We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not the best effort from Hyatt” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Fukuoka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Fukuoka to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-82 Sumiyoshi, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka 812-0018 , Fukuoka Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #13 of 179 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Certainly not the best effort from Hyatt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Disappointing - probably the worst Hyatt experience I have ever had. Overall I felt more than a little underwhelmed, especially in comparison to other Hyatts and luxury hotels I`ve stayed at in Japan and the US, and for what I paid. It seemed like it lacked a few little (and not so little) things that really contribute to feeling comfortable at a place where you are paying for luxury (almost wanted to give a 2 star rating).

Its a bit of a hike from JR Hakata station, so you should cab it if you can. Its not the easiest figuring out which way it is to the nearest subway stops. Being attached to cavernous Canal City is a plus, as its shopping and restaurants galore once you spend some time figuring out where in the world everything is.

Check-in went without a hitch and the friendly front desk/concierge was very helpful in all areas. The non-smoking single room was clean and spacious, and the impressive bathroom was simply all extravagant luxury. The comfortable bed and sheets ensured a good nights sleep. However, I found the room a bit dark near the desk, and thought that there must have been a light I didn`t notice and turn on, but when I called the front desk I found out that this was not the case. Not the best design there. The light control system also took a little work to figure out, and I found it somewhat annoying, slow and cumbersome. Also, setting up the free Wifi isn`t exactly the clearest, as the less than helpful instructions are incomplete. I had to call the front desk again to set it up; the Wifi instructions need to be updated.
Also how is there not a single foreign language TV channel in a Hyatt?? I`ve stayed at numerous, less expensive hotels in significantly poorer Asian countries that had multiple non-local channels.

Bar Fizz is very overpriced, and service was quite slow. Did not feel like the bar staff was really courteous or helpful, quite odd for Japan. Also after 8pm there is a significant nonsense "cover charge" (not sure for what reason???); wish they had a sign posted out front explaining all of this before you waltz in. Its also a smoking bar, which, again due to the lack of signage out front, I did not notice until I ordered a drink and then some Chinese and Japanese businessmen started lighting up (with their young children nearby - nice one guys). I also don`t understand why young children were allowed in a bar that late at night?? Further detracted from the bar experience.
Also thought that it was unpleasant that smoking was allowed at some of the other lobby establishments, as the main lobby reeked of smoke as well after I returned to the hotel at night.

I had breakfast the last day at Aromas. Also overpriced, and the food quality was nothing exceptional (my bad for ordering a Western breakfast at a Hyatt, I guess). You`re better off going to Canal City or a nearby bakery. The poor staff looked overburdened, and they automatically assumed that I wanted the breakfast buffet when I walked in. I had to explain several times that I didn`t want the buffet, which seemed initially perplexing. Not very impressive.

Overall a disappointment, and I`m glad that I only stayed one night. Will be staying elsewhere on my next trip to Fukuoka.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    220
    64
    10
    6
See reviews for
95
113
78
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at both Grand Hyatt and Hyatt Regency during my recent trip to Fukuoka (HR was for transit mainly).
Between the 2 hotels:
- Overall design: GH is more modern and classy, and HR is very traditional Japanese and design is a bit dated.
- Room: GH has a very spacious bathroom (bath tub and shower), but the room (Deluxe Queen) is much smaller than HR's twin. The bed is just big enough for us (2 Asian girls).
- Service: GH definitely has better services (bellboy and doormen to help us win our luggage a at the entrance) and has more staff at the lobby and front desk.
- Location: probably a problem for GH as it is about 15-20 mins walk from Hakata Station whereas HR is only 10-15 mins. Although GH is attached to Canal City, we find much better and more choices around Hakata Station. Cab however is not expensive, takes approx 700 yen one-way from station to GH. Another option is Gion Station, which is closer to GH, but not as convenient for Shinkansen or JR.
Price: GH is about 50% more expensive than HR.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Typical feel of a Grand Hyatt with large welcoming lobby and spacious rooms in the Western style. The bathroom was also well laid out with both a shower and bathtub. Cool glass sink with the handle for the plug beneath the table top level.

