We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fundamentals; big MISS on incidentals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Yokohama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Yokohama to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Yokohama
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-1 Yamashita-cho Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-8526, Kanagawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 stars 294 Reviews
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good fundamentals; big MISS on incidentals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We would like to rate this hotel as perfect; the major points are perfect. But, on two aspects, the hotel fell short big time.

The more important one is the management's familiarity with Yamato KuroNeko, the takyuubin service that the hotel contracts with exclusively for package (that is luggage) delivery. Our six-night stay in the Tokyo-Yokohama area was to be divided into five nights at Hotel Monterey Yokohama, plus a last night in Japan at another hotel before leaving Japan via Narita International Airport a day after checking out of Hotel Monterey Yokohama. Before we left the United States, we corresponded with Hotel Monterey Yokohama by email about sending almost all of our luggage to Narita International Airport on the day we checked out, so that we could travel very light (a single overnight bag) for our last 24 hours in Japan. We were assured that we could send our luggage to the airline ticket counter at the time of our 11:00 a.m. check out Saturday and pick it up at the departure lobby at Narita for our 3:00 p.m. Sunday flight to the United States. Just to make sure, we telephoned from the United States before our departure to Japan, and we confirmed the arrangement again at the hotel's front desk when we checked in on Monday, and we were assured that we could send our luggage ahead on Saturday morning via Yamato KuroNeko to Narita for a Sunday afternoon flight to the United States.

When we checked out on Saturday morning, however, we were told that, although our luggage PROBABLY would get to Narita on time, Yamato KuroNeko could not GUARANTEE that the delivery would get to Narita for our Sunday afternoon flight. Of course, if our luggage did not arrive at Narita before our flight's departure, we would have to abandon it in Japan. and forfeit it and all of its contents That was unacceptable, so we ended up carting several pieces of luggage with us, through several transfer points, on that last day, which put a major crimp on our plans for our last 24 hours in Japan. This problem was not the fault of Yamato KuroNeko; it was a direct result of Hotel Monterey Yokohama giving us the wrong information -- on three separate occasions -- when we asked about the takyuubin service. That is something about which the hotel's management SHOULD know, and MUST know, before advising its guests and giving them false assurances.

The second shortcoming has to do with the hotel's general information about access to the property. The hotel advises guests who are connecting through Yokohama Station (as all guests who arrive other than by cruise ship almost certainly will do) to take the Minato Mirai Subway Line to the Motomachi-Chukagai station (which is the end of the line), from the north exit of which it is a three-minute walk to the hotel. That, too, is bad advice.

The Minato Mirai Subway Line is a shiny new underground rail line in the City of Yokohama, and it is fast and clean. As the newest rail line in the city, however, it is FIVE levels below ground level in Yokohama. The time spent navigating to the subway line from within Yokohama Station, descending to the subway line via multiple escalators (or elevators) then walking to other escalators, etc., added to the time ascending five levels from the line at Motomachi-Chukagai Station, will exceed the time riding horizontally on the trains themselves. In addition, after passing through the exit turnstiles at Motomachi-Chukagai Station, one must walk the full two-block length of an underground passageway northward to Exit #1 before climbing a stairway (no escalator there) to the street. (Taking the same line northward to Yokohama Station, the line's signage at the north exit to Yokohama Station is not only confusing, but actually FALSE, so the line is just as bad in the other direction.) The Minato Mirai Subway line is an embarrassment to the City of Yokohama, and should be avoided at all costs.

Fortunately, there is an alternative means of access to the hotel. At Yokohama Station, whether arriving by Narita Express or by the Tokaido Line or the Yokosuka Line, before exiting the rail lines, transfer to the Negishi Line in the direction of Sakuragicho and Ofuna. The Negishi Line is above ground -- in fact it is elevated through the City of Yokohama, with views, even. Get off at Ishikawacho Station (the third stop, 3.8 km from Yokohama Station), where there is a small, intimate, taxi stand where polite taxi drivers always are waiting, and ride the last few blocks to the hotel. It is an infinitely more pleasant and infinitely less stressful path to the Hotel Monterey Yokohama than the route via the Minato Mirai Line.

