We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super Hotel Lohas JR Nara-eki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super Hotel Lohas JR Nara-eki to your Saves list
Super Hotel Lohas JR Nara-eki
1-2 Sanjohonmachi, Nara, Nara Prefecture 630-8122, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

When I booked this hotel, I had the idea that it was near the station. When I was there, I found it was connected to the JR Narar station! So convenient! The tourist information Centre was just next door and there's convenience stores just on the ground floor! The natural hot spring was great with 2 settings.....(one that gave the outdoor ambience). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the free breakfast (fresh bread/buns and others) was a good way to start the day! The hotel is a short walk to the Sanjodori street and also the shopping streets. The surrounding is rather quiet in the night but we love it as we could relax in the hotel - hot spring. Free internet access in the room was a plus! I love it! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    120
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
68
76
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
World Wide Traveller
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel is well situated outside the JR train sation but with no noise nuisances.
Overaal clean and efficient, friendly staff, one english TV news chanel and a large choice of pilows uppon arrival.
Breakfast was good but even on weekend only availabel between 07.00 AM and 09.00 AM., with a decent choice but you have to eat in a plastic kind of plate that may remind you of your kindergarden time....
When arrving at 14.30 do not expect to have do to your room, the strict applied rules only alow you access from 15.00H PMand you must depart at 10.00H AM.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Everywhere else I stayed in Japan were guesthouses and hostels (as I was backpacking and it made it a lot cheaper.) This made a really nice change - even though I loved (almost) everywhere I stayed.

The first thing I must mention about this hotel is the free use of the onsen, which was the reason I picked it. I have never felt so relaxed in my life. It was kept really clean and there was a choice of an inside and 'outside' one. I would choose this hotel again just for this.

The room was quite a reasonable size and the bed was double even though it was a single room. It was very clean and provided everything you would need there.

There was 2 computers that were available to use for internet and an international phone that you could use for free of charge.

The staff were very polite and many of them were fluent in English. They were willing to help you about anything you would need.

The breakfast (a buffet with quite a large selection) and checkout are quite early but they will keep your bags for you if you want to spend the rest of the day in Nara before picking it up.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

It really is right next to JR Nara station! The location is extremely convenient. You've got the station, buses, taxis, 2 convenience stores and several cheap places to eat all within about 100m of the hotel. Usually hotels this close to major stations are more expensive, so I was pleasantly surprised by how reasonable it was.

I can strongly recommend this hotel. But be careful you don't get it confused with the other Super Hotel next to Nara station. They're owned by the same company, and at first I accidentally booked the wrong one! Lohas is a bit more expensive, but better. (That said, the other hotel looked OK, so if you're on a tight budget, that would probably suit you better!)

Rather than keys, the rooms are opened by a PIN number you're given at check-in - make sure you don't lose or forget it!

The room and bed were actually bigger than I was expecting from the pictures on their website. Many business hotels in Japan offer "semi-doubles" but at Lohas they are proper doubles. The bed was very comfortable, and if you don't like the pillow, you can choose another one downstairs (I recommend going early for that!) And our room had a very nice Sharp Aquos TV! (if you have a TV Out cable, you could plug in your iPhone etc and play videos on it!) Our friend had a single room, and this too was more comfortable than is usual - she was very happy!

As is usual in this kind of hotel, the bathroom was clean but small (although the tub was bigger than in similar hotels I've stayed in) Ammenaties are limited. You only get a toothbrush/paste set, body soap, and shampoo in the bathroom (and of course towels). You don't get things like a shower cap, cotton buds etc.

In the main room, you have a hair-dryer, a fridge, a humidifier, and a hot-water maker. You only get a couple of sachets of powdered tea, and as I seldom like these in Japanese hotels, I've gotten into the habit of taking my own sachets of hot-chocolate! (these can be bought at any convenience store) In the breakfast room (on the 4th floor) there are vending machines selling coffee, hot chocolate etc.

If you have a laptop this can access the internet via LAN, but not wireless. Most hotels in Japan are woefully behind when it comes to WiFi. There are a couple of free-to-use PCs next to reception.

Breakfast was reasonable, and all-you-can-eat. There were a variety of rolls and pastries, salad, yogurt, cornflakes, and a few hot items including scrambled egg, miso soup, and for some reason, meatballs! The drink vending machines are free to use during breakfast time. However, the coffee from these was fairly poor (not surprising really) That for me was the one weak point of the breakfast - I like proper coffee in the mornings!

And of course, there's the onsen. A nice hot bath where you can stretch out is great after a day of sightseeing! There's an indoor and outdoor bath, men and women separate. (The women's has a security lock, for which you need a PIN, just like the rooms) However, given how many rooms the hotel has, the baths are far too small. I would say you could comfortably fit 4 people in each bath. The hotel has several hundred rooms! The numbers don't really work. That said, my friend and I had the 'outside' bath to ourselves for an hour and a half, so I can't complain!

The service was friendly and professional. The staff speak reasonable English, so I'd recommend making a reservation by phone rather than on the website if possible, as that's easier!

Parking is available, but you need to book that in advance.

So, all-in-all, I'd say this is a good hotel, well placed, and very comfortable (I slept very well) It has a decent breakfast, a nice hot bath, and good staff. And for me, it's at just the right balance between cheap but not too cheap!

