We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury alternative to Tokyo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu to your Saves list
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-3-7 Minatomirai Nishi-ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 220-8543, Japan (Nishi-ku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Luxury alternative to Tokyo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Only 30 mins by train to shinagawa station in Tokyo, located overlooking Yokohama bay this is a high end luxury hotel and the attention to detail and service levels from the staff really reflect this.

We had a room on the 24th floor overlooking the bay and big wheel and the general downtown Yokohama area, impressive view from a curved picture window.

The in room amenities were first class, the bed one of the comfiest I've ever slept in, and it's 5 mins from an overland rail station for those JR pass users, and on top of a subway line.

Try this for a luxury alternative to more expensive ones in Tokyo, Yokohama has plenty to offer in itself, and is a quick train ride away from the heart of Tokyo!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    343
    50
    13
    6
See reviews for
269
266
54
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very good hotel with friendly staff and clean and adequate rooms, breakfast on Sunday after 10 was a but below expectations.
But! We had a company paid gala dinner at Pacific room on 25th floor. Unbelievable good, French style cuisine. Excellent service, wonderful view, just perfect.
6 stars for gala dinner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The service and the surrounding environment of this hotel were marvelous. We stayed one night the day before our departure from the HANEDA airport. The hotel is highly recommended at least with three features:

>Location: The hotel is stationed just right center of the Yokohama bay area, from which you can enjoy the major monuments of the city in a walking distance such as Yamashita (bay) park, the China town, etc.

>Accessibility: it’s just 3 minute walking distance from the nearby ‘MINATO-MIRAI’ station. The hotel is one of the destinations of the bus to and from the HANEDA airport (30 minutes) and the NARITA airport (90 minutes). Although booking is required, you can also use it without a reservation if there are vacant seats on the spot.

>Service: All the hotel staff were well trained and behaved professionally and spoke good English, and most importantly we felt a kind of enthusiasm to make our stay more comfortable. For instance, we had requested the non-smoking room with a good view when we booked the room. Looked like no such room was available at the time we arrived, so they upgraded it to the 25th floor room which was just splendid! Also, every request we made from our room was responded in maximum 5 minutes, which helped us a lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

a great hotel, with all facilities close by ; helpful staff & an atmosphere like home,with a veiw of the ferris wheel to boot, you can walk to the harbour,take in a trip to the ramen(noodle) museum, or take in some jazz music at the blue rooms cafe located near the redbrick warehouse. great when the weather is fine.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a very good location with fine views over "Cosmo world". At least on that side of the hotel. I've never been put on the other side. Large, comfortable rooms with all the amenities of a very good Japanese hotel. Unfortunately, the Tosca restaurant appears to be closed until July 22nd. I was really looking forward to a nice meal. This was the only hotel restaurant opened until 10:00, so eat early if you want to eat nearby. Otherwise the queen's square has plenty. Try garlic Jose's for something different. Not fine dining but unique. Transport is easy just enter Queen's square and down to the nearest line. Two stops from Yokohama Station.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in March 2013 and was lucky enough to have seen the Cherry Blossoms in full bloom.
The location is very strategic. No need to get out of the street to connect to the shops, restaurants or offices in Queen's Square or Landmark Tower.
My bedroom has a good view of the Yokohama Bay and towering Ferris Wheel. It is a bit of a downside at night when you open the sliding doors to get fresh air as the area in the Ferris Wheel area can be a bit noisy. You can also hear some traffic even late at night. So perhaps best to close the sliding door.
It also has a balcony which is good, can drink coffee whilst enjoying the view.

Gym opens late in the morning so forget about early morning work-out.

Staff are friendly. They even kept my wife's lotion that she left behind when we checked out and we managed to collect it with no issues at all.

Beds are ok and well kept but after two weeks it can get boring.

Hotel is 5 mins walk to Minato Mirai subway, 10 mins walk to Sakuragicho Station or another 12 mins walk to Yokohama Station which is a major train station, about 40 mins to Tokyo.

The hotel is gateway to many shops, restaurants, places to see in Yokohama like Noodle Museum, Red Brick Building, museums and a 25 mins (or 10 mins by train) to the Chinatown, considered one of the world's biggest.

Never ate in the hotel as there are heaps of selection in Queen's Square, Landmark and Collette Mare.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

To begin, it's easy to get here. A shuttle bus runs from Narita directly to the hotel throughout the day. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Staff are extremely helpful. Most importantly, the location is perfect. You are a short walk to the water and surrounded by beautiful parks. Shopping options are found in every direction. Great restaurants are in abundance. China Town and the baseball stadium are within walking distance. I have stayed here multiple times and would not hesitate to do so again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ferris wheel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu

Address: 2-3-7 Minatomirai Nishi-ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 220-8543, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Nishi-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yokohama
#1 Family Hotel in Yokohama
#1 Spa Hotel in Yokohama
#2 Business Hotel in Yokohama
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Yokohama
Yokohama Pan Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.