We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Onsen Hotel   |   1320 Gora, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture (Gora Onsen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

The hotel is in a secluded area near Gora area, almost 25 mins by car from the Hakone train station. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. We have a eight year old so we stayed in a Japanese tatami room which is very spacious and comfortable.

The hotel does not have an outdoor onsen, so don't go there if you expect one. It has an indoor onsen inside its spa which stays open till late.

The hotel staff is generally fluent in English, as expected in an international chain. However, I had a bad experience with my breakfast at the coffee shop on my last day. I was assigned to a table whose waiter does not speak English. When he realized this, he just left my table abruptly. No menu, no tea/coffee offered. After 5 minutes, I called him over for ordering, but he again left us without action. I had to find the Manager to complain that given I am non-Japanese (Hong Kong Chinese), they should assign me to an English speaking waiter. It is unacceptable to ignore the customers.....very rare in Japan! The Manager was very apologetic and served us himself from then on.

The lobby area around the fire place is relaxing. Free pre dinner drinks are offered in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    174
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
192
256
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

The fact that this was our 2nd trip to the Hakone Hyatt in 4 months should imply our satisfaction.

We stayed for 2 nights and our overall impression was the same as the first time, fantastic. We decided to give ourselves a short break before we both start our new jobs in Tokyo, and we figured after 4 years living in Japan we had never visited our personal favourite onsen town in summer. We spotted a good rate due mainly to the low season period I assume, and booked a normal room.

In details;
- Hakone;
Well known for its onsen and mountainous terrain and perfect for a day trip from Tokyo or a weekend break. By whatever mean of transportation you opt to take to get here you will be greeted by all the vapor coming out of countless public hot bath chimneys.

- Gora area, where hyatt situates
Deeper inside the mountain area. You can get to the hotel from Hakone Yumoto station by either car (15 min taxi ride is approx 3,000 jpy if I remember correctly), or by railway which requires transit and take up to a bit over one hour for around 800 jpy/person. After driving during the last trip this time we wanted to go slow so we bought Odakyu's Hakone free pass which included round trip train fee tokyo-hakone and buffet ride on all transportation means in hakone area, 5500 jpy for 3 days. And for a total of 3 hours on trains from Tokyo, slow it was! I recommend, still, the latter choice for first time travelers or whoever wants to explore the whole hakone area.

- Hyatt;
As we took the train this time we got off at Kami-Gora stn and walked downhill for 7 minutes. The hotel is on the middle of the hill. It was easy for us to find this time, but I think they should still put some more direction signs along the way as were lost while driving here last time. Being an hyatt in the middle of rural, the entance was simplistic and subtle. The resort actually consists of two main buildings; on the left is main facility while on the right is the onsen and spa. On our visit last time the main lounge was heated with logwood fire and smell which was nice. Apparently it would not make much sense if they still used it during summer.
Checking in was fast and efficient; the staff walked us to our room and on the way explained what is where and also what is in the room.

- Room;
Expect the recent hyatt touch - contemporary, simple and functional. Though it was just the most ordinary and cheapest room type of the hotel, it was more than spacious (44m2 I think). And the beds... Two double beds attached to each other making the sleeping space far more than 2m wide. You can do 360-roll 4 times and still not manage to fall down. : P In room facilities are well appointed - HD TV, Bose speaker, armchair 1-seat sofa and ottoman, internet connection (with a fee). Working space was a bit small (and business supports overall were minimum)

Our highlight of this whole trip, however, was the room view. In a rainy late spring day you open the window and mountains are waiting right in front of you, all green and fresh, plus the smell of the town's signature onsen smell. The view was panoramic. This was why we stay for two nights in a town we visit more than 10 times in four years - just to have at least one whole day doing nothing in the room...

- Bathroom;
The wet area in our room was up to hyatt standard, large enough bathtub with shower area. Seperated toilet and make up area. The decoration has no flaws. (Though I think it will suit the resort concept better if it has rainshower instead of hose). This is far better than those in other western-type resorts in the area.

