We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yokohama Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Yokohama Royal Park Hotel to your Saves list
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
2-2-1-3 Minatomirai, Nishi-Ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 220-8173, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Dubai
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel. We stayed here for a wedding nearby and had this hotel chosen for us so had no input. The fact that the reception starts very high up means all rooms have a great view. Unfortunately we were not on the side that had a view of the wheel but still had very good views. We were constantly told Japanese hotel rooms were tiny but this was a decent size and we had no complaints.

If you go to the Sky bar the views are great, although it's frowned upon to take photos from the windows as others are dining there and we were told not to by the staff which is a reasonable request and you can take pictures from the window next to the entrance. There is a cover charge to go in though and drinks are pretty pricey compared to nearby places.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    376
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
252
326
49
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have stayed here twice for work and this hotel is very comfortable and convenient. It is located in a large mall so you have endless options for all types of restaurants (fast food to fancy) , shopping, markets, convenience stores, etc. There is also a subway stop inside the shopping center so transportation is very easy. The rooms are very large by Japanese standards and the views are quite something. The neighborhood is nice as I went running in the morning along the shore bay with nice parks and recreation areas. The internet worked well and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: The corner rooms had enormous bathrooms with separate tubs and showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed for one night and particularly enjoyed the great panoramic views from the 59th floor. The rooms are of a good size ( or very good for Japanese standards). The decoration looks more Art Deco than contemporary and in my opinion Contemporary would fit better that style of rooms with panoramic views.

The breakfast at the 70th floor is naturally highlighted with. a great view. Yet the buffet in my opinion was ok but lacked many things ( cheese, charcuterie, different bread rolls ). It is probably not addressed to westerner yet it is a pity but the rest of the offer was very good.

Would I stay here next time ... Absolutely as I know what to expect from the place and the overall was very good

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Hotel is perfect for a weekend coupled with a day trip to Kamakura. Hotel is centrally located to Chinatown, museums, high-end shopping and restaurants! As for the hotel: rooms are nice, spacious, and bathrooms are clean! Lobby is very elegant with stunning night views of the ferris wheel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

As other reviewers have said time and time again, this hotel is about the million dollar view... so rather than sing the same old song, here are some things tha stood out for me, for better or for worse:

- Hotel definitely feels like it was designed in the 1990's. The Landmark Tower opened in 1993, and it wouldn't surprise me if this hotel hasn't been updated since. The hallways are covered in beige and pink, and the bathroom is accented with a gawdy covered marble. This might match some tastes, but not mine, and it definitely isn't on the same current wave as other luxury hotels with clean, dark, woody tones.

- Bathroom is on the larger side for Japan. From the pictures posted here, it seems some bathrooms have windows right by the bathtub, but ours didn't.

- Opt for a plan with breakfast (it's relatively expensive a la carte), and go as early as you can, especially on weekends. Like the other hotels in the area (Bay Tokyu, Intercon) the breakfast buffet has a tasty spread of Japanese, Asian and Western dishes with the added bonus of a spectacular view.

- The lobby, while not on a high floor, has a nice central meeting area with a decent amount of seating and a rare view of a former dried-out dock.

Overall, I would probably lean toward the Bay Tokyu (former Pan Pacific) if I had to choose a hotel in the Minato Mirai area, but I would definitely consider the Royal Park if the price was right.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Ive stayed around japan before but this is my first time to this city. The tallest building in Japan did not dissapoint -i have spent hours taking pics. Normal tourist attractions are tacky elsewhere in the world but not here - first class all the way .. Located in a stunning part of the city its a must see ..
I will be back !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Had the breakfast buffet, it was very good, western and Japanese breakfast items. Room is great for any country but expecially big for Japan. Corner room is best , higher the better. Great location and mall shops a bonus . Great 2 days here visiting Yokohoma. Worth it.

Room Tip: room 506 or any corner room great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yokohama Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yokohama Royal Park Hotel

Address: 2-2-1-3 Minatomirai, Nishi-Ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 220-8173, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 603
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Yokohama Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yokohama Royal Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.