We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great transit hotel or if you have business in narita” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Garden Hotel Narita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added International Garden Hotel Narita to your Saves list
International Garden Hotel Narita
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   241-1 Yoshikura, Narita 286-0133, Chiba Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
3.5 of 5 stars 333 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great transit hotel or if you have business in narita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights for business, It was a good choice, as its very close to narita airport where we had the meeting. And there is a free shuttle to the the airport.

The hotel is located in a quiet area, you cant find many restaurant or entertainment nearby within walking distance. This is where the free shuttles to downtown and aeon come in play, for you to explore more of narita, and at least to find good place to eat. There is a small store near to the hotel, where you can find snacks and drinks.

I like the small and clean room, unfortunately there is no wifi. Overall it was an enjoyable short stay. Staff were very friendly, great japanese hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at International Garden Hotel Narita, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
kkdoo,

Greetings from the International Garden Hotel team,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a detailed Trip Advisor review
It was pleasing to note that overall you had a positive experience.
Hotel located in Suburban Narita half way between the airport and down town Narita. You can walk to Aeon mall in 20 minutes and make your way down town to Narita city (old) on foot in about 25 minutes - as pointed out we do also offer free shuttle services.

Thank you again for your review and the positive comments

Best regards

David C Harper
General Manager
International Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    161
    98
    20
    8
See reviews for
56
76
77
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent a night in Narita on our way from Perth to Los Angeles a chose this hotel because of the location and price.

It took a bit longer than I expected getting to the hotel as the free hotel shuttle made stops along the way and our hotel was the last stop.

As is the case with most Japanese hotel room, this one is very clean. The room is also large and I would say adequate for a overnight stay.

There is a deli just outside the hotel beyond the car park if you needed some provisions or water. The hotel also provide a free shuttle service to the AEON shopping centre and to the railway station.

From the railway station you can talk a nice walk to the Naritasan Temple. Along the narrow streets, there are quaint shops and plenty of restaurants. Eel seem to be the specialty in this area.

I like this hotel for the proximity to the airport and all the free shuttle services.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at International Garden Hotel Narita, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
AsiantravellerPerth,


Greetings from International Garden Hotel

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review.
Great to see that you enjoyed the overall experience. Thank you for your travel tips - I am sure that other first time visitors to the area will find them useful. You were correct in your assumption - Narita is famous for eel and you will find many eel restaurants around Narita san temple. I would suggest to all visitors to make the trip to Narita san temple and to try one of the many eel restaurants - a true slice of Japanese life.

Again thank you for your comments and for the positive review

We hope to welcome you back to International Garden Hotel again in the future

Safe travels

David C Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here on our last night before flying back to the UK. We had travelled back to Tokyo by train and caught the N'EX back to the airport where we easily located the courtesy bus to the hotel. After 2 weeks in Japanese hotels this was very different. The hotel was much more Western in design with huge rooms and a big bathroom. It was a pity we were only here for one night and didn't really bother to unpack as there was plenty of wardrobe space!

We had planned to use the courtessy bus to go to Narita to eat, but we were pretty exhausted so we ate in the hotel. It was a buffet (I think it was Italian - but I'd use that term loosely). The food was good, however we were suprised at 9.00pm to be told it was closed. The restaurant was advertised as open something like 6.00-9.00, but we assumed that was last entry! We were booked on the shuttle bus back to the airpport in the morning which was prompt and effiecient.

Room Tip: Watch the opening times of the restaurant - they are literal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at International Garden Hotel Narita, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Beverley_11


Thank you for your recent stay at International Garden Hotel and for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review
It was pleasing to see that you have a positive experience overall and you found that the hotel suited your needs
As you mentioned the hotel features large guest rooms - all rooms are 28 sq mtr's - which is very large by Japanese standards.
Our hotel Restaurant - Avanti features a Mediterranean inspired buffet for lunch and dinner, we also feature an a la carte menu throughout the day and night. My apologies that the staff did not adequately inform you of the dining options. I will review our signage and speak with the restaurant team.

