We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Onsen Fun for family and friends!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hakone Kowakien Yunessun

Hakone Kowakien Yunessun
1297 Ninotaira, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun, Kanagawa Prefecture 250-0407, Japan
+81 460-82-4126
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 60 Attractions in Hakone-machi
Type: Water Parks, Spas, Onsen Resorts, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A hot springs spa resort and water amusement park.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Yokosuka, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique Onsen Fun for family and friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have been to Yunessun a few times, and it's always a TON of fun! There are so many different themed baths there, and the best part is that you can enjoy the hot springs with your mixed gender friends since you wear your swimsuit here.

Like other onsen entertainment places, you receive a waterproof bracelet to use to pay for everything inside the park, which is great because there are snack vendors offering hot sweet potatos, green tea ice cream, and other yummy snacks. You can also get massages here, but if you're cramped for time I wouldn't bother. Yunessun definitely requires a full day trip to really enjoy the place. It's worth checking out if you plan to be in Hakone. T

Just remember...if you have tatoos you should either wear body makeup or a swimsuit that covers up your art.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    128
    78
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yokosuka, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Stunning, fun for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went with a tour group. My husband and I and our 12 year old daughter and 8 year old son. It was winter and snowing and we would not have it any other way. Sitting in coffee scented hot water while snow gently fell around us will never leave our memories. The views are breath taking. All the baths are are unique and relaxing. Our favorite was the salt. Makes you extra bouyant and if you just close you eyes and float all else is good with the world for that time. We also really liked the Sake. It was the hottest of the baths. The kids really liked the chocolate bath. We made it on time for the "show" to that one . (which is when they squirted chocolate syrup on everyone) The slides where a hit with the kids as where the steamy caves underneath. They have a nice locker room area, and showers (they provide body wash, shampoo, and conditioner) and our daughter and I really liked the way they smelled and made our hair very soft. We had the buffet. Well worth the money, but not necessary since they have a variety of vending a small food shops with things like ice cream, soups, sandwiches. You can not bring out side food. I would recommend bringing flip flops as towards the end our feet where feeling a bit raw from the combination of being immersed in water all day and rough walking surfaces ie pebble, river rock, concrete. We say done visit Japan and NOT go here! We have a year left and its on the top of our must repeat list :).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite Hot Spring resort in the world!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

In what other country other than Japan can you take a hot spring baths in sake, green tea, coffee and red wine? Yunessun is a family favorite!! My mother AND my daughter adore it!!
First time visitors to Japan should see Mt. Fuji & go to Yunessun. It is a MUST VISIT!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So much fun for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

We loved the hot waterside and kids area, green tea and wine tubs. My 3 yo enjoyed being outside without freezing. Some pools are hotter than others, so she came into some. We did not go to mori-no-u, the hot tub side, as our hotel had one.
The cafe in te Aegean sea was nice. The "dr.fish" carp foot pedicure was amusing.

The pool in "you-topia" side of the park, was dated. Most of the restaurants were closed, and employees pointed us on long walks to places like the buffet that appeared long closed down. The lap pool had burgers and fries, they were fresh but boring, we were the only ones there on a mid-day great fun, Terrible food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very amazing and relaxing for a family trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a good price offer from the hotel for this swimming facility. Ask your reception before you go to this facility since price can be rather different.

It was rainy day and we spent near 40 min in the queue just to enter the pool. There were many people there but if you are familiar with Japan, it would not surprise you! Besides, facility was very large and could host a rather large crowd.

We had a lot of fun in this swimming facility. Fish spa and aroma hot springs were the bests for us.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakone Kowakien Yunessun also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Hakone Kowakien Yunessun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hakone Kowakien Yunessun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.