We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Navios Yokohama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Navios Yokohama to your Saves list
Navios Yokohama
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-1-1 Shinko Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0001, Kanagawa Prefecture (みなとみらい21)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having lived in Yokohama for three and half years I was very happy to come back for a long weekend. The Navios was perfectly located for my needs, close to Sakuragicho and Minatomirai stations and the Minatomirai district.

I arrived late in the evening but everything was ready for me when I checked in and I was quickly able to get to my room. The room wasn't large but it was easy enough to spread out and there was sufficient space for my things. There is no wireless internet but there are cables for a good broadband connection. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. The bathroom was small but had everything needed and a great shower.

As other reviewers have mentioned, I didn't eat at the hotel as there were plenty of good restaurants at World Porters next door but the Seaman's bar was friendly. The hotel laundry was also good value and easy to use.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    63
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
36
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was my second time in Yokohama, but my first stay at the Navios hotel, and I have to say I was surprised. The rooms are typical japanese standard: small, barely enough counter space in the bathroom, but it has everything you need.
The bed was very comfortable, there is a small desk with (free) high-speed internet.
The bar on the 3rd floor is nice, staff was very helpful, and the drinks selection extensive.
Staff at the front desk was also very kind and helpful.
What set this hotel apart from the far-more expensive luxury hotels nearby, is that this hotel is very quiet! It might not have the luxuries like a bell-boy or a big plasma TV (there is a small one in your room) but you shouldn't spend your time stuck in a hotel room. There is a lot to see in Yokohama.....

Breakfast buffet at the hotel is actually very reasonaly priced and consist of western style dishes and japanese cuisine.

The hotel is right opposite the World Porter shopping mall, which is lined with great restaurants, shops, and also a grocery store. On the otherside of the ferris wheel is the Queen Square shopping area, another great place for dining and shopping, plus there you'll find a metro station that will take you to China Town - a must see!.

I took the Limousine bus from Narita airport to the Intercontinental hotel, then walked for 10mins to the Navios. Chek online to see what time your bus leaves as this is a limited service.

I suggest you either walk to China Town (go past the Yokohama Stadium) or talk the underground, then walk back past the waterfront.
Go to the top of the Landmark building (1000 yen) for a stunning view. On a clear day you can see Mt.Fuji.

I would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: You can face either Cosmo World with it's ferris wheel, or pick a quieter harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Room Size is great for Japanese style and room price. It is clean and practicial, there is a small refrigerator and the view is great over Yokohama. There is not a lot of noise and the room is not smelly. Central electronic switch (by key) to activate the electrical power.
Bathroom Clean and large enough. Good water jet of shower
Hotel services I did not use breakfast, restaurant, bar etc in hotel
Laundry Available
Coffeeshop Either inside World Porters (direct accross, after 8 pm) or inside Queens Squarte (5 min)
Supermarket Either inside World Porters (direct accross, after 8 pm) or neir the Bashamichi station (5 min, 24 hrs)
ATM machine Nearest I found was post office at Queens Square ( 5 min); the ones at World Porters (in supermarket) do not work for foreigners
Restaurants Several inside World Porters building (e.g 5th floor), much more in the neighbourhood
Shopping Direct accross at World Porters
Environment Good to strech your legs at the water-side, around the Cosmoworld entertainment park, great view over Yokohama and the big wheel or a walk to Chinatown in 20 minutes
Transportation Subway station at 500 meter (10 minutes walk in total to train, Bashamichi); a water-taxi at Minato Mirai 21 Shinko area a couple of times per day to Yokohama Portside
Coming from airport NEX and Suica combo ticket: take train to Yokohama and from there 10 minutes (1500Yen) to hotel
Internet Wired LAN works perfect; could not get WLAN to operate
TV Japanese stations (both terrestrial and SAT); no English news station
Check-in Effecient; English OK

Room Tip: View over Yokohama
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is situated about 15 mins. walk from the main downtown area of Minato Mirai but just across the street is the World Porter shopping mall with many restaurants on the ground floor and the Red Brick heritage blocks are also within 10 mins walking distance where one can find interesting shops and restaurants. The twin room that we had was quite big and faced the harbour. The buffet breakfast had a good variety of both traditional Japanese food as well as continental. The hotel also had a coin laundry which came in very handy and was definitely a cheaper option than using the hotel laundry service. The front desk staff were helpful and their knowledge of english was good enough. All in all a very good accomodation option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and this was a very wonderful experience! The hotel is situated in a convenient location, close to tourist spots and to the business area. The room rates are about the prices of a business hotel, but the rooms are large, clean and comfortable and the room had many amenities, hot water pot with bags of green tea, etc.
The view was just breathtaking and the area around the hotel was perfect to take a walk around town and it's close to Chinatown and Sakuragi-cho which is close to Tokyo Metropolitan area (one train line to downtown Tokyo about 20 minutes)!!!
The front desk staff was helpful, kind and very friendly and can handle conversations in English, so you don't need to worry about commuications!
We even went to the Seaman's Club at night and it was very excellent with an English-speaking staff as well. The restaurant on the 1st floor was also very good for breakfast!
I DEFINITELY HIGHLY RECOMMEND NAVIOS YOKOHAMA, so after we travel around, on our way back we have decided that we want to stay here again! Our favorite place in this area, and you won't be disappointed if you stay here!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

