We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, funky and interesting, but a bit worn.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kirinoya Ryokan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kirinoya Ryokan to your Saves list
Kirinoya Ryokan
Ryokan
  |   58 Tamachi, Narita 286-0024, Chiba Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, funky and interesting, but a bit worn.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed here one night before heading to Tokyo. Very friendly and helpful staff, decent food, and a good funky feel to the place- but it also felt a bit dark, dirty and smelly. Lots of smoking going on in lobby area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
12
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Stayed with 2 small children (4yo & 6yo) for the last 2 nights of 5 weeks in Japan.
- Two rooms adjoining, with sliding screen doors between (see picture), lots of space for 4 people.
- Friendly family, particularly father and son.
- Great breakfast! (We had the japanese one)
- Short walk to Narita-san Temple and gardens. Beautiful!
- Great shopping street, (Omotesando) for traditional craft and presents. We found everything for our last minute Christmas shopping.
- Very handy for the airport - owner dropped us at Keisei Narita station for the 10 minute train ride to the terminal.
A great way to end our trip!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

My family and I have visited at least a half-dozen times as we travel from Guam to the US Mainland. For a brief layover in Narita I would never consider staying anywhere else.

The place is charming and (by Japanese standards) Very Inexpensive,and Katsumata-san is a thoughtful host. Transportation is easy, ten minutes on the train from Narita Airport and you can arrange for Katsumata-sn to pick you up at the station. Gorgeous gardens and temples are within a leisurely walk.

Really, why WOULD you stay anywhere else in Narita?

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We had a day and a half layover in Narita and wanted to try a ryokan for a change in place of a regular hotel room. It was a very differeent experience, got to sleep on the floor, used a different pair of slippers for different areas of the house, enjoyed the traditional breakfast, and in the end a complimentary ride to the train station from the owner. The rooms are modest but extremely clean, the owner is friendly and Narita is an interesting place with a lot more attractions than we would have thought. It is Japan, so everything is ridiculously expensive but in the end the experience is worth it in my opinion.

We had dinner at Sushi Man, and it was excellent, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We had a fantastic stay here. Lovely tatami room, FABULOUS food (and very inexpensive), and meeting Katsumata-san was a high light of our stay in Japan. I have lived in Japan but was keen to introduce my children & husband to Japanese culture, and this was the perfect way to do it.

  • Liked — the tatami rooms, the food, Katsumata-san
  • Disliked — the steep stairs to the rooms (I'm disabled),
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

We stayed at Kirinoya Ryokan our last night before leaving Japan, and we are very glad we did. It is a bit far from the train station and central Narita, but the taxi ride was very inexpensive, and the proprietor gave us a ride back the next morning.

The ryokan is right next to a beautiful park and a quite famous temple. The owners are very charming and will do everything they can to make you enjoy your stay.

The room we got was very spacious and the futon beds were comfortable. It felt more like staying at a Japanese home than a hotel. The breakfast we had was excellent (they can make either a Western style or a Japanese style breakfast).

For all this, we spent merely 5000 yen per person. Excellent value for money!

  • Liked — Owners, atmosphere
  • Disliked — Distance to town centre
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

Great place to stay. The family run hotel is a genuine Japanese experience that you must have. The owner goes out of his way to help and it is situated near (250m) to some of the best formal gardens and temple complexes you will find anywhere.
I was rapt. Katsumata-san the owner picked me up from the railway station and dropped me off gave me a good meal and breakfast all inclusive of the price that was around $70/night.
You cant beat that.

  • Liked — The cultural aspect
  • Disliked — Dark
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirinoya Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirinoya Ryokan

Address: 58 Tamachi, Narita 286-0024, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Narita
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Kirinoya Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirinoya Ryokan Hotel Narita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirinoya Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.