We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy But Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen to your Saves list
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Yamashitacho, Naka-ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 231-0023, Japan (Gu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Michigamme, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy But Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

First, there are two of these hotels in the area. This one is next to the baseball stadium, 8 min walk from the kannai rail station.
Great location, next to China town and near the water, the hotel is in good condition. The rooms are full sized for Japanese hotels, and the bathroom is just big which is saying a lot for Japan.
A little expensive but a comfortable all around stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohamakouen, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Warmest Greeting from Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama-Koen.

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

As you know,a location of our hotel is very well especially for sightseeing in Yokohama area.
For your next trip,please let us inform you that we have prepared plenty of materials and brochures in English which may help you a lot more.

Once more,many thanks for your great comment,and we are very looking forward to serving you soon in near future!!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    97
    21
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
47
38
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was 5 nights business stay there with a 5 min. walking distance to a big main station making it easier to have transportation.Also with a 24/7 super market just beside the hotel entrance with some cold sandwiches,drinks,snacks,.... it helped me a lot when everything around was closed.
The staff are VERY friendly,the rooms are small like most of the Japanese hotels but still was good enough for me as i was using it only for night sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights before heading to a 9 day cruise that started and ended in Yokohama. The hotel is located just a block away from Chinatown and a 10-15 minute walk to the International Passenger Terminal to embark on our cruise.

Overall, it's a very good hotel with a reasonable price. Room is small but this is quite standard in Japan. No odors in the room and it is generally clean. There is a Lawson store downstairs that is open 24 hours which is really convenient to grab a beer or drinks and other snacks. Not all the staff speaks English but the ones that do are extremely helpful and pleasant. The corridors are a little dark but not much of a concern. The room we were in on the 10th floor didn't have a view but we rarely opened the curtains.

I would recommend adding the extra charge for the buffet breakfast. Selection is limited but the overall quality is good. For people that need their morning coffee to start their day, this comes with the breakfast. Coffee is brewed as you order it and you can have your cup of espresso or cappuccino too if you feel the regular coffee is not enough. Beats looking for a Starbucks location or other cafes in the morning and paying a premium on it.

Closes metro station is the Nihon-odori Station which is literally a few minutes walk away. From that station, you can go out and explore other areas like Tokyo, Shibuya, Shinjuku, etc.

Highly recommend this hotel for first timers visiting Yokohama.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We often stay here whenever we're in Yokohama! Great location, that's quiet (have never heard any traffic ... or anything for that matter) and it's easy to get to everywhere from here. We always choose a cheaper room without a view but once you close the curtains you don't see anything anyway. Always very clean rooms, that are just spacious enough for 2, with an air purifier and lots of great amenities (even deodorant spray for your clothes), but only 4 hangers.
They offer a choice of pillows but often don't have what you want (so get in quick). They remember repeaters needs and are generally friendly staff (accept when too busy). The decor is subtle, so it's good for relaxing, after a hard day's schedule.
The only complaint is that you can't soak in a "full" bath of water (as the level is set fairly low) but they do offer ladies (ONLY - sorry guys) a variety of bath salts to choose from.
P.S. Don't forget to turn the fridge "on"!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was the best place we stayed at in our 2 week trip to Japan.
As we were too early to check-in, front desk (located on the 3rd floor) took our suitcases and kept them in the back office until we came back in the evening.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and knew the area well.
English was widely spoken at this hotel and they were very welcoming, especially to the women who are presented with a basket upon check-in to choose toiletries and amenities (bubble bath etc)

Whilst staying at this hotel we did day trips to Hakone and Kamakura, which is easy to get to. The hotel staff also help with the trains etc

The hotel is modern and elegant with clean and spacious (for Japan) rooms. We had a double room which was cleaned to a high standard throughout our stay. The rooms are modern and the bathrooms are clean and comfortable. There is also wifi in the rooms with a strong signal.

There is a 24hr Lawson convienience store on the ground floor which is quite handy.
Great place to the right of the hotel, few buildings down, for morning coffee and breakfast from their set menu for approx 500 yen per person

Hotel location:
The hotel is very close to Nihon Odori station
China town (overrated) is basically behind this hotel (2-3mins walk)
Opposite the Yokohama baseball stadium, home to the Baystars
A short 15-20mins walk and you are near Landmark tower and shopping area
A few places to eat nearby, although we didn't try any of them

We felt very safe around the hotel area and Japan in general.
Its a shame this hotel didn't have availability for all 4 nights of our stay in Yokohama.
Recommend this hotel highly and I will be staying here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is located near Nihon Odori station.. like 7 minutes walk.. and is opposite yokohama stadium. All is ok with the hotel.. except that I don't really like the housekeeping. They didn't change my room comforter cover for my entire stay of about 10 nights! And they didn't vacuum the carpets either.. I dunno why..

This is my 4th hotel staying in japan.. and for myself, it ranks at no. 3.

Thete are a few morehotels on the same road.. fret not if this hitel is fully booked.

Easy access to indian restaurant (between this hotel and toyoko inn hotel) and other coffee shops. I give this hotel 7/10.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
相模原市, 神奈川県
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

nice location,you can take a train JR,subway both are kannnai station and bus,too.really next door is the china town in yokohama and you enjoy there from luxuary to more casual one.Also you will enjoy the park "yamashita koen",it's nice for having date with someone:) it's only for 5 or less minutes on your foot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen

Address: 204 Yamashitacho, Naka-ku, Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture 231-0023, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Gu , Kannai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.