We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nara Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Nara Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nara Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Japanese Guest House   |   31 Yurugicho, Nara, Nara Prefecture 630-8283, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty lodging in Nara
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A really lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hostel is a beautiful, old Japanese house with a traditional courtyard garden. The staff are young and welcoming. Exploring the parks and shrines to the East of Nara was very relaxing, and after a trip to the baths I slept more deeply than I have done for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sabadell, Catalunya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

100% recommended. Conveniently located, very close to the major interesting spots of the city. The house is really nice, with more than 100 years of history, totally japanese style. And the owners are very friendly and hospitable. Every thing is very clean and beds are confortable. Nothing bad to say. I have enjoyed a lot my stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagasaki-shi, Nagasaki, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I liked to say that even that i stayed there for 2 nights. People were every kind. The house looks a magnificent. Hostel is very near the all the historic places in Nara and for this price range is the best place that you can stay in Nara.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We really loved this hostel - I would say - it was THE nicest traditional Japanese style house we've been staying in during our trip to Japan. The house itself used to belong to some famous lady who was educated in the Art of tea and apparently even the Japanese tourists over sometimes, just to see the house :)

The owner is very gentle and communicative person, he gave us good advices.
In the hotel there is a kitchen - something to be appreciated. the bathroom is shared but it's nothing surprising in Japan. The common room is very charming, the same as the rooms decorated with simplicity and taste.

Definetely, we couldn't find a better place to stay in Nara

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A beautiful converted 100 year old traditional Japanese house in a perfect location for all the sights of Nara. Lovely, friendly hosts and clean. The common room is a great place to meet people and the garden is beautiful. Good kitchen facilities.

I stayed in the female dorm which was bijou (small) and there wasn't a lot of light, but the rest of the property made up for it. So full of character!

I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miaoli, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

it's great that I can just pay a reasonable price to have a taste of traditional Japanese house..
there are some public bath near guesthouse.(and it's cheap)
After a whole day exhausted sightseeing and walking, a hot bath really helped me to relax.
The location is great that i can walk to the main tourist spot in ten mins.
The staffs are great as well :)

Although i spent lots of time on visiting temples, i'm not a fan of beautiful temples.
The only thing that will make me miss nara is this small guesthouse. :)

Room Tip: go upstair of 二月堂, the view is great, especially when there's a sunset. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The staff here was great. Talkative, nice and warm hearted.
The old house once belonged to a woman who taught the way of the Japanese tea ceremony, and it has a beautiful garden just outside (you can see it from the common room).
Our room was simple, but spacy and with really thick matrasses (not ordinary futon).
The wi-fi was okay.
There was space for suitcases in the futon cabinet.
No fridge, but you could put your food in the fridge in the kitchen.
The WC and the shower are shared by all guests.
Really close to Nara Park and the shika-deers! ^^
Bus station close by.
5-7 min walk to nearest conbini (7eleven) and down town.

On the down side:
No yukata
Noisy

Good price, really good value!
We would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nara Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nara Backpackers

Address: 31 Yurugicho, Nara, Nara Prefecture 630-8283, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty lodging in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nara Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten and HostelWorld so you can book your Nara Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nara Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.