Thank you again for the positive review - it is appreciated

Best regards,

David C Harper
General Manager
International Garden Hotel Narita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Got stuck in NRT airport again and found this budget hotel ($65 no breakfast via Agoda). Free shuttle but only runs hourly in the morning with more frequent trips in the afternoon. The reservation desk at NRT airport and at the hotels has the schedule so you can plan ahead. This hotel is a few more minutes away than most of the others, so plan for 40 min to/from the airport to be safe as it make stops at other hotels too. Wifi is only in the first floor lounge, and is free. Rooms were fairly large for Japan, or as compared to Hotel Nikko's tiny rooms. Furniture is outdated walnut from the 50's but the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Bathroom was retrofitted into the room. Toiletries included soap, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush/paste, hairbrush, body sponge, showercap, blowdryer, kimono robe and slippers, hotpot and green tea. Bedding was very nice with 4 firm feather pillows. There was no water provided, or wifi in the rooms. A/C worked great. TV had 2 or 3 English channels. There is a convenience store right in front of the hotel where you can buy water, snacks, and pre-made foods since there is little around these airport hotels. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at International Garden Hotel Narita, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Tamara954

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review
I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and would return to the hotel based on your experience. Your review was full of information that other travelers will find useful

Again thank you for your stay and for the positive review

Safe travels

David C Harper
General Manager
International Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I had a one night layover and stayed at this hotel. The airport shuttle was convenient and on time, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. Room was clean and sufficient, got a non-smoking room as requested, and I was able to take advantage of the gym too. There is free wifi in the guest lounge only.

Only bad thing is the limited TV channels, only two in English.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at International Garden Hotel Narita, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
akho,

Greetings from the International Garden hotel team,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review
I was please to note that you enjoyed your stay and would return to the hotel based on your experience.

Again thank you for your stay and for the positive review

Safe travels

David C Harper
General Manager
International Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have been staying here for two nights after having had problems at the airport. It was pretty short notice and we were mainly looking for a cheap option. Check-in was really inflexible, as we were a bit early and check-in time is 1300. Our rate was 8000yen for a double room (which was actually a spacey single room with two sets of amenities) which we had to pay up front. The hotel has a restaurant attached to it with buffet option for 1960yen for lunch and 2200 for dinner (or 2900 with drinks).
Breakfast in our room was free, however we were sleeping out. (Breakfast is until 0930)
The room offered an average bathroom with defective shower head where you couldnt control the water pressure (which is normal, not due to defective), a tiny TV with 13 channels (1 English) and 3 Pay TV channels, a wired Internet modem for 1050yen for 24 hours but NO WIFI anywhere in the hotel (sic!), big window, no safe, and pretty standard amenities in bathroom. Our room (9067) was smelling of smoke. At check-in we were not asked for smoking or not, but even if it was the last available option they should notify us about it being a smoking room. Staff generally was not friendly, not helpful and spoke poor or no English, with a couple of exceptions.
Furthermore, you have the option of using a laundry room, 24h fitness room with a dozen of devices, a jacuzzi (outside on terrace), and a lot of space in lobby and lounge to do whatever you want. Also, there are 2 computers with Internet you can use for free.
The hotel is poorly located (as you might expect from an airport hotel), but offers you convenient shuttle bus services from 0630 to 2300 to the airport, the Narita Station and some of them also stop at the AEON shopping mall - free of charge.
Overall, the hotel offers you cheap and convenient (you can reserve rooms at the airport) options for a layover at NRT, but has no charm and you should not expect too much service.

Room Tip: specify explicitly Non-smoking if desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at International Garden Hotel Narita, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
ivobrown,

Greetings from Japan!


Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review
I was please to note that overall you enjoyed your hotel experience. International Garden hotel team try to offer a safe, clean and comfortable hotel stay at a reasonable price. WiFi is now available free in the Lobby and Lounge areas of the hotel.

Again thank you for your stay and for the positive review

Safe travels

David C Harper
General Manager
International Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I happened to stay overnight at Narita because I could not catch my connecting flight. It was paid by my airline company, but there is no free internet. The cost of Internet is 1500 yen per day.... It is crazy.

Food at the main restaurant was very good. The service quality is excellent. I would not mind staying in this hotel when I have to stay in the Narita area again.

Room Tip: You need to ask clearly if you want a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at International Garden Hotel Narita, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Etobi,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor survey on your recent stay at International Garden Hotel
I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the overall experience.
I note your comments about in-room internet fee's and will review.

A good travel tip for others is that we offer free internet terminals adjacent to the hotel lounge and we are about to offer free WiFi in our Lobby and lounge

I was pleasing to note that you enjoyed the food and beverage offering at Avanti Restaurant - it is a very popular restaurant for Hotel gests and our local community

Again thank you again for your stay and your comments

Best regards from the International Garden Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International Garden Hotel Narita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Garden Hotel Narita

Address: 241-1 Yoshikura, Narita 286-0133, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Garden Hotel Narita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your International Garden Hotel Narita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Garden Narita
Narita International Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Garden Hotel Narita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.