We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Politics and business don't mix...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apa Hotel Himejiekikita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Apa Hotel Himejiekikita to your Saves list
Apa Hotel Himejiekikita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Higashiekimaecho, Himeji 670-0926, Hyogo Prefecture (Himeji Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels / Ryokan in Himeji
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Politics and business don't mix...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A well located hotel close to both the JR station and the castle (which is shrouded in scaffolding until 2014 so no photo opportunities!).

The hotel is comfortable and well run with good toiletries in the bathrooms. Breakfast OK. However, it was BOILING hot, even with the window open in mid-November. Having the window open meant a lot of street noise so take some ear plugs just in case.

My partner (Japanese speaker) was alarmed to find a bevvy of fairly extreme right wing literature 'provided for guests' in the room. We think it may have been authored by the hotel's owner. This was really off putting and certainly made my partner worry about what kind of political shenanigans we were funding by staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
4
20
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gliwice, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed in Apa Hotel Himejiekikita hotel for 2 nights in summer 2011. This is typical business hotel, you don't need to bother about staff, there is no breakfast included, but it's really good place for travellers too. It's well located, 5 minutes from JR station and not so far from the castle. It can be good place to visit othere areas in Hyogo, even Kobe or you can make one day trip to Osaka from there. Room was small, but have good equipment, especially great bath. I couldn't use european Visa Electron, so be adviced of it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Located 5-10 minute walk from the station, and about 20 minutes walk for the castle. Typical business hotel, trim is not as good as the APA at Kobe Sanomiya but still nice. Breakfast buffet includes some western food and some Japanese food - decent sized, and I was quite satisfied. I was the only forreigner I saw, and it didn't seem that any of the staff had anything but rudimentary English. But I got by with rudimentary Japanese. My single sized room was bigger than I expected, and I had no problem with bedding or the like. There's a 24 hour manga cafe at the bottom floor with Internet.

I stayed in a Sunday night, and the price was outstanding - cheap even by rural American standards, and by far the cheapest place I stayed in Japan. If you want to see the castle in the afternoon (still under rennovation- see Trip Advisor's castle review site) and wanted to stay here for the niight, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed here for one night mainly so we could see the castle that day. We arrived early and the hotel looked after our bags for us. My comments would match the previous reviewers. I was amazed though by the pillows. I have seen almost every type of pillow torture in Japan now but these were truly unbelievable-a bag of gravel. Not just a thin layer on one side but a full bag of gravel! Thankfully they did have another softer pillow when we went looking. There is no way anyone could have slept on the ones provided.
Just as an aside the day we went to the castle another 10,498 people turned up and it really was not an enjoyable experience. in hindsight I would have preferred that we stored our bags at the railway station and continued on to Hiroshima at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed one night. They looked after our cases as we arrived early so that we could go to the Castle. The hotel is a 6 minute walk to the castle and a 5 minute walk to the station. The rooms are very clean but a bit small. The staff speak good English and are very helpful. We found our room too hot as the airconditoner would only heat. They were most apologetic and immediately moved us to another room - even though we had used the room we were allocated. A very client centric hotel. Breakfast can be pre-ordered the night before. We did not use the service. The room and hotel is very clean and the rooms have cable high speed internet.

Himeji castle was great ask for an English guide if you speak English it is a free service. The tourist information desk is at the station. They also lend out free bicycles to see the city. If you are pressed for time you can visit Himeji and then go onto Hiroshima.

The gardens were disappointing - most probably as it was winter

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

Nice location near JR station, not that far away from the castle. Clean hotel, friendly service but the room was really small. Bathroom, bed, table, chair and only few sq.ft. space! No view.

  • Liked — Location / price
  • Disliked — Not enough room for luggage
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

Stayed in the Washington Plaza in Dec 07 for one night.

Located basically on the way from the station to the castle, the hotel is convenient. Room was relatively small, and god only knows what is going on with those pillows, but overall the rest of the place was good.

We found it a good overnight base to see both Hiroshima and Himeji castle over a day and a half.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apa Hotel Himejiekikita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apa Hotel Himejiekikita

Address: 98 Higashiekimaecho, Himeji 670-0926, Hyogo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Himeji > Himeji Station
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels / Ryokan in Himeji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apa Hotel Himejiekikita 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Apa Hotel Himejiekikita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apa Hotel Himejiekikita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.