As to the hotel itself, it is near perfection. The hotel's location, the former site of the United States Consulate General, is excellent, on the harbor and across the street from a pleasant park. The largest Chinatown in Asia (outside of China itself) is in the same neighborhood. The hotel's rooms are quite roomy in comparison to the rooms at most luxury Japanese hotels, and the rooms have a full set of amenities that most travelers may have seen some of, but probably not all of, on their other travels worldwide. Except for giving the wrong advice as to takyuubin, the staff is pleasant and helpful. The Negishi Line from Ishikawacho continues on to Ofuna, the gateway to the significant treasures of Kamakura and Enoshima. It is an excellent place to make a home base for a stay in Japan.

Room Tip: If you enjoy scenery, pay the premium for the Harbor side of the hotel; the "city" views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    138
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
125
72
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights. The rooms are quite large, nice view and modern furniture. The receptionist staffs are very helpful. One negative point is that they can't speak English well. However, they always try to help you the best. Maps of Yokohama are provided freely if you ask. The around areas are very beautiful because the hotel is located next to the port, lots of museums, parks, etc. I will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Not as much luxury as Royal Park but really for price best value in Yokohoma and maybe Japan. Clean and neat, rooms small but this is Japan, big enough. Great location walk to China Town, Yokohoma Bay right across street, great bay view if possible. Great deal for price.

Room Tip: any bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I booked the hotel for 5 nights base on the located near Yamashita park and 5 mins. walk to chinatown. Staffes were very good, the english is good. There was a problem about the breakfast, we booked room + breakfast, when we arrived they gave us a discourt voucher for brakfeast. Still, the problem solved quicky, the receptionist run up to our room with breakfast coupon and said sorry for their mistake again and again. The room was nice and big enoug for 3 adults with a/c minibar and big bathroom. Breakfast was so good, I very enjoy japanese style brakfast which my sister enjoy bread salad and fruits. Overall, I gave 9 out of 10 for service

Room Tip: Try to book the room sea side will get an excellent view, the rate higher then the town side (china...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cagliari
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is Clean, spatious rooms, very well equipped. There are some big critical points. The first is that this hotel is located in front of the harbour, and in the night it's dark. The second is that personnel are not english spoken, or at least they are not able to communicate. I personally had big troubles because they dont accept not-japanese credit cards. The rates price/quality is not good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Having spent over 300+ nights in hotels in and around Tokyo/Yokohama over the decades, this is the absolute best in class in the below $200 a night hotel range. The rooms are the largest I have been by Japanese standards in the 3 - 4 star range. Rooms are very nice, amenities great, great free wifi, A/C quiet and effective, spacious work area and you can actually move around in the bathroom and there is a sitting area, which in Japanese hotels tends to be a luxury you have to pay a premium for. They gave me a beautiful Bay front room that overlooks Yamashita Park and the main entrance to Chinatown is a slow 3 minute walk as is the entrance to the metro, which can get you into Yokohama in 10 minutes and to downtown Tokyo comfortably in under 1 hour. When I am not splurging, this is my new spot. This is also my first review, but it was so well deserved!

Room Tip: If you can get the Bay side room and preferably above the 6th floor for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Yokohama, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear KAHORU W,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your voice with us.
We appreciate your generous compliments of our hotel. Coming from an experienced traveller as yourself, it means very much for us.

Thank you once again for your patronage, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Furbishing of the rooms is a bit outdated, but clean and quite spacious. Free Wifi at rooms works nice. Good value for money. Great location at the Yamashita Park with amazing view. Chinatown and Landmark Tower Shopping are in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Yokohama

Address: 6-1 Yamashita-cho Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-8526, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Yokohama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monterey Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Yokohama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.