We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weird, horrible, smelly place, rude staff, stay away!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moto-Hakone Guest House

Moto-Hakone Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moto-Hakone Guest House to your Saves list
Moto-Hakone Guest House
2.0 of 5 Minshuku (Japanese B&B)   |   103 Moto-Hakone, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0522, Kanagawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“weird, horrible, smelly place, rude staff, stay away!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Way over-priced, meant to earn tourists' monies with minimum or no value at all. it's a budget family inn, u might as well consider paying a bit more for a proper hotel/ryokan and be happier.
The short-haired middle-aged lady who checked us in seems more eager to be counting the money in her metal box. A total opposite of all the good service and kind hospitality that we received throughout all the other japanese hotels that we have stayed.
Total disgrace to the nice japanese culture, every body is courteous except her.

Asked for extra hot water and the lady gave a very unhappy look on her face and replied us "it is too much"! To our dismay, they do not have basic water kettle facility in the room, if u need to boil water, u have to ask her for it only to get this reply. We paid so much money only to receive such service. She can speak English, but i guess her usage of the language is too inappropriate when she keeps asking us "do u understand? do u understand that it is too much?" This is so rude.

The room and communal bath stinks, there is a funny stench in the room, filling your nostrils.
Open the room window and u will be shocked with your room view - looking into the family inn's neighbouring house - the windows are so close to each other, u can see and hear them clear;y at night. It is a very weird view, when u see someone old nursing there. Feels like a hospital.

Avoid at all cost!! We did not sleep a wink the whole night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Rooms were very small. Convenient bus stop outside which runs from Odawara Station to Moto Hakone township.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

This ryokan has small rooms, but is clean, comfortable, and the owner is helpful and friendly. No ensuite, but the bathrooms are clean, if small. Follow the directions on the web site to find it, it's in a good spot for sightseeing in the Hakone area. As mentioned in previous reviews, there is very little in the way of restaurants in the local area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We were not disappointed with the guest house itself, we got what we expected. We are slightly disappointed, however, with the Ryokan concept. After spending many nights in three/four star business hotels we expected something special, but after a day we found ourselves longing for a normal hotel room. (Especially since they offer better value)
Nevertheless, we are happy to have experienced ryokans and would recommend everybody to spend a few days in one and this one is a good bet in the Hakone region.

Our room and the common bathroom was perfectly clean, the landlady was very helpful, her English is OK. The guide on their website is really necessary to be able to find the place.

The restaurants in Moto Hakone close early, but the convenience store serves good food at very good prices all day round.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Familiar little place with tatami mats and so on. Good location (probably the best in the park) to explore Ashi lake, Hakone National Park. 10 min. walk to the lake downhill, close to old Cedar road, ships, Tori. Great view to Mount Fuji from the lake. In the evening the little town has nothing to offer, only two restaurants are open till 8-9 pm. Breakfast together in small room, like a family home. Clean, friendly. Recommended to stay at least two nights so that the chances are good to see the Fuji without clouds.Great to be at the lake very early without all the tourists. Easily accessible with local busses.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moto-Hakone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moto-Hakone Guest House

Address: 103 Moto-Hakone, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0522, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moto-Hakone Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Moto-Hakone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moto-Hakone Guest House Hotel Hakone-Machi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moto-Hakone Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.