We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-101-1 Sakuragicho, Naka-ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 231-0062, Japan (Nishi-ku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Room was quite small as walking space and luggage to unpack is quite a challenge when comes to 2 person for a double bedroom. But the location is really good as accessible to many places within Yokohama.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    185
    92
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
66
82
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was here for 1 night as part of a business trip. The location at the harbor of Yokohama was fantastic and very convenient for my trip. The hotel itself seemed somewhat dated - some peeling paint, not as bright lights (in my opinion). Room was small - not atypical of Japan - but it was fine for me. There was only one electrical outlet that was available in the room, which was a little annoying since I was trying to recharge several items (phone, tablet, etc.) at once. Overall, not a bad stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here four nights during a recent visit. Was a little hard to find the main entrance although the building itself is obvious due to its size and location right in front of the Sakuragicho train station entrance. The trick is that the lobby is not at ground level as many hotels but on fifth floor.
Tiny lobby and front desk, (even for Tokyo) had to wait in line ages, felt sorry for the two staff as they were trying their best to check in guests quickly and comfortably while maintaining repose and order. Maybe busy period but I think all the time is busy here as I explain later, I was a few hours early and as expected my room was not ready but they did kindly take my bags and stow in safe area. I came back at the prescribed time to find still a queue but after some time was checked in and proceeded to room.
Wow what a view, overlooking the Yokohama Bay and can see the big wheel and roller coasters and little people all walking to work, night time was even better with all lights. The room was good, quality fitout, small but not tiny like some in Tokyo, clean and had all the usual coffee, tea and water. Fantastic quality bed linen and pillows, quite room with no noticeable noise.
Great location, was able to walk to convention centre, although it is 1-2 km away you can walk there undercover in any weather due to the linked shopping arcades that form a corridor for all of the people who work in the near buy office complexes. There are many near buy cafes, restaurants and bars but the best thing is the restaurants in the Washington complex of the hotel, all of the five floors underneath the hotel house eateries, cafes and restaurants. The more expensive but way nicer is by the lobby and faces out over the bay. The lower floors have variety of cuisine from Japanese, Korean, Chinese, American and others.
I would stay here again but do not plan to spend time other than sleeping and showering in the room.

Room Tip: Although I did not request a room overlooking the harbour it would be worthwhile especially if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Sakuragicho Washington Hotel is not bad, especcially for the price. The room is typical for a Japanese hotel - small and cramped, but comfortable. I stayed in a room with a double bed, and there was barely any room to move around, but then again, a hotel room is just a place to sleep. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the view (Ferris wheel) was great.
The bathroom has virtually no shelve space for your toiletries, plus there was this strange odor that was hard to get rid off. The shower was nice, powerful and hot.
The railway station is right opposite the hotel and from there you can catch a direct train to Tokyo, or go one stop further west to go to the Yokohama Stadium.

If you hate the smell of smoke, be warned that on the 5th floor (close to the restaurant) is a smoking room, and it is the first thing you smell when you get out of the elevator.

Overall, a good hotel for a low price.

Hints: The hotel "starts" on the 5th floor. On the 2nd floor is a Starbucks for your coffee needs. On the 5th floor is a restaurant (not part of the hotel) that serves breakfast. On floors 2 through 4 are several restaurants, including a TGI Fridays where you can enjoy a good beer. Warning - the bar is the smoking section.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The room was extremely clean, accommodations excellent! Although the room was small, it was comfortable. I found if I left my luggage standing in the entry way, and opened it when I needed something, I had plenty of room. The bed was very comfy, no complaints at all!
The hotel is right across the street from the Sakuragicho station, along with many shops and restaurants.
If I ever get lucky enough to return to Japan, this is where I would stay again. I highly recommend the Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Washington Hotel in Yokohama, Japan was a great hotel for me on my recent business trip to Yokohama Japan. As with most Japanese hotels the room was not big, but it was very serviceable. Unlike when i am on holidays if it is just a short stay all i want is a clean room with a comfortable bed, good bathroom facilities and a remote for the TV. This hotel had all of the above even though there was no English channels on the TV. (Watched a few in-house movies). The hotel staff's English was OK in general and they were extremely willing to please in any way they could.
If you're looking for 5 star luxury then this is not the hotel for you, but if what you want is a clean hotel room and somewhere to put your head for a reasonable price then you cannot do much better....well that's what i think for what is worth .

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the 11th floor as one guest i bumped in said their room was noisy on the 11t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Modern tower hotel adjacent to the station, shops and the harbourside. Rooms are small but well appointed and clean. The view from bay-side rooms is superb. Though not part of the hotel itself the building houses several good quality restaurants. A ten minute brisk but interesting walk to the convention centre. Yokohama harbourside is very nicely presented and a great place to explore.

Room Tip: Go for one overlooking the bay .... views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel

Address: 1-101-1 Sakuragicho, Naka-ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 231-0062, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Nishi-ku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 553
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.