- Onsen;
In fact, forget the above paragraph as you will not have many chances to use the bathroom. Go down the elevator to the onsen and you will know why. That was one of the best public hot baths in Hakone and you just have to try. There is no scientific backup of my claim but I tried a lot of facilities in the area and the water quality is one of the top. Bear in mind, however, that there is no outdoor area many bathers long for, and thus there is no view of the mountain. The decoration also is not hardcore japanese - just one big bathing area. But for us, we just loved it that we used it three times a day.
(For a more Japanese feeling, check out this facility called Tenzan around 5 minutes bus from Yumoto station, perfect for cold season as the pools are all outdoor).
We did not try the spa treatments as we thought the price was reserved for a carefully selected group of customers : P And originally coming from Thailand I honestly am a bit skeptical about me judging this kind of service without bias. So explore it if you opt to.


Food;
The hotel only have one restaurant. The breakfast was up to hyatt standard with fresh ingredients but the choices were identical everyday. We didnt try the dinner as we always went out buying local food at Gora stn. (Bear in mind the cable car from Gora to Kami-Gora only runs until 7pm. It can get dark very early there outside summer and there is no restaurant in the hotel's pleasurable walking distance) We skipped lunchs as well as our breakfast more than compensated the energy required to go through each day : )
One staff said the bar will be opened in July's end as they just found the bartender.

Services;
Never tried the concierge as we kind of knew the directions and spots. All the staff really made us felt at home, and more importantly they were efficient and effective. Even though we have come to used to Japanese culture and were spoiled by other traditional japanese ryokan eleswhere already, I was still felt guilty when it was raining and I was smoking outside and the duputy hotel manager, 20 years older than me, ran in and out of the building to offer me an umbrella and ashtray.

Over all;
If you managed to be awake after reading all above then you should have the idea about our impression at this little resort. Above anything Hakone itself is the town you should include in your side trip list from Tokyo. Give this town at least 2 full days to explore, plus one full day just staying in this resort taking bath and lay on those big beds!

  • Liked — The room and its beds, Onsen
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

My partner and I visited Hakone in mid-May and stayed at the newly opened Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa - A luxury hotel in the heart of Hakone. The hotel isn’t so big, so it aims is to emulate a homely mountain chalet atmosphere, and it does so rather successfully.

ROOM
We reserved the Twin Room, but were upgraded to a Deluxe Room. The room itself was very spacious (73 sq.meters) and luxuriously appointed. There was a large LCD TV, a writing desk with Internet access, a sitting area, a huge enclosed balcony, and a walk-in closet. The room was bright with an air of Japanese inspired minimalism about it! The king size bed was very comfortable but was in fact two double beds pushed together. There was a fully stocked fridge and tea-making facilities. The LCD TV came with Audio/video connections for an MP3 player and a CD/DVD player. The English translation of the Audio/video instructions was a bit sparse and confusing, and the TV was placed in an angle that could not be viewed when sitting on the sofa. The room however, was very clean and new! The hotel also provided a Japanese style robe (yukata) to be worn in and outside the room – In fact, this was encouraged by the hotel to create a “homely” atmosphere. The robe was comfortable, and they do have multiple sizes available upon request.


BATHROOM
The bathroom was very luxurious and came with a separate sitting area/vanity, two marble sinks, a Japanese-style shower and bath, and heated towel rack. The toilet was in a separate room, but not connected to the bathroom. The hotel’s ILUXURY branded amenities were good. The only thing that I could find fault with was the cheap-looking plastic stool and washing bucket that were in the bath. It detracted from the luxurious feel of the bathroom. I’m sure the hotel could have spent a bit more money on a classical Japanese wooden stool and bucket.

HOTEL FACILITIES/RESTAURANTS
The hotel offered a Spa and a Japanese hot spring (onsen), but no pool or fitness facilities. We did use the hot spring and it was good, if a bit ordinary. The amenities (i.e. Shampoo and soap) in the hot spring were of standard quality. It would have been nice to have something a bit more luxurious to wash oneself. The hotel is actually quite small, and there was only one restaurant to dine in. This restaurant, called the Dining Room offered a choice of French provincial or Japanese cuisine. We choose the French option, and were surprised by the almost-authentic taste of the food. Before dinner, we enjoyed free-flowing complimentary champagne at the Living Room (Lounge) – We also ordered some amuse-bouche from the lounge menu, which was good. The cozy atmosphere near the log fire was enjoyable. There is also a small library to browse through (mostly art books) and a bar that was under construction during our visit.

