We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of IP CITY HOTEL Fukuoka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added IP CITY HOTEL Fukuoka to your Saves list
IP CITY HOTEL Fukuoka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5-2-18 Nakasu, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture 810-0801, Japan (Nakasu Kawabata Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 178 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days 4 nights.

Hubby and I reached the hotel at 12 noon on the 1st day. As expected, hotel rejected our request for early check-in and insisted we come back at 3pm. We left our luggage at the reception and went back at 2.50pm, and they allowed us to go to our room by then. Well, they aren't 100% rigid after all. (should have went back earlier!)

Room is tiny, as of the other hotels in Japan I'd stayed in. Booked a twin room as it is cheaper than the double room. We pushed both beds together, and it remained that way for the subsequent days.

Toilet is clean but the musky smell from the shower curtain was a complete turn off. Shampoo and Body Gel provided was from Shiseido so it's still not too bad after all. All other usual toiletries like shower cap, toothbrush, slippers, comb, simple shaver were provided. Towels were clean and changed on a daily basis. Hubby specially like the sleeping robe which the hotel provides.

Service is ok, but we had only made simple enquiries like the location of the foreign exchange and pubs which show soccer (don't bother to find, we tried and was surprised that the city does not support EPL that much). Only some staff at the front desk will bother to greet whenever you pass by.

Location is the best aspect of this hotel. Easy to locate. Exit 2 (a long flight of stairs) from the Nakata Akihabara Station will bring you to the street level and after making two left turns, u will see the hotel 30 seconds away. Exit 3 (the one which has the escalator that is obvious once u exit the gantry and also a 24 hour supermarket and 24 hour department store Don Qujito) will bring you to diagonal opposite of the hotel. As mentioned, this exit is served by escalators so if you have heavy shopping bags, take this exit and simply cross the road. We took this exit on our last day with our heavy luggages. Shopping areas like Tenjin and Canal City (via the Hakata Akihabara shopping street) is 10 mins and 15 mins away.

Overall, though nothing spectacular, the hotel isn't too bad either. A little old compared to the Best Western opposite it, but it provide the basic, at a reasonable price and very good location.

Don't forget to get the subway day pass (on weekend it is 500 yen instead of 600 yen) is you intends to go more than two locations a day. If you are going to Tenjin only, don't bother. Just walk there! It's about ten mins walk away. Didn't try the 100 yen bus though.

Room Tip: The hotel has smoking rooms, so be sure you choose the right room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    41
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
8
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We didn't actually stay at the hotel as we stayed opposite at the Best Western. However, we did try the breakfast buffet and it was excellent. The buffet consisted of both western items such as bacon and eggs together with Japanese style offerings. There was basically everything you could ask for. Highly recommended. It is also a great place for an evening beer. I would definitely stop here next time especially given the reasonable price with breakfast included!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed at IP Hotel for a night while backpacking Japan. While not by Fukuoka Station, it is a short train ride away. Get off at the Nakasukawabata station and take the No. 2 exit. From there take a left and another left at the corner to get this hotel. It is just a short walk from the station.

This is a boutique hotel. A lovely one at that. It is in Nakasu which is a great entertainment district in Fukuoka. A lot of eateries and nightlife here. The room is kind of small, but it has all the amenities you could need. I believe there is free wi-fi in the room too. The front staff is very nice and kindly held my luggage after I checked out as I still wanted to check out the city for a little longer.

Had a nice stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed at IP Hotel for about a week for a conference. The front desk staff speak decent english, certainly enough to be very helpful. Along with your room, they give you a breakfast coupon for each morning you are there (including check-out day) which is good for a free breakfast buffet. The food is a good mix of western and japanese food. I stayed in a single room which is kind of small but suitable. The staff does a good job cleaning the rooms too. They have free wireless internet which was a little slow at night but worked fine in the mornings. Finally the location is excellent. The hotel is right in the middle of the excellent nightlife of Nakasu and the subway is just a walk around the corner. Highly recommended hotel without the fanciness of the much more expensive ones in Fukuoka.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed at IP Hotel for about a week for a conference. The front desk staff speak decent english, certainly enough to be very helpful. Along with your room, they give you a breakfast coupon for each morning you are there (including check-out day) which is good for a free breakfast buffet. The food is a good mix of western and japanese food. I stayed in a single room which is kind of small but suitable. The staff does a good job cleaning the rooms too. They have free wireless internet which was a little slow at night but worked fine in the mornings. Finally the location is excellent. The hotel is right in the middle of the excellent nightlife of Nakasu and the subway is just a walk around the corner. Highly recommended hotel without the fanciness of the much more expensive ones in Fukuoka.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

I was in Fukuoka for a conference and could not get in to the superior Hotel Okura because of Hakata's Gion Yamagasa weekend festival, so had to settle for the (albeit reasonably-priced but inferior) Daiichi. Splendid Japanese welcome at check-in. The receptionist was happy to take my ton weight suitcase to the left and to my room. I had been forewarned about the size of Japanese hotel rooms and asked for a larger room from the one offered. Turned out that the "larger" room had an extra bed, little walk-around space, no wardrobe/closet, and a tiny bathroom. Since there is no wardrobe/closet, you have to hang your clothes on a rail on the wall (Colleagues staying at the Okura told me that they had to do the same) and leave your suitcase on the floor, thus taking up valuable floor space. But the AC was effective in the hot and humid climate and breakfast was more than average, and included a wide range of western and Japanese-style foods. The staff was large, extremely polite, welcoming, and helpful and the hotel is clean and centrally-located near the river. There is also a taxi rank just outside the hotel - 12 minutes to Hakata station and about 25 to the airport.

Fukuoka is an industrial city/port and the western-most terminal (Hakata) of the Shinkansen, which goes all the way to Osaka and then on to Tokyo and points east. Ostensibly, it's a cultural centre but it has few historical sites and has a somewhat seedy "entertainment district". The main site is the Kushida-jinja shrine. There are some nice restaurants in the mall oppose the Okura hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IP CITY HOTEL Fukuoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IP CITY HOTEL Fukuoka

Address: 5-2-18 Nakasu, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture 810-0801, Japan
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Nakasu Kawabata Station , Gion Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 178 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IP CITY HOTEL Fukuoka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking:38 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your IP CITY HOTEL Fukuoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IP CITY HOTEL Fukuoka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.