We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in its class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Yokohama

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monterey Yokohama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Yokohama
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-1 Yamashita-cho Naka-ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 231-8526, Japan   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 91 hotels in Yokohama
SARASOTA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best in its class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Having spent over 300+ nights in hotels in and around Tokyo/Yokohama over the decades, this is the absolute best in class in the below $200 a night hotel range. The rooms are the largest I have been by Japanese standards in the 3 - 4 star range. Rooms are very nice, amenities great, great free wifi, A/C quiet and effective, spacious work area and you can actually move around in the bathroom and there is a sitting area, which in Japanese hotels tends to be a luxury you have to pay a premium for. They gave me a beautiful Bay front room that overlooks Yamashita Park and the main entrance to Chinatown is a slow 3 minute walk as is the entrance to the metro, which can get you into Yokohama in 10 minutes and to downtown Tokyo comfortably in under 1 hour. When I am not splurging, this is my new spot. This is also my first review, but it was so well deserved!

Room Tip: If you can get the Bay side room and preferably above the 6th floor for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Yokohama, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear KAHORU W,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your voice with us.
We appreciate your generous compliments of our hotel. Coming from an experienced traveller as yourself, it means very much for us.

Thank you once again for your patronage, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    126
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
116
61
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dalian
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Furbishing of the rooms is a bit outdated, but clean and quite spacious. Free Wifi at rooms works nice. Good value for money. Great location at the Yamashita Park with amazing view. Chinatown and Landmark Tower Shopping are in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fantastic hotel, very clean and accommodating. The staff were very friendly and a few of the staff were able to speak some English. We arrived early morning and they held our luggage and allowed us to check into the room earlier than check-In-Time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALAYSIA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and me stayed between 22-27 May 2013(pre-cruise). We had a wonderful 5 nights stay. The hotel faces the Yamashita Park and the Ocean. Every night, after dinner we will stroll the park n sit on the benches facing the ocean and at same time can see the bright lights of Yokohama cosmoworld. The ferriswheel had a huge clock n we can see the time from afar. This hotel is pretty near to the Osanbashi Yokohama international passenger terminal so serve my purpose
A short taxi will reach the pier. We can even walk, if, without luggage. There is also a 100 yen(for 1 trip) or 500 yen(unlimited rides for a day). Walking distance to China town, so we had our dinner every night. There are restaurants in every streets .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a good stay, in a decent size room. Rooms, lobby and public areas look a bit sad. WIFI worked fine in our room. Location is nice next to boulevard and China Town. JR lines are quite some walking distance. Metro is close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel before boarding a cruise ship at Osanbashi Pier.
The room we got was very old fashioned and furniture like in the 70s. But clean though.
Breakfast is about 22$ per person but huge. From Miso to dumpling en passant by cereals, salad fruits and more. Very attentive staff. The extra plus of this hotel is its location. We walked from it to the Pier and it took us about 10 minutes maximum (with 2 luggage each). Very easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is located right on the waterfront very close to many attractions and the Osanbashi Pier where the cruise ships berth. We stayed one night before our cruise having travelled from Narita to the YCAT on the Limo bus. As others have said it is a short taxi ride from the Station or the YCAT. Being there on a Sunday & at the end of the Golden Week holidays it was very busy and the hotel seemed quite full of Japanese families. The hotel is very close to Chinatown & the shopping street. The waterfront is also very beautiful. Our room was a good size, clean & what you would expect. I thought the beds were a bit hard. We did have wifi but more English instructions in the room would have been helpful. One of the young ladies at reception who spoke English was very helpful. The buffet breakfast was very popular with a big variety, however some of the food was barely warm. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel but there are many restaurants nearby. The location is hard to beat & we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Yokohama, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear iana4417,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your voice with us.
We appreciate your compliments.
We apologize that some of our breakfast items were not sufficiently warm. Together with the English instruction issue, we will consider ways for further improvement of our services.
For your information, on our hotel website we offer the best rates along with various stay plans and detailed hotel information. Please visit the site at your convenience.
Thank you once again for your patronage, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Yokohama

Address: 6-1 Yamashita-cho Naka-ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 231-8526, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 hotels in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Yokohama 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Monterey Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Yokohama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.