We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with some nice touches!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Onsen Hotel   |   1320 Gora, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun, Kanagawa Prefecture 250-0408, Japan (Gora Onsen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with some nice touches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

There is such choice for places to stay in the Hakone area that we decided on the Hyatt due to location close to Gora and therefore a large number of the sights that you want to see. We arrived at Gora station and called through to the hotel and within 5 minutes the shuttle bus was there to whisk up to the hotel. We were warmly greeted and quickly and efficiently checked into our room. We were upgraded (thank you!) as it was our honeymoon and the room was lovely! The view over the mountains was perfect and it was nice to see the sunset here. The room was very large with an extremely large and comfortable bed - we slept extremely well! The bathroom with separate toilet and wetroom shower (complete with little stall so you can shower the Japanese way!) was awesome as well - lots of space to move around! It was very nice that complimentary drinks are served 4pm-7pm in the Living Room so we went down to enjoy some champagne whilst planning our day of exploring the next day. My husband has some sushi for dinner and said it was good but maybe did not justify the price tag. In the morning there was complimentary tea, coffee and juice again in the Living Room.

The hotel kindly stored our bags for us and then delivered them to Gora station when we had finished our sightseeing, which was very helpful and extremely appreciated.

My only comments is that at the price per night it seems a little bad to charge for internet in the rooms. We were also unable to use the onsens due to small tattoos but this happens in a few hotels in Japan as well.

All the staff we encountered from Front Desk to Housekeeping to the Restaurant staff were very friendly, professional and efficient and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.

We would go back for sure.

PS make sure that you pop up to the 5th Floor for a view of Mount Fiji on a clear day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    163
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
169
236
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I echo the previous reviews on the design and layout of the hotel and guestrooms. It's no doubt a beautifully designed and well maintained piece of property. We also noticed that there are ground floor rooms for families with dogs so there does seem to be a steady stream of Japanese families driving in for the weekend with young kids and large dogs.

This was my first onsen experience. I find it very relaxing. I particularly liked the shower stalls (no curtains) with spa quality shampoo/conditioner/lotion and facial products where one can sit down/wash/scrub like the locals do. The lack of gym didn't bother us as much b/c there were opportunities to walk/hike in the area.

The English language signage in Hakone area is generally lacking so if you are visiting for the 1st time, be prepared to get lost at least once or twice. The hotel staff did not really provide any maps so it was all a bit confusing with the different transport options.

If you are only coming to the hotel for the weekend and plan to mainly stay in the hotel it is not worth getting the Hakone free pass. The hotel provides for transportation to the Ondawara station in any event. We did enjoy the train ride from Hakone Yumoto. The ropeway/cable car rides to the lake was a bit underwelming. As we went quite late in the afternoon, we did not take the pirate ship on the lake. From reading the reviews I would have liked to visit the Hakone shrine but didn't have time. What I didn't realizing when researching for this trip is how long it takes to get from one place to another in Hakone. For example, to get from Gora region (where the hotel is) to Hakone shrine takes at least a couple hours by tram, ropeway and boat.

For me the highlight of the trip was relaxing in the hotel onsen and spa, as well as eating a Kaiseki dinner at a nearby ryokan. So in retrospect all the other sites (with the exception of the outdoor sculpture museum) were not all that exciting. I would have liked to hike more in the area, but without speaking Japanese or a lot of time to spend it seemed difficult as we didn't know where we were going most of the time.

We had the complimentary breakfast at the hotel and found it to be adequate. The options are somewhat limited but the food quality was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I think most of my observations have been mentioned here by previous reviewers. On the surface this hotel is a high end resort with a great design and caters to those looking for a 5* luxury Western resort. However my three biggest observations are around the design of the hotel, quality of service and the pricing of some extras.

Firstly the hotel is very well designed its quite modern but both the layout and design are and finished to a very high standard. Rooms were very spacious and offered all the luxuries one would expect of a hotel of this standard. The onsen is very spacious, clean and designed to a high spec we used the onsen twice and really enjoyed it. My only small fault on design was the lack of a gym offering in the hotel, the area is quite hilly so it’s also difficult to go for a good long run so a gym would have been appreciated.

Secondly, of the six hotels we stayed at during our trip to Japan this was probably we felt that the service was the most mixed. The service was very hit and miss and depended on individual staff members rather than being consistent quality through the hotel. Overall it felt more like European hotel service than of the very courteous service we received throughout our stay at other hotels in Japan. Two examples of this were the French restaurant manager refusing to serve an vegetarian food in his restaurant despite the Japanese restaurant which was separated by a prefabricated wall happy to serve us. The manager not only adamantly refused to serve any vegetarian food but he also sent a messenger to relay his decision offering little by the way of apology or explanation. On the second night the reception miss-booked our dinner reservation. Maybe the service we received was the hotel having a bad week as many other reviews do not mention this but for our stay I would say it was average at best.

