We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for 18 hrs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu to your Saves list
Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Oyama, Narita 286-0131, Chiba Prefecture   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
nz
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Stayed for 18 hrs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the indoor pool. When we got there we had to hire towels and SWIMMInG CAPS!?? Net ones, my teenagers wouldn't go, I forced them. I Spent $13 nzd ( which I didn't have, as thought I wouldn't need to spend any cash in Japan. Put it on visa) for the privilege of them swimming for 5 mins.
They won't let you swim without them, but as I left 3 men entered at different times..not wearing them!
If they had stated swimming caps on the website and the $$$ needed to purchase I would have stayed at the Marriott in town and we wouldn't have had to walk 7 km round trip to the temple. But I thought the pool would be good after a 12 hr flight from nz, but they were just embarrassed. The marriott has a free shuttle to the airport, which is another thing I wanted as does the excel. Takes 20 mins and after 10.30 am runs once an hour! So be careful. Make sure you realise it's not every ten minutes etc but every 30 mins before 10.30 then hourly, if your flight is at 1 pm onwards etc

But going to the temple was the main reason we stopped in Japan on the way to Paris, and the walk was good, it was sunny and warm ( 1 deg but warmed up to 8 but no wind and sun made you sweat walking) and there is a free shuttle to town once an hour but we didn't want to waste anytime as only had 18 hrs there so left before it operated ( 0730, we finished breakfast by 7 am)

The breakfast was good, restaurant and surroundings nice.we had a room facing the waterfall and garden, so it was quiet, ask for that not one facing the motorway. Would I stay again...maybe. I enjoyed an hour in the pool and no one was with me, empty..so it was relaxing. ( my 4 kids changed and went back to the 2 rooms we had booked)
A load of kids in there, prob wouldn't bother. Spa was nice. My hat looked cute!

There is an outdoor small pool by restaurant but it was dirty and closed, being November. Rooms were old but clean. Bathrooms like a caravan Formica wall bathroom, but clean. Have stayed at nikka before, and that was good, but this hotel is the first hotel you get to if Walking to the village so that made the walk doable ( about 2 kms to green bridge then turn right to temple..another 1 km meandering through the streets)

The temple was great, the gardens lovely, a few leaves on the trees still to drop.
It was a great experience for them and worth the stop over.
Hotel was a triple room and a double with breakfast $230 nzd (Plus towels and swimming caps.
Ha ha ,) which was a good price I feel for 5 of us, and my boys put some bacon away!!! We took some pikelets, croissants and rolls for morning tea later.


Thank you Japan for the experience. I was travelling alone with my kids as husband already in France. I felt safe and well looked after. The free wifi was brilliant .
We brought food from nz for tea that might but the hotel had about 5 dining areas, lobby was pretty with a Christmas tree . English isn't spoken well...but we got by ( ie where is the pool, password for wifi, hiring of towels...the lady there, no English ) seemed a hotel where Japanese stayed rather than kiwis
Mattresses are excellent, rooms semi quite. Could hear shuffling above a little bit.

Room Tip: Overlooking waterfall/ gardens. Not over looking motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    403
    230
    19
    11
See reviews for
200
187
172
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife works for the airline co. and when they've got Narita flight they stay in Hilton, I'm saying this because for herself Excel Hotel room is a lot better, and great value hotel you pay less for what you can get, they pick-up from and to the airport T1 and T2. We chose this hotel because of the value and didn't expect anything so we're surprised. Very good if your transiting or maybe if you only have short time in Tokyo area, we used the Excel Hotel shuttle to the airport then caught a limo bus to Shinjuku to take a bus to Mt. Fuji, I'm not sure if there's a train service, but if there's one I suggest to take it because of the traffic in and out of Shinjuku from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night after arriving at narita before we made the trip into tokyo. The hotel is a bit old, but it is very clean and the staff are excellent. We booked a semi-double room for $88 which included breakfast and we were upgraded to a queen room so we were very impressed. Breakfast was fine, but nothing special. It was great to take advantage of the free shuttle to and from the airport which ran on time and was extremely convenient.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Japanese hositality at it's best exhibited by the staff . The single room I had was small as are most hotels in Japan . The breakfast was excellent compared to many hotels in Japan - alot more continental food to cater to international transit passengers . The comfortable and convenient bus service to the airport and downtown was an added attraction .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heibloem
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a great hotel for an overnight stay before or after a flight in or out of Narita. There is an efficient shuttle service to take you to and from the airport and the rooms are comfortable and clean. For an airport hotel it is very reasonably priced and the hotel itself is quiet and settled. The beautiful Narita temple complex is just minutes a way and well worth visiting if you have time in between flights.

Room Tip: Check inside the airport to see where to catch the shuttle bus as there are many different buses
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Really surprisingly good for an airport hotel! The rooms are spacious, clean, noise-free, and the restaurant was excellent - and like the hotel itself, far from over-priced. Very efficient shuttle service to and from Tokyo Narita airport. The hotel grounds include a very fine Japanese garden.

Room Tip: Go for the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Perfect setting, close to airport and beautiful dining areas. This place was my first experience in an international country and boy did it impress! The rooms were tidy and have us an amazing view. The wifi was a little slow. We were picked up by the free coach and dropped off to the airport which saved a lot of money. About an hour it so from Tokyo city by the free coach from the hotel, also to Narita there was a free coach there and back which was fantastic. The dining down stairs outside was so cool, we sat around a table and collected what we wanted to eat and cooked it ourselves. There was also unlimited beer that you poured yourself, it has defiantly made Japan a special place in my heart as it has given me such good memories.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu

Address: 31 Oyama, Narita 286-0131, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 706
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Expedia and Rakuten so you can book your Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.