A decently priced hotel, great location, especially for tourists. The rooms are large, by Japanese standards, and the view, especially on the Minato Mirai side, is spectacular. The World Porters shopping center right across from the hotel offers numerous places to eat and a well-stocked supermarket. It may not be typically Japanese, but the frozen yogurt here is fantastic, made with fresh fruit. Many tourist attractions can be easily reached on foot and public transportation is close by. The breakfast buffet is not to be missed and includes Japanese and Western foods, everything from chicken and/or misou soup, to scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon and hash browns , to seaweed and fish paste. The staff is friendly and helpful. It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

The Navios Yokohama is a reasonably priced and well-appointed business hotel in the docklands area of Yokohama. While a bit away from the major sites in the area, the hotel is priced as much as half as much as the other business hotels in the area (Intercontinental, Pan Pacific, etc...). Read on for more:

LOCATION:
The Navios is located about 3 blocks north of the Bashmichi subway station, directly adjacent to the World Porters shopping complex. It's one block east of the Yokohama Cosmoworld amusement park, and about a 10 minute walk east of the Pacifico Yokohama convention center, and Queen's Square mall. For those arriving by JR Train, it's about a 15 minute walk from the Sakuragicho station. Taxi service is available from all major points, but are the typical somewhat-overpriced Japanese standard. Unless you have a ton of luggage, travelers arriving directly from Narita airport should take the Narita Express to Yokohama station, and then transfer to the Tokyu Toyoko / MinatoMirai line to Bashimichi station, from which the hotel is an easy 5-minute walk.

AMENITIES:
The Navios has a large lobby with a gift shop, and a full-service front desk, which requests that keys are deposited when you leave the hotel. There is a small coin-operated business center in the lobby, though Internet service is theoretically available in all guest rooms. The wireless service is somewhat flaky, though, and I was never able to connect in my room, though many of my colleagues had no problem. There is a full-service restaurant off of the main lobby, which offers three meals daily, though most guests will visit primarily for the buffet breakfast included with most room rates. The breakfast spread is rather impressive, even by Japanese breakfast standards, with a wide array of both Japanese and Western breakfast favorites. There is a bar/lounge on the third floor, which is well stocked with an international selection of drinks and snacks; prices are slightly more expensive than non-hotel bar prices, but are quite reasonable compared to the other business hotels in the area!

ROOMS:
NOTE: The Navios is not a non-smoking hotel. While they make a fair effort to deodorize the rooms, some clearly had the lingering remnants of smoke. If you're extra-sensitive to cigarette smoke, you may want to look elsewhere. While not overly bothersome to me, others in my group were bothered. The staff was accommodating to room change requests, however, and eventually everyone in my group ended up happy. So do be aware, and let the staff know ASAP if you think you might have to make a change.

The rooms are slightly larger than many Japanese business hotels -- which is to say that they're smaller than a comparable Western room, but still have enough space aside from the bed to accommodate a side table and chairs, as well as a work desk. The beds are quite firm, with the stiff pillows characteristic of Japanese hotels. Views from the rooms are excellent, particularly if your room faces towards the bustling Minatomirai district. The bathrooms have the typical high-tech toilet, with a sink, and a combination bath/tub. Water pressure was excellent, and there was always plenty of hot water. The one annoyance with the room was the mandatory key-insert power port near the door. The power port also controlled heat/AC for the room, and in cool weather, the rooms became quite uncomfortable if you're out for the day -- so it takes as long as a half hour to get the room live-ably comfortable upon your return. A small annoyance in the name of saving the planet... right? ;)

STAFF:
The front desk staff were excellently helpful and polite. Most were fluently bilingual in English and Japanese, though a strong Japanese vocabulary is helpful if you'll require more assistance than with standard hotel-related tasks. Taxi service to anywhere in the area is easily arranged, though there is sometimes quite a wait for a cab to arrive. The staff has a reasonable knowledge of the area, and were helpful with recommendations for local restaurants and attractions.

AREA ATTRACTIONS:
As a business hotel, it's unlikely that many visitors will be arriving here for time at the Cosmoworld amusement park. However, for those with time in the evening after meetings, the adjacent World Porters shopping complex contains several excellent restaurants, many shops, and a large cinema. Within a 5-minute walk is the Red Brick Warehouse complex, with more shopping and restaurants, as well as many local entertainment districts in both the docklands area, and around the Sakuragicho station. About a 5 minute walk away (between the hotel and Pacifico Yokohama) is the Minatomirai Manyo Club, a publicly-accessible onsen hot springs spa. Clean, inexpensive, and offering a full 4 floors of steaming hot water and other entertainments, the onsen was a lovely way to unwind after a long day. With late-night hours and towels provided, a visit is an easily-accomplished essential for those who need to relax in the area.

Overall, my 8 days at the hotel were an enjoyable stay, without any major problems or complaints. While the scent of smoke in some rooms was a problem for some in my group, our visit was one of my better longer-term stays in the Tokyo/Yokohama area.

Highly recommended for travelers who are attending an event at Pacifico Yokohama (and don't mind a 10-minute walk each day), or for those that need a location nicely balanced between business destinations and local tourist spots. Solidly 4-star.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Navios Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navios Yokohama

Address: 2-1-1 Shinko Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0001, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > みなとみらい21
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Yokohama
#12 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navios Yokohama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Navios Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navios Yokohama Hotel Yokohama
Navios Hotel Yokohama
Yokohama Navios Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navios Yokohama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.