We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking room - yuck” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel MyStays Yokohama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel MyStays Yokohama to your Saves list
Hotel MyStays Yokohama
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-81 Sueyoshicho, Yokohama 231-0055, Kanagawa Prefecture (Gu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smoking room - yuck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I know that the booking website I used says "Please note: Preferences and requests cannot be guaranteed", but when I am offered a choice of Smoking and Non-smoking rooms and I choose Non-smoking, I think of this as a requirement, not a mere preference. I NEVER book a room which is listed on the website as Smoking, so for a hotel to give us a Smoking room (on a Smoking floor) despite our booking is a form of cheating.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-yokohama, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Yokohama, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for staying Hotel Mystays Yokohama.

We are very sorry that we could not offer you a non-smoking room at that time.
We used to offer rooms that were most available at that time. It was a request bases. Since we have more smoking rooms than non-smoking, we could not response your request.

Recently we are able to offer you to choose a smoking or non-smoking room from some reservation sites. Therefore, if you choose a non-smoking, you will certainly get a non-smoking room.

Thank you very much for your comments on Hotel Mystays Yokohoma. we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to here in the future.

Sincerely,

Nanae Aikawa
Front desk clerk, Hotel Mystays Yokohama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    72
    39
    5
    1
See reviews for
51
11
50
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My family got 2 rooms at a very affordable price. Rooms include 2 beds, TV, refrigerator, bathtub. You can also use their humidifier free of charge. The place is very convenient & can be easily accessed & easy to spot (just in case your sense of direction is not so good like mine). Outside, just a few steps away is the pay parking & a bar. Cross the other side of the street, there exists many ramen shops and 2 streets behind is a kombini (convenient store 7-11). No need to worry about food (lol!). The hotel also has a restaurant & laundry service. A few blocks away is the train station (Yokohama & Koganecho Station). Everything is at walking distance. No free wi-fi, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-yokohama, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Yokohama, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for selecting Hotel Mystays Yokohama for your family vacation to Yokohama.
It gives us great delight to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Currently, we have set up the WiFi at the lobby and in the room.
we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Mystays Yokohama.

Sincerely,

Nanae Aikawa
Front Desk Staff Hotel Mystays Yokohama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights during a work trip. The rooms was reasonably cheap and the hotel is not too hard to find (just change train once after you arrive at yokohama station and you will be right in front of the hotel). The room was ridiculously spacious, especially after spending 3 days in tokyo (although they bumped me up to a double room, so I don't know how big the single rooms are). Also, even though there is no wifi, there was an ethernet cable in the room and the internet was free. The only downside of the hotel is the location, since it is quite far from down town (count 30 to 45 minutes of walk every morning and evening). I also didn't get to try the breakfast. Except from that I the hotel was really excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed here with some students from Australia, I found it a great hotel. Such a good location, and staff so patient and helpful with my many queries. There are some English speaking reception staff as well. Fresh, varied items for breakfast. The twin/double rooms are more spacious and comfortably appointed than other business hotels such asToyoko Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotel is barely a minute walk away from Keikyu Train's 京浜急行電鉄 Koganecho Station 黄金町 (KK40), which is 3 stops away (150 yen) from Yokohama station where you can change to a bunch of other train lines. Just cross the bridge once you exit the station and you'll see the hotel building. There are some convenient stores, a supermarket, some shops and restaurants within walking distance.

There are some minor scratches on the wall / in the bathroom if you take a closer look, but the decor is quite modern and nice. The single room is fairly small but slightly bigger than another hotel I stayed at in Tokyo within the same price range. Wired internet is free and fast, but there's no wifi (not even in the lobby). Maps are available in the lobby and the staff are fairly helpful.

I booked through a booking site but found out later that if you book directly on the hotel site (in Japanese), it's 1000 yen cheaper!

Room Tip: if you book directly on the hotel site (in Japanese), it's cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed there to watch the fifa club world cup. It's very clean, staff is very kind, good location, just a few minutes from downtown yokohama. It has everything you need for an amazing value. Great breakfest too! Couldn't be a better choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed here for two nights alone. I thought that it was safe and clean. It was also very easy to find. From Koganecho station you just exit out the left side and cross the bridge and the hotel is right there. The breakfast is also very good. The rooms are small and a bit cramped but the room is clean and new.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel MyStays Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Yokohama

Address: 4-81 Sueyoshicho, Yokohama 231-0055, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Gu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Yokohama 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel MyStays Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel MyStays Yokohama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.