We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Kumamoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko Kumamoto to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-1 Kamitori-cho Chuo-ku, Kumamoto 860-8536, Kumamoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Linden Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have stayed at the Nikko approx. 3 weeks this year 2014 while on assignment. The location the the shopping and night life are perfect. The service is of the best in the world, cash exchanges, laundry service, special arrangements, food service. You can't go wrong with the nikko!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    199
    28
    2
    2
See reviews for
111
82
78
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed here for a night in mid Jan. The hotel is well located. Shopping centres and restaurants are nearby and Kumamoto castle is within a walking distance. Staff are well trained and also able to communicate in English. I asked for a city map and their map is very well developed, very to read and follow. Breakfast is the most that disappointed me. It should be better with more variety of hot food

Room Tip: request for city view room which is at the front of the hotel to see the beautiful light of city at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Excellent location for shopping. Endless restaurants on a covered shopping strip would satisfy any traveller. Hotel parking is underground. Staff speaks good English and were all very friendly. Good room size. Not a lot of extras for members of the One Harmony club compared to other Nikko hotels but we would gladly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My family travel in Kyushu for 8 days and we stayed one night at Nikko hotel Kumamoto. Good location, comfortable. Excellent service from the hotel staff particularly Nagano who help my family to find where we want to go in Kumamoto and Miyazaki. I would recommend this hotel for family stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

After 15 years I once again had the chance to visit the southern part of Kyuushuu again. With the Shinkansen nowadays making its ways even down to Kagoshima I decided for Kumamoto being my base for a few days and also wanted a bit of splurge added to my lodging.

Thus I opted for the Nikko due to both its location and the brand itself. And to put it short: I had a great stay there!

The Nikko Kumamoto hotel is perfectly located - Kumamoto Castle is basically on its doorstep and the same goes for the entertainment and shopping districts. The rooms are more spacious than your usual Japanese 'business-hotel' but they still are a bit smaller than what you would expect from an international chain like Hilton. Apart from that, everything was top-notch! Comfy bed, controllable air-con, big bathroom with all amenities - actually my room even sported an Air-Ionizer!

Hotel staff were great too, and while I didn't try the breakfast, the bar in the lobby serves excellent drinks. (My only nitpick would be that it is a very open area. Me prefers a more secluded space to enjoy a Martini.)

I give this one 4.5 out of 5 stars!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a vista of the castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is in the best location of Kumamoto,easy access to many attractions,restaurants,shopping centers and train station. price is reasonable,rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good and plenty of good quality foods and drink. Services are also good,very professional.
Nothing i do not like with Hotel Nikko Kumamoto and i have planned to stay here when i visit Kumamoto again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is more of a 4-star hotel than a 5-star hotel. The rooms are reasonable but not luxurious. The lack of WiFi is a bit surprising, but they do have free wired internet. The location is about as good as it gets in Kumamoto, right near all the restaurants and Kumamoto Castle. I was disappointed in the lack of any sort of fitness facility: most hotels manage to open up a room and stick a few free weights in a corner. At least the price was reasonable by Japanese standards: 11,200 yen for a double room.

Like most hotels outside of Tokyo, the staff's English skills, once you're away from the front desk, are limited.

The biggest disappointment was the breakfast buffet. The western food, at least, was poorly prepared and cold. Coffee was instant from a machine. There was little fruit available, but they did have yoghurt. I ended up eating yoghurt and croissants, which were fine. For $21, I expect a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko Kumamoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Kumamoto

Address: 2-1 Kamitori-cho Chuo-ku, Kumamoto 860-8536, Kumamoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Kumamoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Kumamoto 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Despegar.com, Agoda, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel Nikko Kumamoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Kumamoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.