We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than anticipated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Yokosuka

Hotel New Yokosuka
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yokosuka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel New Yokosuka
Save
You added Hotel New Yokosuka to your Saves list
1-12 Honcho, Yokosuka 238-0041, Kanagawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokosuka
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Better than anticipated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Checked in at 1am after very long flight, and long taxi ride. Room is OK, 9 X 11 with a bathroom. It is all you need. Free LAN, laundry, and meal, plus 5 free drink tickets per day. first impression was not great, now 12 hours later- no issues at all. Full of Americans here. Great working hotel. Free shuttle to the base every morning. Turned out very good.

Room Tip: Any room is OK, I am on top floor, 9th- and I like it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I've stayed at the Hotel New Yokosuka and their sister facility Hotel Yokosuka four times in the past two years, each stay was several weeks. The Hotel New Yokosuka is the main hotel that handles reservations for both facilities. The staff at both hotels speak good English and have always been very helpful in making sure my accommodations matched my needs, even to the point of assisting me with obtaining reservations at other hotels when this one was full.

Both the Hotel New Yokosuka and Hotel Yokosuka provide laundry facilities and free laundry/dry cleaning service daily. A very good daily breakfast buffet with eggs to order is also provided at no extra cost at the main hotel for all hotel guests from 5:30 AM to 9:00 AM. Both hotels tend to have mostly foreign guests, primarily U.S. contractors and sailors who work at the Naval Facility, some whom are accompanied by their spouses.

Hotel New Yokosuka is the primary facility and includes a couple of tower facilities that are within a block of the hotel. The main hotel includes a large bar area that is frequented in the evening by the often rough and tumble shipyard workers and sailors staying at the hotel who are de-stressing (letting off steam) after work. The noise level in the bar can be especially loud on weekend evenings, similar to bars in the U.S. If you are not used to this it can come as a shock as you pass through the hotel lobby. The noise does not penetrate to the rooms which are generally quiet - and small compared to Western standards as are most Japanese hotels. I find even the smallest rooms to be comfortable and adequate for my needs during business trips, with Wi-Fi, refrigerator, TV and microwave ovens included. You can exchange currency in the hotel lobby without any extra fees. There are several local bars outside of the hotel that cater to the U.S. sailors and contractors with many options for different kinds of entertainment. Karaoke singers can be heard in the streets outside of the bars, especially on the weekends. If this is not what you want, then just a few blocks away are other eating and shopping options and access to the train stations.

Hotel Yokosuka is about a 5 minute bus ride away from the main hotel. This is an older building without a bar and is much quieter than the other hotel. There is a scheduled shuttle bus between the Hotel Yokosuka and the Hotel New Yokosuka several times a day, and you can request (in advance) special runs between hotels. The free breakfast is provided at the main hotel only - people staying at the Hotel Yokosuka routinely ride the shuttle bus to the main hotel to get breakfast, then either walk to the base or ride the hotel shuttle bus over to the base if they are working there that day.

I prefer staying at the Hotel Yokosuka because it is much quieter, closer to the local shops and eating places that don't cater specifically to U.S. visitors, and especially because of the hotel lobby staff which are much more friendly here than at the main hotel (I suspect this has something to do with the smaller and quieter lobby here compared to the loudness of the bar at the main hotel which impacts the lobby). I often walk to this hotel at the end of the day instead of waiting for the shuttle bus from the main hotel. Walking takes me about 20 minutes or so which can be interesting (especially if you take back alleys where the best shops seem to be) but can sometimes seem long after a full day of work.

If you are looking for a hotel in Yokosuka and are expecting a hotel equivalent to Western hotels, then this is not the hotel for you and I'd recommend looking at hotels in Yokohama and riding the train every day. But if you want friendly service close to the Yokosuka Naval Facility that routinely caters to the needs of U.S. guests, won't be surprised by the smaller Japanese-sized rooms, and you'd like to have a good free breakfast every morning along with free daily laundry service, then this hotel is a good option for short or long stays. TSB140307

Room Tip: The largest rooms go fast, so if you really need a larger room then request your reservation as earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel is designed to support American personnel supporting both the US and Japanese Navy base. If possible, do not book the standard room. It is OK by Japanese business standards but is cramped by US standards. I have stayed many at this hotel times in the last 18 years. The breakfast, included in the room charge, is an American breakfast. Good. Drink coupons, one included per day with the room, are used during the happy hour at the bar from 4PM to 10PM. Extra drink coupons can be requested at check in for additional room charge and not priced separately. When the Aircraft Carrier is in port rooms can be hard to get. Book early. Free transportation to the US base is included. Enjoy!

