We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but beatiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isuien Garden

Isuien Garden
74 Mima-cho, Nara, Nara Prefecture
+81 742-25-0781
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 83 Attractions in Nara
4.5 of 5 stars 78 Reviews
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small but beatiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had expected to be bigger but when you walk around you will love it. Just relax next to the tea house and enjoy the view. the entry fee is 650 including entry to the museum.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    18
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My favourite Japanese garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the best garden I had seen on my recent trip to Japan. I was not into gardens, until this one.
It is small, but picturesque and tranquil. I like it much better than many other overestimated gardens such as Kenrokuen.
If you are in Nara this is a must. It's very close to the Todaiji temple.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Nice Small Manicured garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Its a small garden, but is manicured with trees, plants- all well placed. It is bordered by what I call a Forest-hill which emits a nice pine forestry scent. There is a private garden with a pond towards the end, to which you may enter for a fee. Not a must to see Isuien, but since you will be passing this way anyway as you make your way to the other sites, might as well scoot by. Only need like 15 to 30 minutes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This garden was probably my favorite of the many gardens we visited in Japan. Something about the view looking from the teahouse over the pond to the trees and hills, there is not an unpleasant thing in sight. Everything seemed so balanced and lovely from that view point. Wandering around the garden is lovely too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful tranquil Japanese garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place! It is lovely to walk around and just sit and relax in this garden. You can see part of the magnificent Todagi temple in the distance. There are lots streams and wonderful sculpted plants, flowers and trees and a water wheel. One of the nicest things we did in Nara!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isuien Garden also viewed

Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 
Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 

Been to Isuien Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isuien Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.