We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel in the heart of Yokohama” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yokohama Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Yokohama Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers to your Saves list
Yokohama Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3-23 Kitasaiwai, Nishi-Ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 220-8501 , Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel in the heart of Yokohama”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My work requires me to travel to Yokohama every couple of months and I almost always stay at this hotel. The only times I didn't stay at this hotel was when it was sold out :)

Probably because of the frequency of my visits, the staff remembers and treats as if a member of the family has returned back. This is on top of the exceptional courtesy that transcends the Japanese culture!

Location wise, it is less than 5 minutes walk from the Yokohama train station via the underpass that also serves as a busy shopping mall. Plenty of eating & shopping options there. The bus station is at the ground level.

If you have stayed in typical Japanese hotels you'll find the rooms really spacious, though similar rooms in US will likely be bigger. The hotel is going through renovations (though you will hardly notice it) starting with the floors at the top. While the renovated floors/rooms are great, the ones that are not are still very comfortable.

One thing you won't find in the rooms are irons or ironing boards (apparently not common in Japanese hotels). However, room service will happily bring one to you though you are expected to leave it outside the room as soon as you are done so the next guest can use it. It seems there is only one per floor.

They provide newspapers in English, Japanese and Chinese. There is a Citibank ATM at the ground floor.

This hotel has about 26 floors, with guest rooms available only from floors 8 (or so) and higher. The floors below are dedicated to health clubs, restaurants, etc. The service is exceptional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Bay. Doesn't hurt to check if it includes free internet, acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    260
    83
    16
    9
See reviews for
103
87
97
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The location is perfect, right across from Yokohama station, easily accessible underground from the station. It worked great for the business meeting I had arranged. The lobby cafe was fine, but somewhat noisy. Japanese restaurant in the hotel was fantastic and a treat for clients.

Hotel room was small, normal for Japan but not so for a Sheraton. Hectic, busy lobby and staff was not helpful. Took forever to retrieve our luggage that had been shipped ahead. Every small service cost extra. They even charged an extra hotel service fee to set up a takkyubin package, on top of the shipping fee.

Specifically requested a non-smoking room well in advance, but the first room they gave us was obviously not so, even still had the ashtrays. Front desk staff were not at all understanding about medical condition that would not tolerate a smoking room, they advertise non-smoking floors, I specifically requested it, and it was still a very difficult situation for the front desk staff to handle. I've dealt with the non-smoking room issue in Japan for 18 years, but this hotel was the most difficult to manage.

So, if the smoking room issue is not a problem for you, enjoy this hotel! I'll continue to use it for meetings, but will not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a week. I am a platinum member, so I was greeted at the club level. The staff spoke English and were very helpful. My room was on the small side, but had everything I needed included bathrobe, heated toilet seat, and all the toiletry amenties. I also had free internet and breakfast. If I ever go back for a business trip to this location, I would defnitely stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Good hotel, neat and tidy.Staff and service are excellent as is the location just across from the main train station. No pool but the gym is adequate. Breakfast is pleasant. Overall a satisfactory business hotel with few frills.Rooms and facilities not as modern as most Asian hotels and fairly small (but no smaller than other Japanese hotels).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

This must be one of the only "upscale" hotels in the world that tells you to come back after check in time of 3pm when they have rooms ready in five minutes, also one of the only hotels that charges extra for 2 people as opposed to 1, an extra 5000 yen! Rooms are very dated and if you bring anything larger than a briefcase you will be required to step over it every time you go to the bathroom or out the door.

I am a spg platinum member and the club lounge is the poorest I have experienced, the food on offer if nothing more than some potato salad looking item and that's it, I suppose that's why I've never seen anybody else in the lounge, the hotel has potential to be great as the location is better than most in Yokohama but the Sheraton needs a complete overhaul starting with retraining the staff and renovation on the rooms, even if your a spg member you shouldn't stay here as your unlikely to get upgraded and the lounge isn't worthwhile, I suggest the royal park hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011 via mobile

Ive stayed here a few times and am currently here now. The rooms at least on the 16 th floor are starting to show their age. Pealing wallpaper, old carpets. Not a bad hotel though and very convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

just a step away from the Yokohama JR Station is this magnificent hotel - where one is always a guest. In true Japanese style, they remember the finer details of almost every guest - the preferences, the small touches and gestures. Its a large hotel but one is always made to feel welcome.

The variety in the restaurants - specially the buffet at the Compass could be a bit more interesting.

Room Tip: Select a higher floor room on the Bay Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yokohama Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yokohama Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers

Address: 1-3-23 Kitasaiwai, Nishi-Ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 220-8501 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yokohama
#9 Business Hotel in Yokohama
#10 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
#11 Family Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yokohama Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Yokohama Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yokohama Bay Sheraton Hotel
Sheraton Yokohama
Yokohama Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yokohama Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.