We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but too small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super Hotel Shinyokohama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super Hotel Shinyokohama to your Saves list
Super Hotel Shinyokohama
2-6-20 Shinyokohama Kohoku-ku, Yokohama 222-0033, Kanagawa Prefecture (Kohoku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean but too small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We are a family of 2 adults and 1 child. Stayed there for 2 nites. We arrived very late at nite and they were kind enough to wait for us after we called them beforehand to let them know. The reception spoke limited English. Location of the hotel is a street parallel to Shin Yokohama station, about 5 mins walk. Quite a few cheap local restaurants to eat and during lunchtime, the restaurants set up stalls outside to sell bento. The bento boxes were cheap ($5-$6USD) and freshly made. Hotel does not provide bottle water, so we had to buy from the local convenience store. Family room had a double bed with a single bed bunk bed. Make sure you pick your pillows early from the pigeon hole near reception otherwise the pillows provided in the room were really hard as it was filled with rice husks. The room was really small and crammed, we could hardly move around. There were too many things in the room but it was very clean. Breakfast was basic and the hours was 6:30-8:30am. It doesnt change much from day to day. Make sure you dont have any big luggages, as the lift to the rooms was very small. Also, there is no safe deposit in the room. We chose this hotel as it was near the station and was convenient to take the shinkansen (JR Pass) to Kyoto.

Room Tip: Dont have too many luggages especially large ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    59
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
12
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

On our trip to Tokyo, all the hotels I checked out in central Tokyo were EXPENSIVE! Then, my cousin recommended Super Hotel in Shin-Yokohama.

We paid about JPY30,000 for 3 nights, for a family room. The rooms were very small though very clean. We got a double bed linked to a single bunk bed. a simple breakfast was included at that price, you can have Japanese congee or croissants. The room is also cleaned daily, between 10am-3pm.

The hotel is a 7minute walk to the Shin-Yokohama railway station, from there you can take the Shinkansen to Tokyo station (where the metro station Tokyo is located). It's about JPY 1,400 per journey (one-way). Including the Shinkansen ticket, staying in this hotel saved us a lot of money on accommodation!

The hotel is also 2 minutes from a Starbucks, local restaurants, and 24 hr conveniece store.

The only slight disadvantage is that the hotel staff were unable to speak English, so if you have questions, you will not get as much help. Though, there is a chain hotel at the railway station and staff there speak English.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I got stranded in Japan after my flight was cancelled and booked myself into the superhotel in Shin-Yokohama. Booking superhotels is so easy and they tend to be near railwaystations. I stayed 7 nights in total and had a great time. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and breakfast was good too. After 7 days it got a bit boring as it's the same all the time but still alright. Nothing amazing but for a budget traveller it was better than what I would usually have.

Free internet in the room if you bring your own notebook and there are 3 stations as well that can be used. Two coin laundromats and tumble driers are also available.

The rates are competitive and I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super Hotel Shinyokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Hotel Shinyokohama

Address: 2-6-20 Shinyokohama Kohoku-ku, Yokohama 222-0033, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Kohoku , Shinyokohama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Rakuten and Priceline so you can book your Super Hotel Shinyokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Hotel Yokohama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super Hotel Shinyokohama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.