We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lication” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto to your Saves list
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-20 Koyaima-machi, Kumamoto 860-0012, Kumamoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent lication”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Within easy walking distance of the river on one side and the tram stop for the castle on the other. Clean comfortable room ( albeit small for a westerner and his wife ) with the added bonus of an extensive buffet breakfast. Helpful staff, too. Certainly to be recommended in its price range.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    107
    31
    8
    1
See reviews for
14
27
44
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel because they have Kumamon room. Room is not expensive compare to other hotel with special theme room. Room was ok, but i felt hot during mid night and not sure air-cond working properly. Convenience location, close to major shopping area. Will stay again if i travel to Kumamoto again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The Mitsui Garden Hotel In Kumamoto is an excellent place to stay. The rates are very reasonable. The Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel and rooms are modern and looks like a first class hotel. They have an excellent breakfast buffet with many items to choose from western style to Japanese style, This hotel is a short walk to the shopping arcade where you can find stores and restaurant's of every style and kind.

Room Tip: Single Rooms are small compared to Western rooms but was quite comfortable and roomy enough for a si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a well located hotel less than 1000 yen cab ride from the train station Its close to the tram to the castle, which is also in easy walking distance if you like to walk. It is also close to a major shopping area which is covered which is nice if it's raining.

The breakfast is buffet style with lots of options including bacon and eggs ad well as more traditional Japanese fare. Our room was a small double which was adequate for our one night stay, but was pretty tight for the two of us. The staff was very accommodating and very professional Would definitely recommend this hotel again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Room was ok, if not memorable. Comfy bed, quiet. Breakfast was adequate, but if you are looking for western food then choice is limited. Very little English spoken by front staff, hotel caters for mainly Japanese clients. This is not a criticism, I am just pointing it out.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Kumamoto is strange in Japan in a sense that its central (JR) train station isn't located at a crowded area (or vice versa). While there are few hotels next to the station, there are more choices in the central shopping area such as this one. Mitsui looks a bit aged in the lobby, but quite modern in rooms. We chose it simply because they had a themed room for Kumamon (see my pics), a famous mascot from Kumamoto which you couldn't have not seen it while staying in Kyushu. (BTW it's only available for Internet booking if you choose the Japanese language).

The semi-double room only served a small 4" bed, yet it's very comfortable with the a gel-packed pillow (I saw in the room booklet that you could even buy them if you wanted to bring it home). The room wasn't big but it sufficed. I saw that you might borrow a wireless router for free in the lobby.

Lobby staff while helpful speaks little English, though we still manage to ask them to help us make a few phone calls to local companies for reservation changes. The hotel is about 3 blocks from the nearest tram stop and the local walking streets with plentiful restaurants, drug stores, shops etc. A department store is 4 blocks away. Kumamoto castle would need further walk (or 2 tram stations). It's not the closest one could imagine, but I found this short walk everyday comfortable esp. after a heavy meal.

In case you rent a car to drive around, there is actually parking (unlike what earlier commenter said) but only holds 30 spaces. Alternatively there are time-based car parks behind the hotel that might be even cheaper.

Overall I found the hotel enjoyable to stay, though if I were to stay again, I might find one closer to the Kumamoto Castle so I could make a good walk to there in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Good location with lots of restaurants nearby.

Very nice room with comfortable beds, adequate sized room compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Japan. Window opens for ventilation.

Good buffet breakfast.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto

Address: 1-20 Koyaima-machi, Kumamoto 860-0012, Kumamoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Kumamoto
Amenities:
Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.