SERVICE
There were some service-related problems. The staff were very friendly and courteous, although their level of English wasn’t always up to par. The service in the lounge and the restaurant were quite slow at times, especially during breakfast time. Our orders were mixed up twice and the food we ordered arrived unsually late. Furthermore, their tendency to use internationally unrecognised geographic names (i.e. "Arabian" Gulf as opposed to the correct "Persian Gulf") in their brochures/website can be insulting/politically insensitive to certain guests. I wrote a letter to the general manager regarding that issue, and I have yet to hear a reply.

SURROUNDINGS
The hotel itself is a bit out of the way from nearest town (Gora – more like a village). A taxi from Gora station will get you to the hotel, but I recommend the ropeway from Gora station. The Hyatt Regency is two stops from the Gora terminal. If you’re travelling from Tokyo to Hakone, be sure to pick-up the Hakone Free Pass from the Odakyu Travel Center in Shinjuku (near the Odakyu Department Store). For YEN 5500 you can have unlimited travel in Hakone on all Odakyu trains from Tokyo to for four days. There isn’t much to do around the hotel, and with the nearest town a ten-minute ropeway away, it’s best to bring your hiking shoes for exploring.

CONCLUSION
The Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa is a great new hotel – Perfect for a weekend getaway from Tokyo or to discover the joys of a Japanese hot spring resort with the comforts of a Western hotel. The hotel is luxurious, but the service needs fine-tuning. I’d stay at the hotel again!

  • Liked — The large room
  • Disliked — The spotty service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed at the Hyatt in Gora second week in March; not easy to get to without a car: Hakone Tozan (with change in Yumoto) from Odawara, then a taxi (waited about 10-15 minutes) at Gora --- because of steep slope, it is not walkable (30+ minutes); although cable car is an option (downhill 5-7 minute walk to hotel from upper Gora). Room is very spacious, well appointed amenities. Has been open only since Dec 06 so has an attractive freshness to ambience. That said, as another reviewer observed, the open fireplace in lobby level produces a pervasive odor (not unpleasant, however). For us, limited access to food nearby was an issue. Restaurant (one formal, the other mingled with the bar area) had limited offering and also very expensive so we chose to eat at other places in Hakone --- nothing really available in walking distance of hotel, so some planning is in order. We ate e.g, in Hakonemachi and stocked up with supplies in Gora. We liked the onsen bath, large and modern, but also disappointed with absence of outdoor spa. Tends to be staffed by a lot of non Japanese (i.e., Korean, Australian, other Hyatt people) so English much better than would be typical in Japanese hotel. Biggest positive for us: convenient launch point for the usual Hakone loop (cable car, ropeway to Owakudani, boat in Lake Ashi, and back, e.g. to Open Air Musuem). Gorgeous view of the mountains. 5 minute uphill walk to Upper Gora cable car station, which is in turn 5 minutes from start of the Hakone Ropeway which provides breathtaking views of Fuji.

  • Liked — very new; extremely spacious, first class fitments
  • Disliked — lack of nearby eateries/ access
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

This is a great hotel. We stayed here for one night in March, on a bed, dinner and breakfast package, which worked out around Y30,000 per head. This is in line with what you'd pay at a good, traditional ryokan in Hakone, but certainly not the most expensive there is.

From the outside, the buliding looks like something you might see in a rich university - perhaps a new library. Inside, it's all warm minimalism. Front reception is a series of wooden desks rather than the usual marble slab.

We had one standard twin room and one deluxe tatami room. The twin was very large - the pictures on their website are very accurate. And the balcony area is actually part of the room, so you can sit "outside" even in the winter, if that makes sense.

The tatami room was great too - very spacious.

Both rooms had large bathrooms and a lot of storage space.

Some of the corridors are a bit clinical and cold - they could probably do with a few pictures on the wall or something.

The ground floor lounge has a huge, modern open fire, with armchairs arranged around it. Like one of the other reviewers, we also had some minor problems with the smoke coming from the fire. Nothing major, but it's obviously one of those teething-troubles type things. The hotel has only been open three months, and I'm sure they'll get the fire and chimney sorted.

Dinner was delicious - it's probably better value to have it included in your room package, rather than to buy it on top. But even if you did, Y10,000 (about £45) is not much for this standard. Four courses included foie gras, seafood, steak, and a sort of cheesecake. All quite delicately flavoured and well presented. There was also the option of a sushi dinner, but since we'd been to Hakone a few times and done the traditional Japanes thing before, we went with the Western option.

