We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Japanese Ryokan not just for Traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kashima Honkan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kashima Honkan to your Saves list
Kashima Honkan
2.5 of 5
Ryokan
  |   3-11 Reisen-machi, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture 812-0039, Japan (Hakata Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 179 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Real Japanese Ryokan not just for Traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Good for traveller who want to stay in real Japanese Ryokan.
Public Bath, small onzen.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
15
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

A unique ryokan, very handy for the Gion subway stop. The ryokan itself is a rickety old place - a protected wooden building. As you walk around the place the floors creak but apart from that it is on a quiet street and you have the peaceful garden to look out on. The rooms all share communal sinks, showers and baths. The baths are the usual set up of showers with stools where you can give yourself a good clean before sinking into the clean waters for a good soak. We had the breakfast in the morning which was fine but not haute cuisine. The location of the place in the city is good, you are near the old temples (just a couple of minutes walk), very near the subway and in the evening you are just 5 minutes walk from the many restaurants and food stalls. All in all this is not a luxury stay but if you are looking for something unique, good value and well-located then stay here. We booked through the Welcome Inn website which was very straightforward - http://www.itcj.jp/eng/index.php.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed there just for one night and we were sorry to leave at the next morning. It was very nice with very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were as we've expected a traditional ryokan with traditional furniture in it. Sitting on the floor is also expected of any guest. Don't expect a western-style bed so you've to build your own futon on the tatami floor. On request you can choose japanese or western-style breakfast at reasonable prices. Tradition is one of the most features of this ryokan but you don't have to miss modern inventions like free internet in the 'lobby' and a TV in every room.

The location is quite good and not far away from the nearest subway station, rail station and city centre.

It's good value for the money you'll invest and the best choice for people coming for the first time to Japan.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We had never stayed in a traditional Japanese inn before, so weren't really sure what to expect. What we got was a quaint old building (think heritage listed, 100+ years old) built around a lovely little japanese garden. Most of the rooms are on the first floor, while the kitchen, bathrooms and common areas are on the bottom floor (there are some toilets on the first floor). Also there are some large family rooms on the ground floor, which we saw some Japanese families using. This is the real deal; we were in the minority as Westerners - in fact, I think we saw only two other Westerners outside our group in the three days we were in Fukuoka.
It was a creaky old wooden building - certainly not to be compared to the flash hotels Japan has to offer. We had just come from a big fancy Tokyo hotel, so it was quite a shock. Though not a bad one.
Having said that, I would try this place not for comfort, but for the experience. The pillows are the traditional buckwheat kind, so are a bit hard to get used to. Also the futon mattresses are quite thin - but never fear, each room has a stash of them in a closet, so you can stack a few up. Our room did not have any chairs at all, just the futons and a couple of floor cushions around the table - we expected that, and it was okay because we're youngish. My parents, who were travelling with us (in thier 50s) got a room with a sitting area facing the garden (with chairs) so they were happy.
If you're not shy, bathing is in a communal area segregated by sex. If you are shy, there are two private shower booths (a bit small and mouldy smelling) for ladies only. Men just have to bathe together.

In terms of location, this place is really really close to canal city - which was a major attraction for us - some good shops and some really great places to eat. You must eat Fukuoka ramen! It's the best!

On our last night, a Japanese hockey team descended on the place and made noise all night - one con of a wooden building.
A benefit: free internet computers at front desk - very handy.

It was nice to try, and we did enjoy it - but we were happy to get back into a Western hotel with ensuite & all the mod cons afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

The location is perfect: close to the Railway st. and the Wooden Budda. Easy to get to the Canal City. The building looks very traditional and historical. When we were checking out, we decided to come back in a couple of days after visit to Beppu. There were also other guests who were so satisfied that they were trying to prolong their stay. Our room on the first floor had big window into a Japanese garden. The room was very spacious and warm. One has to sleep on futon, which might feel slightly too hard, but the sheets were very clean. It has probably been a while since the ryokan was renovated, but the staff does it's best to keep it clean and tidy. The toilet and washing sinks in the common space were good. Men's bath was a bit too old, while women's bath was rather new. There were also private showers available.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

I had booked this Ryokan in the early stage of our trip but I was so disappointed as it didn't reflect the true Japanese style. I don't think the owners were Japanese and this was reflected in the less than Japanese standard of levels of cleanliness and friendliness.
The place was shabby and needed a real good clean. The shared bathroom/shower room was really awful - chipped and broken soap holders and the sliding glass door was needing a real big scrub to get rid of the grey black scum!! The front staff were not at all friendly either - no real welcome and not even a goodbye thankyou!! This was on our first two days of our 14 day Shinkansen rail trip so after that we stayed in the Japanese Business hotels - the Toyoko Inns.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — Not friendly & not clean.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

I arrived in Hakata/Fukuoka by ferry from Korea and immediately felt at home at the ryokan.

It is easy to find, only a 5 minute or so walk from Hakata station, but on a quiet back street. The location is excellent as it is only a short walk from temples, shops and restaurants (& should you wish to visit them - Pachinko Parlours)

The builsding is quite old fashioned - it has a bit of faded grandeur about it, but the staff are friendly, the rooms are very comfortable and the communal bathing facilities are a revelation - it was great after a day sightseeing to have a shower and then soak in a very hot communal bath.

I really enjoyed Fukuoka/Hakata and I think that the ryokan played a big part of that. It is in an ideal location, in a quiet part of town but everywhere is easily accessible by foot.

If I do go back to Fukuoka (& I hope that I do) then I will definitely return to this ryokan

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing..............
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kashima Honkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kashima Honkan

Address: 3-11 Reisen-machi, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture 812-0039, Japan
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Hakata Station , Nakasu Kawabata Station , Gion Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kashima Honkan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Kashima Honkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kashima Honkan Hotel Fukuoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kashima Honkan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.