We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Kagoshima” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho

Save Saved
You added Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho
5-3 Kinseicho, Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture 892-0828, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 70 hotels in Kagoshima
Muenster
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good choice in Kagoshima”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Richmond is a solid place, though also a bit old-fashioned. In terms of layout and design it's very conservative. Good for those who like hotels in the traditional style, but those looking for something remotely interesting/unique, or with some quirky ideas or surprising elements, the Richmond is not the place. It's clean like most places in Japan, location is good, and staff friendly. We didn't try the breakfast in the hotel, though also had a bit of hard time to find a good coffee place for breakfast nearby. If you don't feel like walking too far or searching too long, maybe breakfast in the hotel is then a good option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    94
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
36
60
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent three nights in this great hotel. As a family we had two rooms which were small and the mirror image of each other, but they were clean, comfortable and well appointed. There was free wifi in the room and a really good breakfast with a nice choice of freshly cooked options. The staff were superb, the reception staff in particular making our stay as good as they possibly could. One member of staff found information that we had requested and brought brochures and maps to the room. The downtown location with tram stops right outside was just what we wanted while we were in the city and the onsite parking was convenient, again with great service from the staff. we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

The Richmond chain is a class above the usual chain hotels built around the JR stations. Rooms are larger, check in is earlier and service is better. Richmond in Kagoshima was not an exception. Convenient location just a couple of tram stop away from the Jr station. Overall a good hotel and reasonably prized.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagasaki, Japan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here a few nights, and I think it is the staff that really make this place. Although most didn't speak much English (which is par for the course in Japan), they were very helpful and kind, and even dropped off an English map in our room.

Rooms are large by Japanese standards, and have everything you need (they are all doubles, whether you book two people or one).

Location is good for anything you need, across from lots of shopping, drinking and eating district. Also easy walk to Sakurajima (i.e. volcano) ferry. A few more tram stops from the train station, but that is no worries at all.

Very happy indeed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The western bereakfast selection was a bit poor. I would appreciate a buffet with bread and danish...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagasaki, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is a fantastic business style hotel, the rooms are a generous size compared to other business hotels I've stayed in in Japan. Its very conveniently located next to Asahidori tram stop, with a Lawsons convenient store opposite and shopping streets 2 minutes walk away. The only criticism I would give is that none of the reception staff could advise us on where to catch a bus from to get to Shiroyama Observatory (one of the main attractions in Kagoshima) or really on any other attractions. This was not a language barrier problem as my partner speaks fluent Japanese, other than this the service was top notch, what you would expect of a slightly higher end business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I have always like the Richmond hotel chain and chose to stay in its Kagoshima Kinseicho hotel as part of my Kyushu trip this time. Indeed, the stay did not disappoint.

Location: Fantastic location. Once you walk out of the hotel, you will find yourself right opposite a huge Lawson convenience store. Walk towards your left and you will find yourself at a nice shopping district.

Room: Small but clean. There is free internet access. I especially like it that there was a spray bottle of fragrance that you can use to freshen up your clothes.

Facilities: Vending machines were available on some floors. There were washing machines available too.

Parking: available at 1000 yen per night.

Service: Excellent. The front desk staff was fantastic. When we were looking at the brouchures and maps (all in Japanese) near the front desk, a staff saw us having a hard time and gave us an useful sight-seeing guide in English.

This is certainly a hotel that I would stay in if I revisit Kagoshima, which is a really lovely city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho

Address: 5-3 Kinseicho, Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture 892-0828, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 hotels in Kagoshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 32 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten and Otel so you can book your Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.