On a side note:
The only downside is that it's further from Nara Koen (Park) which tends to be top of most people's itineraries, as Todaiji is in Nara Koen (and of course the famous deer!) To walk there would probably take about 30 minutes, so you'll want to take a bus or taxi there. The Kintetsu Station is nearer to Nara Koen. However, if you want to visit other temples, such as Horyuji (possibly my favourite temple in Japan!) then taking the train from JR is the most convenient. So if you're planning on spending a couple of days in Nara (I'd strongly recommend you stay for 2 days, possibly 3 for a more relaxed pace) then it's six of one, half a dozen of the other as to which station you stay near.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Other reports have said it already: good new hotel right by the train station immediately on the right as you walk out the station door. Reception on 4th floor. We had both a small double (good enough) and, for 1000Yen more, a large double (worth the extra for the space, but note the tiny bathroom is the same). Compared to the only other Super hotel we stayed in, this one is much better, but also 11-12000Yen as opposed to 7000Yen, so I guess you would expect it. Great breakfast (much better than the Super in Kochi), usual easy internet in room for your laptop, very friendly welcome. Book on their website. Nara is so much calmer and smaller than big, crowded Kyoto that I recommend considering spending more time based in Nara than Kyoto: it is only 45mins rapid train between the 2 cities. The only recommendations for improvement I would give to this hotel (and the Super chain) is firstly get rid of that disgusting instant coffee machine and start offering reasonably decent coffee as a complimentary welcome at check-in (Toyoko Inn chain does this and so we stayed with them more often). Secondly, finishing breakfast at 09.00 is fine for business travellers, but hard on tourists. Later breakfast and check-out would be more attractive to the average Gaijin. Super competes with other chains like Toyoko and Comfort: a few small things mark the difference, and nearly 12000Yen for a room in a relatively downmarket business hotel is not especially cheap.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Location: Literally RIGHT outside of Nara station. Very convenient whether to browse through town on foot or take the bus.

Hotel: One of the very few hotels where it looked better in real than in pictures! Very clean, neat and tidy. Even though it's been around a few years, it felt as if it was brand new. The big window brought in enough sunlight to make the room nice and cozy, unlike any other hotels I've stayed in Japan. Design and material used were very modern, not only the room, but the interior of the entire hotel, from elevator to the hallway to the library/waiting area. Natural onsen available, which was such a bonus after a long day's walk around town. Although washroom in room is a bit tight, but totally "bypass-able", since I had a great shower downstairs at the onsen area already. Only LAN available in room, but business center w/ internet & printer free to use by guests.

Other facilities: "Library" or waiting area with books & other reading materials to be used at your convenience. Haven't had a chance at it, but seemed comfortable and inviting enough if one had nothing else to do and did not want to go outside. Free breakfast in the morning, a rare treat that you do not get with the same rank of hotels. Not bad, especially when/if you are hungry. And I'm sure the unlimited free coffee from the vending machines (during breakfast time only) would make up for it anyway.

Service: There's hardly bad service in Japan. But this place, is incomparable. As soon as you step in, they make you feel like a VIP until you leave. They're enthusiastic, helpful and professional. If anyone staff has a free moment, they will greet you into the elevator whether you're going up to your room or heading out.

Overall stay, as you can tell already, was more than totally satisfy. It's actually one of the BEST hotel I've stayed at. Great location + clean/cozy facilities & environment + excellent service. What more can you ask for. It's well worth the price paid. For better deals, try booking in Japanese sites (use google translate to help), they can be a few thousand yen's difference. I got mine for approx. USD$60/nt for one person. Prices would be cheaper for more ppl. Just check around different sites. I would definitely try their different locations of the same chain given the chance.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

OK, I have to admit I was a bit skeptical about the '10 seconds from the train station' review, but the hotel really is 10 seconds away! Plus it seems like a new hotel and is as clean and efficient with great service as other Super Hotels we stayed at when in Japan.

It's about a 10 min walk or so into Nara city (shopping, restaurants etc) but there are plenty of shops and restaurants to look at on the way.

Brekky was included as was free internet. Brekky was a bit more substantial than Super Hotel Kyoto and included rice, salad, miso and pastries (yoghurt and cornflakes available). Also coffee and tea included.

Onsen is lovely, has a men's and ladies bath, with two baths in each, one of which is sort of outside and looks traditional.

Just like other super hotels, very clean, small rooms but great service. Coin laundry facilities also available.

We loved Nara, having just come from Tokyo it was much quieter and a lovely change.

If you want a cheap dining option, across the road near the corner is a small noodle bar, order via vending machine and pay about $5 or $6 AUD for dinner (we had oyakodon, salad, miso etc for 2 and paid about $12AUD total).

Last thing to say, not hotel related, visit the tourist info centre in Nara and take up the offer of a free guide. We had a lovely day with Keiko who took us to Nara's temples and then a sake brewery to finish up. The volunteer guides won't accept any money and she did a fantastic job.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super Hotel Lohas JR Nara-eki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Hotel Lohas JR Nara-eki

Address: 1-2 Sanjohonmachi, Nara, Nara Prefecture 630-8122, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Super Hotel Lohas JR Nara-eki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super Hotel Lohas JR Nara-eki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.