We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transit hotel, that's it...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Hotel Kansai Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Hotel Kansai Airport to your Saves list
Best Western Hotel Kansai Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4066 Hineno, Izumisano 598-0021, Osaka Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
3.5 of 5 stars 173 Reviews
Stavanger
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Transit hotel, that's it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Easily said, this hotel is purely a transit hotel when going to the airport.
The room was ok but rather small. I got a free upgrade to double room, but it pretty much just meant they had put a bigger bed in.
The staff speak decent english and were helpful enough so I have no objections on that account.
The hotel offered a sento style bath and complementary "yukata"... but take that yukata term with a slight bit of reservation. It is basically a big shirt. Not that I am complaining, but when sharing an elevator with three girls only wearing this shirt and they have shame written all over their faces... well, I guess they had known to bring fresh clothes too...
Oh, and about the elevators... have patience... they are S L O W

Breakfast is ok, but the dining area is a bit on the small size when everyone is rushing to get a bit of breakfast before catching a morning flight. It works ok though.

The hotel offers a shuttlebus from Kansai airport, but it is located at one end of the terminal and unless you actually as the information desk about the location you will be looking at a few minutes walking if you happen to go to the wrong end. When on the right end there is a sign indicating the stopping location of the bus.

So overall...
It is a transit hotel, and nothing much more than that.

Room Tip: The rooms facing away from the airport are facing the railroad and if you are planning on keeping a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    84
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
35
33
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Location
The hotel is located about 15-20min drive from Kansai Airport, there is a free shuttle located at bus stop s11 but is not in operation between 2pm -5pm and then only runs once an hour. There is however the JR train station within 1 minute walk (15min to airport and costs 440Y one way - Take 2nd stop off from airport, 1 hr to Osaka (620Y to Jr Namba)). The local area has some bars, a shopping mall, a casino and a couple of seven elevens. Its a quite a quiet town.
l.
Room
The room was presented very well with pyjamas, slippers and two pillows on the double bed, one of which has little balls and i found this quite comfortable. It is clean and comfortable mattress. Lighting is adequate with dimmer options and the alarm clock has the ability to turn the main light off as well as control the AC unit all this is conventietly on the bed stand. There is a small desk and chair which is good if you need to work on laptop (however the hotel has only cable-no WIFI and charges which means if you have a IPAD your stuffed to get on to the internet). The bathroom was clean with a good working digital toilet, clean bath and shower and adequate amenities of toothpaste, toothbrush and shaving kit. The TV has a good amount of Japanese channels but only one english option which is the BBC news 24. There is a option to purchase video but its just what is on the screen and non interactive (Shawshank redemptions and two adult channels) which for 1000yen was not worth it but you can preview for like 5 minutes. The view of the window was off Kansai Mountains which was nice.
Facilities
The hotel has a buffet style restaurant which hosts the free breakfast. Breakfast i found to be fairly limited options especially for westerners. There are some bacon and sausage with egg but did not look that appetising, with not many options for bread and pastry. Green tea is also not available in breakfast room- this brought down the overall rating for me. There is also a good amount of vending machines in the lobby with a small shop selling simple japanese stuff. There is a wifi zone with some computers. On the 2nd floor is the open baths separate for men and women and a 24 hour gym which has about 3 treadmills.
Staff
Very hospitable and polite as with all Japanese but front desk not trained well with payment options. Wouldn't take my UK visa debit card initially because they didn't understand the PIn option (which is also used in Japan) but once used worked. Also check-in is after 3pm which slightly annoying.

Overall fairly reasonable priced hotel paid £130 for 3 nights with discover asia deal (1 night free). cheaper than local hotel at airport (£100 a night) and nice to be in small quiet Japanese town with good transportation link to visit the main local cities (Osaka, Kyoto and Kobe)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

I choose this hotel because it's near the airport and I have an early flight to catch , stay here for one night , I make a booking through agoda and stated got airport shuttle but to my dismay when I arrive there's no bus to take us cuz there's time table for the shuttle and our arrival is in the afternoon but when we depart we took the airport shuttle . It's walking distance to the JR station , so it's convenient .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is probably the most affordable airport hotel around the area, although it may not be the nearest but they have free shuttle bus service to and from the airport. I recommended this hotel to the 1st timer to osaka by late flight. My flight touched down at 9.30pm, i wouldn't want to risk being loss in no where, where the rail services ended at 11pm-11.30pm. This is the right hotel to go for.

