nagasaki and Hirado etc.Some 208 small islands lie off-shore.
The hotel was very clean and whilst the rooms were not large by Oz standards, they were a good size by Japanese. The twin beds were very wide and long enough for me (I'm 6'4"). The bathrooms are compact but very functional. Each room has a writing desk, TV, room safe and trouser press plus other features.
Breakfast was provided and was rather large. A choice or orange or apple juice, coffee or tea (all day in the lobby), rice triangles with various mixtures, miso soup, salad, sausages, pasta and fried rice or noodles. Bread rolls were also included.
Whilst you are required to hand the key into reception when you go out, and may have some difficulty reentering the room during the day, this is done for security and safety reasons.
Free Wi-Fi in rooms and free access to computers and printer in the lobby.
All in all, a great hotel, fantastic location for us and much to commend.
As I understand it, these are really Japanese Business hotels and as such, if you are looking for large rooms, lobbies to lounge in and dining rooms with silver service, then look elsewhere....and increase your credit card balance before you go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I asked for a non smoking room due to allergy. Upon arrival, the only thing I could get was a smoking room. The staff did not speak a word english, and wouldn't return my money so I could go elsewhere. After talking to other people, it turned out that the exactly the same happened for others.

Regarding the breakfast, all you get is rice and miso soup.

As I was in Sasebo for a conference, I needed to access my room now and then during the day. However, due to cleaning they do not allow you to enter the room between 10 am and 3 pm before having a big arguing every time.

The only positive thing I have to say about this place is it's very convenient location close to the station and arkasas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Typical Toyoko Inn, although this one without welcoming coffee on a saturday evening (maybe they have one during weekdays?). The location is perfect for the JR rail pass holder: right outside the station. Usual friendly welcome and efficient check-in. Our double room was perfectly large enough, and the breakfast was fine. It is a 10 minute walk into town where all the action is: Sasebo proved to be quite a surprisingly lively place compared, for example, to our previous night in Tokushima. If you are arriving by train, then be careful not to get into the carriages going to Huis Van Bosch instead of Sasebo: the train splits a short distance before arriving in Sasebo. Nice train ride along the coast on to Nagasaki.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toyoko Inn Sasebo ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Sasebo ekimae

Address: 1-4 Miuracho, Sasebo, Nagasaki Prefecture 857-0863, Japan
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Sasebo > Sasebo Station
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 hotels in Sasebo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Toyoko Inn Sasebo ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toyoko Inn Sasebo ekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.