Finally the paradoxical behaviour of the hotel is seen in many areas around charging. The hotel generously offers free transport to both Odawara and Gora as well as very generous happy hour. Both of these complimentary offerings do really add value. However the hotel charges for things many other hotels would never dream about charging. You pay for wifi to only be told afterwards that it is only available in the lobby and living room, I personally have never seen wifi be charged for if it is not available in the room. The hotel offers a DVD collection but you have to rent the DVD's and pay money by the night per dvd. The food in the restaurants was average/good but overpriced relative to other hotels and restaurants we dined at in Japan. As mentioned by previous reviewers the snacks offered with the free drinks are at extortionate prices. Unfortunately as a result of the pricing policy of extras I was continually reminded that I was a business proposition of the hotel rather than a guest.

My recommendation is this is a good hotel with excellent environment which is well lactated. Stay with the mindset that you will spend more than you anticipate while you are there and you will not be disappointed. On the service front I would personally say the jury is out, I saw little in the way of exceptional service but a lot in the way of hard rules which they would not bend to make a guests stay more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a lovely, contemporary hotel in lush, peaceful surroundings. The check in staff were very helpful and we had 2 very large interconnecting rooms looking out across the hills. Everything is very modern and luxurious and the service was excellent. At 4.30- 6.30 pm they serve complementary drinks in the lounge, which is very relaxing and a nice touch. There is no wifi though, but for 3 days, this was not an issue. They do not have a pool, they have separate male and female onsen pools, or hot water spas. When i investigated further, i found out that everyone relaxes in the pool in the nude, coming from England, we are rather uptight about this, so this was off limits. We ate dinner in both the Japanese and the Italian restaurant. Both good, but the Japanese is so, so expensive. Think London prices and add another 50% on.
Had we known, the hotel would have picked us up from the station, so it's worth talking to them before you arrive. They were very helpful though and regularly supplied their minibus for us to drop us off or pick us up from various places. This hotel is perfect if you want to see Mount Fuji and visit Lake Chuzenji and unwind for a couple of days. Also, if you can do go to the open air sculpture museum.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high level at the back overlooking the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our daughter and her husband chose this hotel and invited us there for my birthday. It is an apparently small cosy hotel but has as many as 79 guest rooms. When you enter your room you change your clothes into “Kimono”, or correctly called “Yukata” and could walk out in wooden sandals into “Living Room”, “Dining Room” and large hot spring bath rooms like in good Japanese “Ryokans”. Each bed room has its own bath room but it is certainly better to enjoy hot spring in a very large bath rooms commonly used by guests. Men and women separately of course. It has a very large pool and more than a sufficient number of showers both for sitting and standing. All very clean and nice. The room beds are very comfortable looking out to beautiful mountains through balcony but the sunlight was too strong in the morning though it was shut out completely by thick curtains.
Both dinner and breakfast are served in “Dining Room” in either French or Japanese cuisine. I personally thought it not nice to see other guests having French dinner in “Yukata” but the room was so well divided by artistic partitions that we could hardly see other guests. Very well thought. Before dinner free drinks including Champagne and Spumante were served in “Living Room”. Olives and other snacks could be ordered but quite expensive. I observed some guests stayed there quite long and drunk many glasses of Champagne and some had a la carte meals there with free drinks occupying tables so long. To avoid that sort of congestion I thought it better that drinks should be charged at half prices with free snacks. For dinner we all chose French menu and spent an extra charge for better and tender Japanese beef fillet with French foie gras. All dishes were quite satisfactory with exception of the sauce for the main dish which was tasted too strong obviously it was seasoned too much by “Soy Sauce” along balsamico. Japanised here too? Wines were quite expensive. I chose and bought Macon-Lugny les genievres Louis Latour 2010 at Yen 7800 as the one better was as much as Yen 20,000. I would not spend so much for white wine before red. My selection of red wine was Chateau Marquis de terme 4eme cru classe Margaux 2005 at Yen 20,000. This was sufficiently good for our beef and foie gras. By the way this was the only one 2005 vintage of Bordeaux available. I know it costly to keep and store wine but their prices were outrageous. The prices were 3 to 4 times higher than the current retail prices. The hotel and dining services were however generally quite good. It was a good way of adopting good part of the Japanese practices except wine price. We thanked our daughter and her husband much for their invitation to this hotel.

Room Tip: Twin room with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We came to the Hyatt Regency Hakone after staying at the Park Hyatt Tokyo so we were not sure what to expect. The hotel was gorgeous, the staff were exceptionally welcoming and the room was large and comfortable. The hotel has a shuttle that picks up passengers at only two times from the local station. Call ahead to find out the times if you want to be picked up as reservations are suggested and space is limited. The trip is 45 minutes from the station so don't miss the shuttle. The only trouble with the hotel is that some of the front desk staff don's speak English very well. The hotel has a nice spa with the onsen baths free for guest. The hotel is very relaxing and is aimed at the spa crowd, there is not much to do besides relax at the spa, enjoy the view, or go take a hike through the local town.

Room Tip: Try to get a mountain view of Fuji
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. The room and hotel were excellent however the air conditioning n our room did not work. You would expect for the price we payed that everything would be fully functional. We reported it however when someone came they said to just give it a while to cool down. It didn't. Also they say you have in room wifi which you pay a hefty price for to then discover that it only works in the lobby and lounge area. Apart from this we did enjoy our stay in the hotel, especially the complimentary drinks between 4 - 7.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Address: 1320 Gora, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun, Kanagawa Prefecture 250-0408, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Family Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi
Hyatt Regency Hakone Machi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.