The onsen is quite simple - they only have one large (but well-designed) bath for both men and women, and no Rotempuro (outdoor tub), unfortunately.

The rooms have got LCD flatscreens, with Bose sound systems. The hotel has a very limited selection of DVDs to hire (for Y525!). Hopefully, they'll increase their stock of films and stop the ridiculous charge.

Breakfast the next day was very good - again, we went for the "French Country Breakfast", which was enormous.

The directions on the Hyatt website aren't very good - if you're coming on the Hakone FreePass, you should take the cable car from Gora Train Station, and get off at Kami Gora station. From here, it is really only a 5 minute walk. Alternatively, you can just call them from Gora Station, and they'll pick you up.

Overall, we had a great time here. It's not very traditional compared to the other places in Hakone, but you wouldn't go to a Hyatt expecting a cutesy Japanese inn, would you? It's big, modern, beautiful and comfortable, and the staff were all very helpful/friendly.

Gora is a pretty good location in Hakone too - you're away from all the horrible over-developed mess in Yumoto, and it's quite easy to get to the ropeway to get to Owakudani, the peak.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

Hakone, an outstanding resort area of Japan, is one-half hour drive from Tokyo metropolis. The hotel stands in historical Gora valley, a well-known historical Onsen (hot spring).
It was a great trip we’ve got yesterday. We visited Owakudani valley, an active volcano, from there, we enjoyed a great view of Mount Fuji. A fifteen minutes drive from Owakudani, we got to the hotel.
Like other Hyatt hotels, modern interiors characterized the hotel. The room was spacious with the view of mountains. You can enjoy yukata (kimono-like clothes) everywhere in the hotel as well as Ryokan (traditional Japanese inn) If you desire a more sense of Japan, you should choose a Tatami (Japanese flooring) room. (Or book a Ryokan!)
Staffs were friendly and helpful, but some parts of them were not trained well.
At the lobby with fireplace named as “living room”, free beverages including beer or wine will be served in the evening. We had our dinner at “dining room” restaurant. We had a French-style pre-fixed meal. You can choose Sushi meal alternatively. We were disappointed with a 10,000 yen (85 USD!) dinner, consisted of appetizer, seafood, beef and dessert. Foie gras pate as an appetizer and seafood were OK, but beefsteak was really tasteless. The wine list was poor balanced.
Onsen, a Japanese public bathhouse of natural hot spring, was really good for relaxing.
A breakfast, choice of American or Japanese, was average.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor selection of wines
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

The Hyatt Hakone is gorgeous. The photos on their web site do not exaggerate. It’s a lovely retreat from Tokyo and in a good location near Gora station. The rooms are modern, large and well equipped. The staff were of a high caliber and accommodating. The French restaurant had very secluded tables (but you should reserve in advance), and the food was delicious. The lobby lounge, overlooking a peaceful courtyard, offers coffee and tea and has very stylish chairs surrounding a fireplace. However, the fireplace has terrible ventilation and makes the entire lobby almost unbearable to sit in for any length of time, as it is extremely smoky! Here’s where more bad points begin, starting with the onsen. It is basically a nice sento (public bath). There is no rotemburo (outdoor bathing area), no variety of baths, and no sauna. It was a huge disappointment. People leave Tokyo for various reasons, but one of the top two would be to enjoy a nice onsen bath. Also, if you are interested in the spa, be sure to check the prices! They range anywhere from 22,000 yen up to 60,000 yen for treatments! The restaurant has only a fixed-set menu, and is very expensive at 10,000 yen per person, plus tax! While the food was delicious, service and atmosphere beautiful, I know better places with far more creative menu options in Tokyo, for less money. Finally, the hotel absolutely meets international standards, or exceeds them. This is the major problem with the Hyatt Hakone; it lacks any sense of Japan! For the same money (or slightly more you could luxuriate at the Gora Kaidan Onsen/Ryokan), I would stay at a ryokan where we can find Japanese rooms, baths, dinners and people in kimono!

  • Liked — The room, and the general feeling of modern elegance.
  • Disliked — The fact it lacked any sense of being in Japan.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Address: 1320 Gora, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Family Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi
Hyatt Regency Hakone Machi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.