We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room at affordable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama

Save Saved
You added Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Yamashitacho Naka-ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 231-0023, Japan (Gu)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 91 hotels in Yokohama
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great room at affordable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This room is spacious compared to the others in Japan. Take a look at the photos
Clean, spacious, modern and they even have a bath tub.
Not those partition kind of bath tubs, it's the kind you can soak in.
I would have expected to pay more for such a room.
Walking distance to Chinatown, around 5 mins from Nihon Odori station. 15 to 20mins if you want to explore Cosmo world.

Will come back to JAL if i visit Yokohama again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    291
    67
    9
    7
See reviews for
107
98
92
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We only had one night here as we were catching a cruise in the morning, for which the hotel is great as you can easily walk to the port.
The rooms are clean and tidy, but our's was quite small and you wouldn't want to spend too many nights here or you'll be falling over your luggage!
It seemed quite well located and everything, including the pleasant dock area, was within easy walking distance.
There's not really too much one can say about the hotel - it's not overflowing with character, nor is it rubbish, it's just a 2.4 hotel that does the job. To be honest, I'd put it in the GOOD category, but as VERY GOOD is the only option (and AVERAGE would be harsh!), that has to be my rating!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This JAL hotel is inner street - so I recommend you to get their by taxi.
After I landed in Haneda airport, I took limousine bus then tranfer to taxi. (Please make sure how you get there). Room size was appropriate for 1 person and neat & tidy. Only local broadcast were available, no overseas channel.
It was very ironic that they offer far better breakfast than other two giant hotels I stayed later (Shinagawa Ekimae Keikyu Inn, Shinagawa Prince Hotel) which was nutritiousl balanced.
For dinner, you can go to Chinatown and taste bunch of different Chinese food. Only 3~5mins walk required!
And on the other side, there was a port and bayside walk which was romantic for the couples. I also enjoyed cruise dinner there that takes you two and half hours return trip on the water. Glamourous!

Room Tip: Some rooms' window is facing another building right in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The first hotel in which we stayed in Japan (for 2 nights); Expedia had given us a very good price. We got there by subway, even though it was in our very first hours in Japan, at night, after a long flight (the excellent Minato Mirai line, which we got to know very well); the room was small but extremely well-designed and the personnel was very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and we enjoyed our two days in this hotel. The clientele was mostly Japanese and Asian. We tried to go back to it two weeks later, after a dismal experience in Tokyo, but it was completely full. For good reason, it is right next to Nihon Odori subway, to Chinatown, and to the Bay.

Room Tip: Try to go high and ask a room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

price is merely 6800JPY per room per night. Super clean room and great location in town. walking distance is 2 mins to metro station and 5 mins to port. Breakfast is great with Japanese rice, salmon, soup etc. This hotel is highly recommened for those travel in yokohama.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uetikon am See, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is in the city of Yokohama, near the station Nihon Odori from the Minatomirai Line. In 2 -3 minutes you are at the station and then in another 10 minutes you are a Yokohama station.
The location is nice, as you are next to Chinatown, the shopping district, Yokohama station and the sea shore. This locatio would also be a good base for tourists.
The rooms in the hotel are clean, functioanl but rather small. There is also a restaurant in the hotel but not many other amneties.
Internet in the rooms is working fast, unfortunatly in the rooms only on fix line and no WiFi. The personal is willing to help you and speaks quite good English.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while attending a conference at the PACIFICO Yokohama convention center. We were able to get a fantastic rate via Expedia.com by booking several months out, and were very impressed by the value we received. It met and exceeded our expectations. The room was immaculately clean, very modern, and comfortable. The bathroom even has a heated mirror that won't fog and an electronic toilet that keeps the seat warm. Prior to booking, we had read a few reviews that described the rooms as "tiny." In our opinion, this is not the case. Yes, the standard rooms are not overly spacious, but for business travel the room is more than sufficient. The staff members were all friendly and able to handle all of our questions and requests.

While the hotel is not located at the convention center itself, the metro ride and the walk only takes about 20 minutes and in the event of rain is covered almost the entire way. We didn't have much time for sightseeing, but the close proximity to China Town and a few nice parks allowed us to enjoy a little bit of the city.

Room Tip: We got a corner room on the 10th floor and found it to be quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama

Also Known As:
Jal City Kannai Hotel Yokohama
Address: 72 Yamashitacho Naka-ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 231-0023, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Gu , Kannai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Yokohama
#15 Family Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.