We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super relaxing Japanese experience in an onsen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kijitei Hoeiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kijitei Hoeiso to your Saves list
Kijitei Hoeiso
Ryokan
  |   277 Yumotochaya, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun, Kanagawa Prefecture 250-0312, Japan (Hakoneyumoto Onsen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best rate for D`booking!!
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super relaxing Japanese experience in an onsen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Hoeiso was just what we expected from our onsen experience. Japanese ryokan with good athmosphere, friendly and very good service, clean rooms and good bath. And of course the quiet surroundings where the biggest noise came from birds singing. Not a luxury resort but we we looking for a Japanese experence.

Kaiseki ryori dining in our room was perfect and the private bath time by the river was super romantic.

Enough to see and do in Hakone area. Small cruise at Lake Ashi watching Mt. Fuji is just one example.

We stayed two nights and got just what we were expecting. Very happy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurstville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed myself in this beautiful ryokan. The hot springs were great and the fact that you can book it privately at night is fantastic. MY friends and I really loved the outdoor hot springs and we went about 3 times on a one night stay! Nestled amongst the mountains it is a peaceful retreat with the sound of the running stream in the background which you hear even in the rooms.

The place is furnished in traditional Japanese styles and the breakfast and dinner provided has a lot of traditional japanese pickled flavours. Go there with an open mind to Japanese traditions and you will love it as much as we did.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

I have high expectation for this trip after reading the reviews & browsing over their web, but I would only comment is not worth the price... The services is very good..all the staffs are very attentive..location is not so great but not a worry as their hotel shuttle bus is very efficient. ..The room is ok, very traditional and clean..But the big minus point is the food....they do have many small small dishes with nice presentation...but the taste is really horrible...not a pleasant dinner i would say...for the onsen, its so-so only...I would definitely try other ryokans the next time round..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

The setting was spectacular and the front of house staff was very helpful and accommodating. The traditional meals served in our rooms were a delicious adventure for us. Booking family time in the outdoor onsen was a delight, listening to the nearby stream and looking up at the mountains with the snow falling lightly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Having lived in Japan when I was younger I took the opportunity to take my mother and husband back to Hakone for an overnight stay. I chose Hoeiso because it represented everything a traditional Japanese Ryokan should.

The Rotenburo (outboor baths) were amazing. I found it completely relaxing to sit outside under the stars in the cool night air and enjoy the picturesque scenery of the forest around you.

Admittedly the rooms were older, but they were traditional tatami (straw mat) style, so this added to the aura of a traditional japanese experience. The rooms had full western bathrooms as well so you could still take a private shower should you prefer to do so.

The local delicacy (pheasant) was amazing, and the traditional side dishes served were done so with beautiful preparation and skill. Traditional japanese food is not like your standard japanese food and can be slightly unusual in taste (even for Japanese). But that is all part of the ryokan experience.

The staff were very kind and very accommodating to my family even though they do not speak Japanese. I think the language barrier just added to the experience for them.

Having read some of the previous reviews I was disappointed to learn that some people found Hoeiso expensive, old and not what they had hoped for. I think if you understand the japanese culture and can relate to the "authentic" japanese ryokan experience then you will definitely find this a beautiful location which is well worth the money and trip to Hakone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Location is ok. there are few buses running from here to Hakone yumoto station so must look at timetable. Walking would be too far.
Staff was accommodating, greeted us at front door. the guy had good level of english so he explained everything we needed to know.
however the maid who came to serve us dinner/breakfast don't speak any english. it would've been nice to know what the amazing variety of dishes were. impressed with seafood. pheasant meat was nice but much prefer it cooked than the raw version.
good food and presentation but i've had better tastng food at another ryokan.
THe best thing is having private onsen with my loved one. it was available for booking at night time. it was so relaxing with the river nearby. i am guaranteed a good night's sleep afterwards! =P
The public bathroom was also huge and had all the amenities you needed and more.
even nail polish!
overall really lovely experience. but will try a different ryokan on my next stay.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

Pleasant place, although slightly run-down. Food was a bit too sweet for us (many small dishes, probably the usual Japanese fare is more agreeable with us). One night is enough, after a bit of hot spring dipping and chilling in the room we were kind of bored. Staff was attentive and knocked on our door at 6.30pm sharp for dinner, 8.30am sharp for breakfast, and 11am sharp to check out.
Have a look at my pictures!
*Tip - ask them for private onsen sessions so u can go together as a family or couple.
- Booked through Rakuten and paid with Visa. (all prepaid so no fuss), however there was a "bathing tax", just 150JPY per person

  • Liked — Peaceful environment
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kijitei Hoeiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kijitei Hoeiso

Address: 277 Yumotochaya, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun, Kanagawa Prefecture 250-0312, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Kijitei Hoeiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kijitei Hoeiso Hotel Hakone-Machi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kijitei Hoeiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.