We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B, but a healthy walk off the beaten path” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nikko Minshuku Narusawa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nikko Minshuku Narusawa Lodge to your Saves list
Nikko Minshuku Narusawa Lodge
2.0 of 5 Minshuku (Japanese B&B)   |   1462-22 Tokorono, Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture 321-1421, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Charming B&B, but a healthy walk off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

The B&B is run by a delightful lady who converted her house into a B&B after her kids grew up and left home. She is very attentive and helpful (she insisted on driving us to the train station instead of just calling us a taxi). The room smelled more strongly of the tatami mats than some other places we stayed, but otherwise was nice. The location was a ~20 min walk from the train station and a ~30 min walk from the shrines and temples. Close enough for us to enjoy, but possibly farther than some people want. Taxis and tour buses clutter the streets so it's much faster to walk around town.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
21
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We had a great stay at Narusawa Lodge, the landlady, Kiyoko, made our stay very pleasant indeed. Although it's a good 15 min away from the train station Kiyoko picked us up and took us to the station with her cute Mini Cooper so we wouldn't have to carry our luggage.

Breakfast and Dinner were wonderful, and lots of care is taken in the homely decorations and facilities (there's free tea and coffee making facilities for guests and although the bathrooms and shower are shared, it never bothered us).

Highly recommended for an authentic and very affordable experience in Nikko. Kiyoko makes this an even lovelier place with her warmth.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I stayed 2 nights in Narusawa Lodge and I loved it. Everything was decorated beautifully (the owner seems to like angels and soft toys) and my room was very nice with a lovely tatami floor and a big balcony facing the mountains. I loved to sleep the sliding doors all open (with the mosquito nets on of course!) listening to the sounds of nature and having the fragrant air in. After spending time in Tokyo, Narusawa Lodge and the nature around it offered some real relaxation and rest! There were basically no traffic outside. Narusawa is about 15 minutes walk from the train stations, but I really liked the peaceful location. There is also a little onsen (hot spring bathing facility) close-by that only charges 400 yen! I highly recommend this little lodge.

In Nikko after the temples I went to the Lake Chuzenji. There were amazing waterfalls Kegon Falls and breathtakingly beautiful places. Definitely take the bus to Chuzenji Onsen from downtown Nikko!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Stayed at this friendly minshuku one night in Nikko but it was a nice, comfortable and quiet stay. We even took Bea-ta out for a nice evening stroll. Wish we had known to ask for breakfast when I booked because wandering the small town to get something to eat before 9am was not good ;)

Would recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Quite a distant to walk to lodge. Looks very old outside. Comfortable inside. It was raining heavily next day. Owner lent us umbrellas. Also when we were ready to leave for the station , we phone owner + she brought our bags to the visitor information desk @ Nikko in exchange for the umbrellas . That was a very nice gesture. Dinner + breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — food was great
  • Disliked — very far to walk if can't get a pickup or drop off
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nikko Minshuku Narusawa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko Minshuku Narusawa Lodge

Address: 1462-22 Tokorono, Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture 321-1421, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nikko Minshuku Narusawa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Rakuten so you can book your Nikko Minshuku Narusawa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikko Minshuku Narusawa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.