We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, nearby train station although not centre of the town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Nara Shin Omiya Ekimae

Toyoko Inn Nara Shin Omiya Ekimae
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Toyoko Inn Nara Shin Omiya Ekimae to your Saves list
Toyoko Inn Nara Shin Omiya Ekimae
4-3-2 Shibatsujicho, Nara 630-8114 , Nara Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
4.0 of 5 stars 33 Reviews
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Value for money, nearby train station although not centre of the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed there for 1 night en-route from Osaka to Kyoto. Basically we choose the hotel for its price - only 7,000 Yen and close proximity to train station.

It's just located 2 minutes walk from Kintetsu's Shin-Omiya Station. The hotel has a huge signboard on top and one can easily spot it after stepping out from the station.

Minor downside is that Shin-Omiya Station is one stop (or 150 yen) away from Kintetsu Nara station, which is situated at the centre of Nara providing walking access to Nara's main attraction - Nara Park and its surrounding. Minimal eatery and shopping opportunity nearby, but there's a Matsuya (Japan fast food restaurant chain) and 7-11 nearby. Nevertheless, this does not diminish much the convenience the hotel offered as we

IMPORTANT NOTE: JR Nara Line does not have any station nearby Toyoko-inn.

Room is not too small, clean and the bed is comfy. Free breakfast provided but only serves a few types of Japanese rice, salad and Miso Soup. Coffee is included as well.

Staff is polite (as most Japanese in service industry does) although speaks limited English. However,this would not slow down or complicate the check in and check process Free WiFi, standard toiletries stuffs and also including comestic set (Lotion, hair brush, hair clip etc) for female guest.



P.s. Toyoko-inn is a major business hotel chain in Japan. One thing interesting is that most of its staffs are females.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We spent two nights here. Delighted all round. Staff were consistently friendly and helpful. Bathroom modern and clean. Beds looked and felt much nicer in reality than on the web pictures.
It's a little walk into central Nara and the park. But it's well located for Shin Omiya station. Ours was actually a smoking room, but this was hardly perceptible. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel and were very happy there.
The hotel is about a 2 minute walk from the Shin-Omiya station on the Kintetsu Railway line, this being one before the Kintetsu Nara Station which is the nearest to the epicentre of the main tourist attractions. (This is not to be confused with the JR Nara Station). Trains between Shin Omiya and Kintetsu Nara are plentiful and only take a few minutes costing Y150.
Even though no English was spoken check in (and check out) was fast and efficient.
Our room on the 8th floor had views to the station and surrounding areas.
Japanese rooms are generally small but in this case the room felt larger because it also had an entry foyer.
The beds were firm, as most are in Japan, and was wonderful.
Bathroom was the normal 'module' and whilst compact was very satifactory and comfortable.
The room and bathroom was impecably clean.
The breakfast included rice, miso, noodles, pickled vegetables, toast, coffee etc with slight variations each day. It was basically Japanese but very very nice.
Whilst not numerous, there were restaurants in the immediate area.
For a fast cheap Japanese meal I can recommend a small restaurant diagonally opposite the exit from the station where ordering is via a vending machine. Whilst no English spoken, the owners were lovely and very very helpful, plus proving a very good meal.
A very good value hotel not too far from the main tourist area of Nara.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is nearby to Train Station and only 2 min walk.Staffs are fast efficient. Free breakfast given. Toilet and batroom are very clean and high tech.Worth every penny that we spent. Highly recommened.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

good the price is reasonable and the room and hotel is clean, there're laudry machine and cheap drinks vending machine

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

I stayed one night in this business hotel, which was clean and well appointed. I stayed in a few Toyoko Inn hotels during my stay, and this one met the standard of the chain. However, for me, it was a bit far from central Nara. Staff at tourist info at the JR station told me it would be about a 25min walk, but I got lost and it ended up taking must longer. It is very close to a subway station, although the subway is not in the JR station. As I was only staying one night in Nara, I wanted something near the station so I wouldn't waste too much time getting from the JR station to the accommodation to drop my bag, but this ended up taking ages.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a three-week trip to Japan. My rating is based on the value for money. Toyoko Inns are not 5-star hotels.

There is no beating the price. The rooms are very inexpensive, especially considering what most places in Nara charge. While the rates vary depending on which city you stay in, this one cost us about $90/night (8000 yen/night) for the two of us.

The location was good. The train stop is right outside the door and it is only one stop to get to the temple sights. We were in Nara during a crowded time of year (toward the end of the cherry blossom season), in addition to going on a weekend.

The rooms are very tiny, but very clean and stocked with amenities. If you are looking for a clean, cheap place to sleep with a modern bathroom, television and A/C, Toyoko Inns are perfect. The rooms are too small for people traveling with children, they are really designed for business travelers. As a couple, we were perfectly content with the size of the room, but we aren't the type to hang around and watch tv when we travel. The continental breakfast was the low point, but I would have been happy without one given the price.

After splurging on a few nice ryokans, we tried to save a little elsewhere on our trip. It is hard to beat the Toyoko Inn’s prices, especially considering the cleanliness of the room. Usually low-cost hotels in the U.S. can be a bit dodgy, but this was not the case at Toyoko Inn (we stayed at one in Kanazawa as well). I highly recommend this chain to anyone who wants something a little nicer than a hostel for less than $75/night.

Sorry we didn't take any pics. The pictures on the web site are accurate.

I found out about this hotel chain from a friend. If you are looking to travel in Japan without breaking the bank, there is no beating this hotel chain. I wrote a review for another Toyoko Inn in Kanazawa that is pretty much the same as this one.

Pros:
Price (very inexpensive)
Room amenities (fully stocked)
Location (decent access to sights in Nara, one train stop away from temple sights)

Cons:
Poor continental breakfast
Very small rooms

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toyoko Inn Nara Shin Omiya Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Nara Shin Omiya Ekimae

Address: 4-3-2 Shibatsujicho, Nara 630-8114 , Nara Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Toyoko Inn Nara Shin Omiya Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toyoko Inn Nara Shin Omiya Ekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.