We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Nara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan Matsumae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ryokan Matsumae
Save
You added Ryokan Matsumae to your Saves list
Ryokan
  |   28-1 Higashi Terabayashicho, Nara 630-8362, Nara Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Beijing
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Nara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Very beautiful Ryokan, location is good, 1 minute walking to the famous pagoda. The room is quite clean & quiet, we could have a very good sleep. I highly recommend the bath tub on the 1st floor, you can't imagine there's such a clean Japanese style bath but in such a small inn, it's open every night! It helps me a lot to relax my body and alleviate fatigue.
The staff could speak English, especially the landlady, who is also a good "Kyogen" actress, you can ask her to book a ticket for the traditional Kyogen show.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
37
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Matsumae is a lovely, small, roykan, conveniently located, with a friendly and gracious host and staff. You must try the Japanese style breakfast which is inovative and delicious. The rooms are a bit small, but the shared ofuro (Japanese style bath) is very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed at Ryokan Matsumae for two nights in 2007. The hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful. Our room was quite small and had a shower room attached, however this is to be expected in a family ryokan. We didn't use the bath room however we were told that we could use it privately if we wanted.

A top tip is to opt for dinner on at least one night of your stay. The food was truly exceptional and one of the best meals I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

The Matsumae Ryokan is located in a convenient area of town and has friendly staff who speak excellent English. The Japanese breakfast was also good - but that's about all i can say I liked about the place. We stayed for two nights in a room with a toilet and shared bathroom facilities, both at best could be described as average. The bath/shower times are very limited. Our bedroom had a wonderfull view of a carpark and vending machine and it stank of cabbage. There is also a curfew on entry times. This place was more like a hostel than a ryokan - my advice would be if you are looking for a ryokan experience then spend more money and go to a real ryokan.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tired, dank room that smelt of cabbage
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Ryokan Matsumae is really a great place.
It is very convenient, closed to train station and main temples.
We stayed in the family room, on the 2nd floor.
Room is huge and so nice with a kind of private corridor around.
The western breakfast is excellent and nicely presented, including fresh fruits, which is not so usual.
On top of this, staff is more than friendly and speak english quite well. They even managed to provide with a small yukata for our youngest child !
And all this for quite a cheap price (taking into account japanese standards)
Thanks a lot !!

  • Liked — Staff, Nice Room, Breakfast, Value
  • Disliked — Nothing !
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

During our 2 weeks trip this accomodation was the worst! It's a rundown place which some people seem to think adds charm or caracter to it! well, not in my books! Our room was really tiny, no place for our luggage(2 backpacks only!) once the beds were rolled out! the wall paper was peeling, the paper window screen had several holes in it and the bathroom was dark and not exactly clean. Check in staff was not very helpful and we were not offered any help with our luggage! The 12.600 Yen that they are charging for it's a ripp off! For another 1.000 Yen you are better off staying at the Sunroute Nara Hotel which is just a minute walk from this ryokan!

  • Liked — located near the todai-ji
  • Disliked — being a run-down place!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

Stayed for 1 night at the Ryokan Matsumae in Nara with my family of 4. They only had 1 large room, so we had to split into 2 rooms. No problem as we were given 2 rooms at the end of a hall. Both were Japanese style rooms with tatami mats and futons. 1 room had a full bath, like most Japanese rooms bath was tiny.

Family run inn - the owner is also the head cook and speaks English well. Family/staff also speak enough English for our needs to be met. Owner had recently been to our hometown San Francisco for a vacation so we traded vacation stories.

There are 2 family baths on the 1st floor which are a blast. A family of 4 could fit in one. Also have a library/computer room and breakfast was great.

Ryokan is close to the main streets and the famous deer park. Nara is usually quite crowded with day tourists, so staying the night is very nice as you have the town to yourselves.

Overall, would highly recommend the Ryokan Matsumae if you want to spend a night in Nara.

  • Liked — Location, nice room
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryokan Matsumae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Matsumae

Address: 28-1 Higashi Terabayashicho, Nara 630-8362, Nara Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nara
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small Ryokan situated in Nara-machi area.This area which is World Heritage site is dotted with Historically significant temples and shrines.We take care to entertain in The Old Japanes Traditions. You will get taste of life Japanese styleRoom rate(including tax/not including meal)5,250~8,400yenBreakfast on request(Western 735yen or Japanese 840yen)Dinner on request;Reservation in advance(4200yen or 5250yen)Internet;100yen/h(if you have your laptop,gratis)Smoking room ,Library,Dining room,Common bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ryokan Matsumae Hotel Nara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan Matsumae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.