We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kappa Tengoku

Save Saved
You added Kappa Tengoku to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kappa Tengoku
Yumoto 777, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun, Kanagawa Prefecture 250-0311, Japan (Hakoneyumoto Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 165 Hakone-machi B&B and Inns
Paris
1 review
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

We were a bit afraid by reviews but actually we were very satisfied. It looked a little bit old but it's fine! no insects! n very clean and very hot in the room...
but
after the hot bath no need of the radiator!
the staff was very nice and could speak 2 or 3 words in English!
it was a typical japanese mansion n we really enjoyed it!
We totally recommend it!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
6
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
across the universe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Initially, my mum and I were a bit apprehensive about staying in Kappa Tengoku because of all the bad reviews - that it was dirty, that there were too many stairs, that the toilets stunk. After all the horrible reviews, we were expecting Kappa Tengoku to be extremely rundown and hard to access.

To our pleasant surprise, this was far from the truth. Our room was nice and clean, and overlooked Hakone-Yumoto. The open air bath was lovely. The toilet in front of our room didn't stink at all, and it was clean. We're quite particular about cleanliness, and nothing bothered us there.

The flights of stairs weren't as bad as described. From some of the complaints I've read online, I was expecting much worse. There were only two major flights of stairs - and we could carry our luggage up the steps without any problems. I was with my mum, mind you, and she had no problem with the hotel at all.

I guess what I want to say is - Kappa Tengoku is super cheap - it's hard to find deals like that in Japan, where everything is so expensive. So just lower your expectations and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Even though the location was great, there were so many stairs (a few flights) to the ryokan + also within the facility. Great value for money. on-site onsen was a blessing. Food very easily available, except for the stairs again. We didn't have the BBQ chicken for dinner, but Japanese breakfast was OK

  • Liked — on-site onsen was hot
  • Disliked — the stairs everywhere
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

We booked this ryokan through the JNTO in Tokyo. The room was small and a little damp with some stains on the walls though it was clean. They had a foot bath at the base of the hotel which was very nice after hiking around all day. The foot bath (men and women can sit together here) was a nice change from bathing separately in the outdoor baths. The baths were the saving grace of the hotel. While the staff was friendly, they weren't too present during our two night stay. Keep in mind that the town closes REALLY early so there isn't much to do. You end up spending more time at the hotel than you might like though it gives you time to catch up on some reading or hit the baths upstairs.

The Hakone circuit loop (train, trail, funicular, boat, etc) is a must-do. Ideally, I'd stay somewhere closer to the funicular or gondola rather than in Hakone in front of the station. It wasn't too noisy but just not as beautiful/interesting as the other areas we saw.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kappa Tengoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kappa Tengoku

Address: Yumoto 777, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun, Kanagawa Prefecture 250-0311, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kappa Tengoku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kappa Tengoku Hotel Hakone-Machi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kappa Tengoku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.