We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-101-1 Sakuragicho, Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0062, Kanagawa Prefecture (Noge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 stars 360 Reviews
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is the part of the trip we tried to save some money on and opted for a smaller, less luxurious room .... and i am completely OK with that. The room was small. It was a bit outdated. It didn't have the nicest lobby .... but it was OK. Why on earth would I want to spend time in my room? There is a big beautiful city out there! I just want somewhere clean and safe to lay my head down at night .... and this fit the bill very nicely.

The best feature is that it is literally just 3 or 4 minutes from the Sakuragicho train station (which is on the JR Line).

There was a little bit of confusion when we checked in (two men - one bed) but they got over it when we whipped out the credit card. Money Talks.

Not So Good: No wi-fi. Not even at the Starbucks downstairs. We were there for just 3 days so we grinned and bared it. In retrospect it may have been a good thing. There were no interruptions in our time there ... but it would have been nice to be able to check email.

They would've gotten 5 stars if they'd had wi-fi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay. You'll get a spectacular view of the Ferris Wheel and the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    194
    95
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
71
85
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed 1 night in this hotel and had no surprises. Clean, tiny old fashioned rooms with "system bathroom" made of one piece of plastic make no difference to tens of hotels in Japan I stayed before. Few good things I would like to mention include location (Sakuragicho station), pleasant view from the window (at night it's beautiful and actually one of postcard views of Yokohama), 24h open Family Mart next to hotel reception, good restaurants in the same building and Starbucks on the terrace. Price was 8000JPY per night and for this area it's a good deal.
Breakfast was below expectations. Even I can make myself eat japanese breakfast, still it was not tasty. I think Japanese were of the same opinion:-)
By the way, checkout is 12:00, which is definitely a good thing, while other hotels ask you to leave room at 10:00.

Room Tip: Buy food for breakfast in FamilyMart store located next to hotel reception and save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The rooms are really small. Like there is not more than a suitcase width beyond the bed (I will post pictures).

There is no WiFi in the hotel. There is internet with wired connection, but it is 2012, who has a wired connection? How do you hook that up to your phone?

Business travelers definitely like basic comforts--a reasonable space, connectivity. the hotel definitely comes up short on the basics.

That said, there are some great restaurants in the hotel's mall, even if the breakfast is just average. The "convenience store" is pretty well stocked too

On the upside, the views of the harbor and the Ferris wheel are terrific.

Staff could use some English lessons and no business center either!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel for a good room, iif you have to stay here get a room overlooking the Ferri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

First room was saturated by cigarette smoke. It was in the curtains, walls, bed spread, carpet, etc. Nasty gross. The staff, after much duress, finally moved us to another room. My guess is it was an "I'll get you back room," as it was smokey, but also as noisy as it gets. Bring earplugs. China town in Yokohama is PRICELESS!! It was very cool. You can rent bicycles and ride there, but the bicycles have to be back by 5 unless you rent them for the night. Yokohama is really really cool. :)
If you get a chance, stay at the Prince Hotel in Shinjiku or Remm Hotel in Akihabara (electric town).

Room Tip: Do a little research and you will be able to find a nice hotel in Yokohama. It is a fun and fascinat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night and it was a comfortable experience. My room was compact and clean. There is a convenience store, Family Mart, within the premises which makes it great for picking up a quick snack. There was a great view of the city from the restaurant and a coffee machine ensured that I got the best cappucino I have had in Japan.

Room Tip: It would be great to get a bay facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed for three nights Aug-2011 on a short business trip. Location is really great and well connected to local sight seeing as well as Train stations.. Landmark Tower is close by.. Took a non-smoking room still there was some smell but tolerable.. Nice restaurants around the hotel and will stay again for a short business visit ...

Room Tip: If flying from Narita AIRPORT take the AIRPORT LIMOSIUNE Service to YOKOHAMA Station and then take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night in June. It was in a good location, with many eateries close by. The staff at the hotel spoke English, and there was even a convenience store right in the hotel. The hotel was also across the street from the JR train station.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel

Address: 1-101-1 Sakuragicho, Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0062, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Noge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 553
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.