We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to sit down and have a meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hippari dako

Hippari dako
1011 Kamihatsuishimachi, Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture 3211401, Japan
+81 288-53-2933
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 138 restaurants in Nikko
Cuisines: Japanese, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our shop is located at the entrance of world heritage sunlight. In order to mainly entertain a foreign visitor, I take out a sunlight noted product "soy-milk-skin dish" and home cooking of Japan with a cheap price. You can also respond and enjoy vegetarians and allergy in comfort.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely place to sit down and have a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Popular with tourists, but not a tourist trap, with a lovely atmosphere and delightful staff. Conveniently located on the way to popular Shinkyo Bridge from Tobu station, you'll likely be passing it anyway. I highly recommend the yakitori (chicken skewers). Good value for a big meal and authentic Japanese cuisine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    16
    25
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A real tourist restaurant, not in the bad way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

While looking for a place to eat during our visit to Nikko, we happened to stumple upon this jewel. We had read no reviews and had no idea what to expect. We just entered the restaurant because it appealed to us.

The small restaurant is run by an older lady. She was a very kind and warm person, teaching us some japanese words while doing her best to communicate in basic english. The interior is covered with postcards, handwritten notes and even some bills. The atmosphere was just right. We were afraid it was a tourist trap when seated, but it didn't even come close. The writing on the cards was correct, a great place to eat with a lovely owner.

The food was delicious and the price wasn't over the top. I myself had the ramen, and I devoured it. We were all very happy we stumbled upon this restaurant and left with a good feeling.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't see what all the fuss is about.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Another traveller stopped me in the street and asked where this joint was. She raved about the food, ambience and reviews she had read despite not having been. I went elsewhere that night but tried here the next day. Disappointing frankly.
Food is ok but not spectacular and the cost is on a par with most other eateries in Nikko.
If it wasn't for the thousands of bits of paper covering the walls (how can it be cleaned?) no-one would take any notice of it really. Try if you want but I had far better meals in my time there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Delicious Yakatori”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a tiny place that only serves around 16 people at any one time. We were renting a cottage in Nikko and our host recommended it. We have eaten there twice in 2 days. The yakatori, mix, chicken soup and curry udon were all good. Yes, it's Nikko prices but still good value. The owners were very friendly. The food is not to Tokyo standard in my opinion but I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“come here for atmosphere but not food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I've picked this restaurant for my only meal in Nikko given it's recommended by LP as well as ranked high here.

The restaurant is easy to find. It's located on the main street, just 150meter from the famous bridge.

Restaurant is not large but decorated in very cozy way. The whole wall/ceiling of restaurant is filled with the posters from tourists visiting here, together with currency notes from different countries, namecards, photos. Anyway, u can easily tell why it's popular.

It serves Japanese cuisine but to me it's not that traditional. We ordered the recommended chicken and fried noodles (no Udon available that noon). Grilled chicken is tender served with sweet sauce with fried vegetables and rice. The noodles is fried with lots of cabbriges (the only reason I liked the dish). However, in terms of flavor, it might be the least impressive meal I've ever had in my 10day Japan trip. And as a Chinese, I can tell any Japanese elements of two disches, tastes just like oridinary Chinese dishes.

The waitress or might be the owner is a mid-aged Japanese lady, very nice and can speak some English. The guests next door from SG needs some help for the lady to call their driver to pick up. And the lady is very patient to call a few times to arrange. Maybe that's the reason for the popularity of the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippari dako also viewed

Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
 
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
 

Been to Hippari dako? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippari dako, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.