Room Tip: More expensive is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have had a difficult time with the service here. Having lived in Japan two years I have experienced a lot of great service, and it really shocks me that this hotel has been such an unpleasant experience. To start with I frequently go to the front desk or bar and get flatly ignored for a while before someone realizes I won't go away. Then they pretend to not understand what I am saying, even though I know I am asking something basic to hotel operations, like about the shuttle bus time, clogged toilet, or exchange rate which is clearly printed on the wall and I point to. My Japanese is limited but I don't have a hard time communicating with gestures and a few tries at various words or ways of explaining.

Here are some of the issues I have had.

1) clogged toilet that no one would come fix, despite several requests by phone over the course of a day, and then going to the front desk and refusing to leave until they came with me.

2) a broken mug of coffee at the bar area that was leaking everywhere, the bartender was standing there but refused to give me his attention, finally another guest poored the coffee that was spilling everywhere into another mug so i placed both mugs in front of the bartender and left.

3) a refusal by the front desk to give me any information, including phone numbers of surrounding businesses, directions to the train, or weather information. These are all things most hotels, especially hotels with lots of international guests do as a standard. The response I got was "we don't do that."

I have worked customer service in various fields for 10+ years and I know how to ask for things nicely and be understanding toward those who are working a job where they may not get treated well, and may not be paid well... but I really haven't been very many places where I couldn't get any of them to crack and accept that am just another human being getting along in this world.

All that being said. The maids on my floor are wonderful, and always helpful and greet me very nicely every time I see them. They really brighten my day, it's so confusing as to why the front desk staff is so resentful and unhelpful.

I wish I could leave and go somewhere else but my company is paying for this hotel and for now there aren't any other openings in the surrounding area they can put me. I am very unhappy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Within walking distance of the naval base, this is a very nice hotel with nice amenities. My room had apt sized fridge and freezer, microwave, and single burner in kitchen area.
There is a free shuttle bus, complimentary hot breakfast buffet - both US & Japanese choices. Many restaurants and stores , a mall, bars, and the train station all nearby.

I would stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed in three different rooms at Hotel New Yokosuka.

I'll start with what they all have in common. First the location of the hotel is perfect as it is only a block from the main gate of the Naval base. The breakfast and drink coupons are a great little perk. The breakfast includes eggs cooked to order, some type of meat (not cooked as much as accustomed to in US) and usually a starch like tots or fries. There is also a fruit bar, breads, cereal, and juices. The bar has a nice selection of drinks and will even allow you to BYOB. If you find the breakfast isn't for you, you can notify the front desk and they will give you additional drink tickets in place of breakfast vouchers. Also, you can use your drink tickets to redeem for liqueur bottles if you prefer to drink in your room.

There are countless options of bars and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. Across the street from the main building is a VFW post with food options that are worth checking out. There is also a 7-11 adjacent to the hotel that sells a little bit of everything. There are three train stations within walking distance, as well as several shopping centers. There is a big late night scene in Yokosuka so some noise can be expected in almost all rooms.

All the rooms require your room key to be placed in a receiver in the entryway to enable the lights to be turned on (as well as tv). Another cool feature is a panel on the night stand that controls the room lights and alarm clock and in some rooms also the heat/air. All rooms have the same bathroom layout, small but they get the job done. I especially like how the mirrors have a no-fog feature. Water pressure is intense!

The standard rooms are SMALL, but are surprisingly accommodating. All rooms have windows or a balcony. The beds are extremely firm but still comfortable.

A few nights I stayed in a double bed setup of the standard room. It was the same but with a little more room and a second bed.

The 'apartments' or residential annex is across the street from the main building and is MUCH newer. The rooms are western sized, with kitchenette, refrigerator, microwave, stove, washer/dryer all-in-one (lots of wrinkles and 4 hour wash/dry time), same bathrooms as standard rooms, a balcony, and nice size TV. There is also a large desk with great lights and plenty of electrical outlets (that stay on even when room key is not in receptor). The AC is great. The balcony was a great feature and I spent plenty of time on it.

The staff were very polite and helpful. The front desk offers currency exchange. There is a shuttle that will bring you anywhere on base in the mornings at various times.

I hope to stay here for all future visits.

Room Tip: Stay in the residential annex, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If staying off base in Yokosuka, this is the choice. The rooms range from tiny to spacious, though, which will affect the quality of your stay, and the quality of your bed as well, it seems. The staff is superb, very helpful and friendly, as you'll come to expect in Japan. The breakfast is the best of any hotel in the area. The daily busses to take you on base are an enormous benefit as well. I recommend this hotel without reservation (no pun intended!), but would remind you to that the room size and which building you stay in does matter. Location could not be better for those going to the shipyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New Yokosuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Yokosuka

Address: 1-12 Honcho, Yokosuka 238-0041, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokosuka
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokosuka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Yokosuka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.