Its location right next to Canal City Hakata meant that shopping for the shopaholics was really convenient, with a comprehensive range of shops. However the layout of the shopping complex without straight corridors meant a lot of winding in and out of the building.

Breakfast was either in the Japanese restaurant on level 5 overlooking Canal City, or at the Western-style buffet on the main lobby floor.

We has a canal view which was great, and although it faced Nakasu (the red-light district), one couldn't really see down to the street level. Previous reviewers have written about having to pass though this area. To walk to the Tenjin area, you can follow the canal on the west side of Nakasu, where the yatai stalls are at night. Using this path you will have a nice riverside walk and not have to pass through the red-light district.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Service was impeccable from arrival to departure. Suite was very spacious and well appointed with great amenities. Bathroom is all marble and featuring REN bath products .location is a walking distance to all fun nightlife and eateries worth visiting for. One of my new favorite places where I will continue returning for years to come. Simply the best.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Have stayed at this property on many occasions over the past 10 years but this is by far the best. For this visit, a friend recommended a stay in one of the hotel's two tatami suites and the experience was out of this world.

The tatami suite is on the podium level of the hotel and comes with a tiny Japanese garden. When you are inside the room, you forget that you are in a modern hotel.

The room is beautiful with many fine Japanese touches like hand made vases and utensils for Japanese tea ceremony. What is most interesting is the futon mattresses are brought out every evening by the house keeping staff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel itself is great. Great service and the rooms are very nice. As others have mentioned, the hotel is in a bit of a dodgy location - right next to the red light district. It is also connected to a shopping mall so there is quite a bit of foot traffic that goes through the hotel to the mall. Having said that, I would definitely stay at the hotel again as the staff were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

When travelling I always go for a good hotel at a good location. This is the first time I purely went for the hotel and ignored the location. Big mistake! The Grand Hyatt is in a very dodgy area, and that's putting it mildly. If you are out of luck, you face the "Nakasu" red light district and everything that comes with it from your room. When I complained about this, the staff offered me another room without any problem. But it still doesn't feel good staying near a neighbourhood like this.

The other side of the hotel faces the "Canal City Hakata", which is very convenient. It is a big mall with lots of shops and restaurants, meaning you never have to travel for your daily needs. The downside of the shopping centre is that it can be loud (concerts, fashion shows, hourly musical fountain shows). On the upside: I liked the happy music from the shows, so it didn't bother me at all. All other interesting places are elsewhere in the city, meaning that everyday starts with a journey. There's no subway station nearby, so the taxi is your best friend.

Ignoring the bad neighbours, the Grand Hyatt is a fine hotel. The staff is friendly, speaks perfect English and delivers top notch service. I had several unusual requests and all were carried out swiftly and with excellence. For example: I wanted to rent a specific car (make and model) even in a specific colour and they managed to find me one. The service is actually so good that I feel a bit guilty commenting on the rest of the hotel.

The rooms are of fair size and are decorated in a mixed western and Japanese style; very nice! All luxury one comes to expect from a hotel in this price range is there. A minor complaint is the shower, which is too low meaning I had to bend over backwards to wash my hair. Internet is free and rather quick (try the supplied cable if wifi is too slow), as it should be.

Room Tip: As many said before: the mall side can be noisy, but in fact I liked the music from the shops. The c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Fukuoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Fukuoka

Address: 1-2-82 Sumiyoshi, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka 812-0018 , Fukuoka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fukuoka
#5 Family Hotel in Fukuoka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fukuoka
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fukuoka
#17 Business Hotel in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Fukuoka 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Fukuoka is connected to Canal City Hakata, a multi-dimensional complex of business, entertainment and shopping facilities. The hotel is situated between Hakata station, the central station and Tenjin, the city’s business and entertainment centre; it is also just 5 km from Fukuoka International Airport. It is not only the ideal destination itself, but also a convenient base for excursions in the northern Kyushu area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Grand Hyatt Fukuoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Fukuoka Hotel Fukuoka
Fukuoka Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Fukuoka
Fukuoka Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Fukuoka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.