the room is small, so as the double bed, but i guess this is the stadard of japan so not really an issue for a night stay. breakfast was good although not great, recommended. cleanliness was ok, no smoking smell, and no complain about it. Sleep quality was good, maybe i am too tired that not heard anything or i was in the higher floor. Overall experience was good as a stopover hotel.

note: there is a rail station station beside the hotel, as a 1st timer i suggested to take the free hotel shuttle bus to the airport and leaving to your destination then. i have the schedule for shuttle to and from the hotel to the airport, contact me if you need one.

rgds,

Room Tip: try getting the hisher floor if you are concern about the noise from the train. however i did not he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izumisano
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was saddened to see that the carpet ,walls, and bathrooms in this hotel were dirty. I didn't even want to stand bare-footed in the tub because it looked so gross! We had a non-smoking room, but it smelled like old smoke and smoke came through the air conditioner vents all night. Between that and the trains going by (the hotel is only a few feet from the train tracks) we got no sleep all night. I would not recommend this hotel except for the fact that is is close to the airport and did provide an on-time shuttle to get us to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

It is boasting being close to the airport but in fact it is a good 15 minutes away. Having arrived late (22:00), we didn't see the free shuttle bus anywhere so we took a taxi which ended up costing 4180 yen! ( so you know, a shuttle bus exist on the hour till midnight, but I don't know where from at the airport)
The rooms are very small, and travelling with 2 kids, we expected to ask for an extra mattress (as we have done in the past 2 months of our trip), but that was impossible even though we mention it on our reservation. So we ended up 4 in one small double bed!
The train noise didn't help our sleep either.

On the bright side, breakfast is good and ... well, the train station is right there out of the door.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in a non smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Best Western Hotel Kansai Airport is perhaps the most convenient airport hotel withn the affordable range. We booked the hotel through booking.com during the flash deal promotional period with 50% discount. Although the last free shuttle bus service provided by the hotel is 10 pm from Kansai Airport but the bus waited for us until 10.15 pm without us pre-book it. However, it is good for you to let the hotel know your flight no. as well as your estimated immigration check out time if you are arriving late night. Please give yourself a comfortable 1 hour buffer time from the time your flight landed until you check out to the arrival hall. The hotel is located within a short 15 minutes slow drive from the airport and the free shuttle bus will drop you right in front of the door step of the hotel. The hotel looks brand new in everything. I guess it could have been refurbished in recent year. The counter staff can speak a simple english which is good enough for you to do check in & obtain information. Pls ask the counter staff to provide you with a simple map for the restaurants located within walking distance & they will more than happy to do so. Don't worry about arriving late as there are a few restaurants in the neighbourhood will open until 2 am for you to have late dinner. Therefore, if you are arriving late at night, please do not have your dinner in the airport as you might miss the free shuttle bus. The neighbourhood is very safe to walk around at late night. Although the hotel is located next to the railway track, but we didn't hear any noise from the trains passing by. In fact, we slept very well. If you are travelling to Osaka on next day, the train station is just right at the back of the hotel and is just within 1 minute walking only. So is very convenient. Aeon Shopping Center open at 10 am everyday is within 10 minutes walk from the hotel. So if you do not want to have the continental breakfast in the hotel which will cost you ¥1,000-00 if you book at the counter a night before (¥1,300-00 for walk in rate), you may want to consider have your breakfast at Aeon Shopping Center with variety of choices which is relatively cheaper. Not to forget, the hotel has a sento at level 1 which is free for hotel guests. To summarise, we will still choose this hotel if we arrive late in Kansai Airport or if we depart early from Kansai Airport).

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are small but is consider standard size for hotels in Japan. So there is nothing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Hotel Kansai Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Kansai Airport

Address: 4066 Hineno, Izumisano 598-0021, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Izumisano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Izumisano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Kansai Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Hotel Kansai Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanku Hineno Station Izumisano
Best Western Hotel Kansai Airport Osaka Prefecture, Japan - Izumisano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Hotel Kansai Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.