We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money, Great Staff, Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plum/ Cosmo Y

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plum/ Cosmo Y to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plum/ Cosmo Y
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-9-1 Kitasaiwai, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 220-0004, Japan (Nishi-ku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 91 hotels in Yokohama
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Value for Money, Great Staff, Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Although rooms are small in size, they are comfortable and clean. Very friendly staff. Great location - short 15 minutes walk from Station. 24 hrs convenience store, Jonathan's restaurant next door. Wifi would have been preferred (rooms are equipped with high speed wired internet). Value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
8
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay. I stayed one night with my spouse on the 9th floor. The lobby is gorgeous and every floor was pleasantly designed and coordinated. So were the rooms. Four pillows on a double bed--a first for me in my 40 years in Japan and the bed was very comfortable. Also, it was a true non-smoking room. There was no smell of smoke whatsoever. It is in a good location for central Yokohama but about a 20 minute drive to Chinatown. The buffet breakfast was very fine and not overpriced. Parking was inexpensive and nearby. We really liked the place. Especially the lobby....If it had wi-fi it would be perfect. We will definitely stay there again whenever we return to Yokohama.

Room Tip: Ask for a designer room if you are going as a couple especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Although the room was small by western standards it was more than adequate by Japanese standards. The room was well appointed, attractively furnished and clean. Robes, slippers and very cozy bedding are all standard at this hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very good and when we had to leave before serving hours a sack lunch was provided! I was not sure weather to rate this average or very good, I went to the very good because of the professional and kind service offered by Reception Staff; Ms Ito. Ms Ito was very helpful and available around the clock; her English is excellent and she made a big effort to be helpful in every regard. The room was a bit stuffy and temperature was hard to control but all in all was nice. Not too far from the train station, anywhere in the Tokyo area is available in about an hour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Why I chose Hotel Plumm / Cosmo Y for my 1 night stayover in Yokohama

1. Accessibility to Yokohama Station (major transport hub with plenty of shopping/department stores/shops). It is about 10 to 15 min from the train station (west exit). Seemed far from 1st instant but managed to locate the hotel with help from passer-bys. Not too difficult to find as it is just into the corner street once you spot E.A.S Hamabowl (building).

2. Unique Designer's Room - unlike standard hotel rooms, their designer's room offers funky interior design with pink walls and pop up art. The pictures on their website (and those I am posting) are pretty much self-explainatory. Room was comfortable, with adequate space for luggage. And well maintained despite being built in 1990.

It is on the quieter side of the Yokohama Station area but not too bad a choice for those who would like a comfortable hotel that does not break your budget too much. It would be good if hotel could have a English version of their website so that we can make our reservations direct in English. And also wifi at the hotel lobby at the very least.

Room Tip: Suggest to pay a little more to stay in the designer themed rooms. Something different from the typi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Plum/ Cosmo Y? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plum/ Cosmo Y

Address: 2-9-1 Kitasaiwai, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 220-0004, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Nishi-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 91 hotels in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plum/ Cosmo Y 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Rakuten, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN and Venere so you can book your Hotel Plum/ Cosmo Y reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plum/ Cosmo Y, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.