We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms - incredibly helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Fukuoka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko Fukuoka to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-18-25 Hakata Ekimae, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture 812-0011, Japan (Hakata Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms - incredibly helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

This hotel is 2 blocks from Hakata station - can't get any better. The room was quiet, spacious and clean.

What stood out for me with this hotel was the excellent service at the front desk.

First, we wanted to go to a particular restaurant, but didn't know if it was open - the concierge called up multiple locations and finally found one that was open, made a reservation, then directed the taxi to the place. This might be standard service in Japan, but something I definitely was not expecting at a hotel less than 5 stars.

Second, my fiance and I were unfortunately in Japan during the recent earthquake, tsunami and nuclear radiation crisis. We decided in the middle of the night that we needed to head back home and the front desk was able to assist us through about 3 hours of arrangements to help us cancel our hotels throughout the rest of the trip. They helped us connect to our airline hotlines and assisted in Japanese where necessary. Considering we were checking out that day, they had no incentive to help us out, but really went above and beyond to help us with anything we needed. HUGE THANKS!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    296
    57
    3
    2
See reviews for
114
105
138
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Good location in the heart of the city, you won't regret to choose this hotel.
I have been impressed by the service quality as soon as you enter the hotel lobby. Good lobby lounge for a drink and relax if you are in town for shopping.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We never stayed at the hotel, we have our own place in Fukuoka, but we went there for the Japanese teppan-yaki restaurant Icho on the second floor. Resevation in advance is recommended.

The decor is tasteful and very Japanese. Seating by tables, (western style chairs), or several bar style round the stoves and grill tables where the chefs do their magic. If you are interested in cooking and food in general I recommend the latter seating. We had beef sashimi, fried goose liver with mushrooms, fried sweetbread in a wine and cream sauce and saga beef with various vegetables, then desserts. All was soo good and such a joy watching it being prepared in front of you. The saga beef was just to die for.

It was a week day and the restaurant was almost full; hotels guests, business people and regulars who just come, often alone, for the food. It is not a cheap place, but really excellent food and good value for me for that special occasion. Menus in English too and staff who speak different languages since it is an international hotel. A great place to (first?) experience high class teppan-yaki.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

The Nikko hotel in Fukuoka is centrally located in the city in close distance to Hakata station, the main station with local trains and also with access to the Shinkansen high speed train system.
The service offered is superior. Nikko Fukuoka offers several restaurants. Breakfast with western and eastern food is offerd in the hotel restaurant at floor level 1.
However in Hakata station - 5 minutes walking distance - ther are several nice coffee shops where you can get great breakfast at a great price level.
Rooms are not too spacious as usual in Japane.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

excellent location and services...i woke up late for my departure, hotel have it arranged and arrived home same day

Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

The hotel is just right in front of the Hakata sub-station (eki), the room is spacious, the hotel staff is helpful and the breakfast is good. Only 10-15 minutes walk to the Yatai.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

This is an above above average hotel with mostly attentive staff. The rooms are slightly dated looking and have occasional wiffs on smoke, but seems clean and well cared for. Bathrooms (as normal in Japan) on the small side. Laundry worked well. Dining in the French style banquet restaurant across the road was excellent. Breakfasts in the 2nd floor western style restaurant were chaotic with staff not coping well and food running out. Seems need for sharper management there without doubt. Food was adequate. Good internet ion rooms, but not all rooms based on reports from other residents. As others have mentioned it is very convenient to Hakata station, being 5 minutes walk down the street.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko Fukuoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Fukuoka

Address: 2-18-25 Hakata Ekimae, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture 812-0011, Japan
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Hakata Station , Gion Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Fukuoka 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nikko Fukuoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Fukuoka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.