We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, well located in Narita town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel Narita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hotel Narita to your Saves list
Richmond Hotel Narita
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   970 Hanazakicho, Narita 286-0033, Chiba Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
4.5 of 5 stars 751 Reviews
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money, well located in Narita town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed overnight one night. Staff was friendly, professional and helpful. The rooms were comfortable, the beds were firm, the place was clean and the decor was nice.

Shuttle bus to airport works great if you need to go when it's running. It doesn't run late into the evening.

We don't speak much Japanese (classic ugly Americans, sorry about that), but we did fine at the hotel and walking in the area to a really lively restaurant/pub (not sure if it was an Izakaya or not).

We paid 10,000 yen per room per night for two people in each room.

The internet was fast, the bathrooms clean, the appliances worked well. I needed an iron and ironing board, the front desk sent one right up (5 mins).

Soundproofing is excellent. There was a van with religious zealouts driving around downtown Narita with big horn speakers blaring from the roof. When the windows were closed and drapes drawn, we didn't notice it. And it was really really loud when we opened the windows.

We only staid in one other hotel in Japan and that was in Shinjuku. It was nice, but the room was cramped. The Richmond Narita's rooms were not cramped at all by comparison.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    301
    42
    16
    2
See reviews for
139
175
223
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The free airport shuttle arrived right on time ( well, of course - this is Japan ), check-in was swift, the room spacious and spotless, front desk helpful with tips for restaurants nearby. Both the Kansei and JR stations are easy walking distance for Tokyo trains.
Two caveats - the only ATM that accepts foreign cards is quite a walk, at the 7-11 store beyond the JR station, so if needed get Yen before leaving the airport. And the shuttle bus stops running about 20h30 ( but you can take the Kansei trains for Y240 from both terminals at Narita ).
Excellent value - I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Dec 24-26 2013, I stayed & reviewed a Narita hotel last year, This time we (girlfriend and I) used this hotel. she downloaded an ebook of 400 coolest restaurants worldwide for budget travelers. We tried a specific sushi place and this hotel was nearby, Staff? friendly! Room? cozy! free bus to airport ( they also offer it from airport but we were not aware of it ahead of time). Their Cafe didn't have a lot of western items- but hey, it is Japan, why would I want bacon/egg breakfast in a foreign country? IM sure when Japanese visit Vegas they don't wonder "not a lot of Japanese foods on the menu? haha ;) Our overall experience was fantastic and we will visit again
.

Room Tip: mention you want to take pictures, they'll give you a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abcoude, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is quite far from the airport compared to the other hotels. The shuttle bus we had smelled like smoke and was a bit dated. The receptionist make you pay at the check-in.These machines are located besides the reception desk but you need to change the language from Japanese if you know how… I had to ask for help to change the language to English which should have been given to me since I am from European decent. For the 4 of us (1 adult and 3 kids) were given a twin room with two beds besides each other. The bed is very firm and is not big enough for an adult and a child to sleep together. But my overall first experience was ok.

Unfortunately my second time around I got very bad experience with the reservation already. Due to early arrival I wanted a room from 10 am which is not a problem according to the website for JPY 1000 extra per hour. Instead of being charged JPY 4000 I was offered JPY 7500 for the early check-in and as for the room price I was also charged JPY 4000 extra. When I asked why, I did not get an answer. Will I go back after this? I don't think so...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at Richmond Narita for one night and Richmond Asakusa for two nights this December (2013). While our general excellent evaluation applies to both, specific comments here refer to Richmond Narita.

As many readers of these reviews surely know, the town/village of Narita is located one train-stop away from Narita airport. However, the town has its old character, complete with an old city, touristy but atmospheric shops along a narrow street, a 1000-year old temple, and an adjoining park. All of this means that staying in the town can provide a richer experience than a typical "airport hotel", of which many exist around Narita airport as well.

Richmond Narita is located right next to the City Hall. We did not have any business there, but it meant that the entire block was free from certain kinds of businesses that are noisy or otherwise undesirable. The hotel is very clean. Rooms are small, but well equipped. There is a nice breakfast buffet with Japanese and Western items, and I'd recommend a breakfast package when booking. The hotel provides a free shuttle service from/to the airport. If the shuttle's schedule doesn't work for you, it is just one train-stop away.

Of course, Tokyo offers much more, but there are many situations when I would recommend the town of Narita. (1) If you have seen Tokyo previously, and have only a 1-2 day connection, you might enjoy skipping the long crowded train rides and exploring the smaller town. (2) Even for longer Tokyo stays, it would provide a soft landing the first night. Get some sleep, see the temple/park for a few hours, and then move to Tokyo. (3) If you have an early flight out, it may make sense to position into Narita the previous day, and have a relaxed (and free!) shuttle transfer in the morning.

In any event, if you plan to spend 1-2 days in Narita, we can recommend Richmond Hotel very strongly.

(For an unusual touch, the hotel requires payment in advance. Maybe they have had guests leave without paying? We didn't find this to be a big deal, but mention it so you won't be surprised. It does not affect the excellent experience or value in any way.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
504 reviews 504 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
517 helpful votes 517 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night between flights, wanting to be close to the airport. The hotel's airport shuttle service has a limited schedule and it didn't mesh with our times. To use it, we would have needed to wait for about four hours on arrival and to leave from the hotel six hours before our flight. A cab would have been expensive as the hotel is several miles from the airport. We ended up taking the Keisei train line to the town of Narita for 250 Y each. Then we had to figure out where the hotel was as this was not obvious at the station. We learned that the quickest way on foot would be to descend many flights of steep stairs with our luggage. So we opted to walk the long way: out the main entrance, turn right, go down the hill, pass below the train tracks and cross the street to the hotel.

We arrived just after 2 p.m. and went to the hotel's restaurant/cafe, because it had been hours since we ate. That eatery's schedule also did not mesh with ours. It stopped serving food at 2 p.m. and would not consider selling us even a slice of bread. The waitress kept insisting that we buy a drink and didn't want to take "No" for an answer. But we left and returned to the rail station area for a snack.

Our room itself was perfectly acceptable -- small but clean and with good free wi-fi service. The bed was comfortable. There was a small refrigerator but no safe. If the TV had any English-language stations, we couldn't find one.

In the evening, we found many restaurants open nearby and had a good meal. For those with enough time, there is an interesting temple to visit in the town.

Based on previous reviews, this hotel has worked well for most guests. Unfortunately, the timing was way off for us.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, the room was cozy, well kept and welcoming, and the shuttle bus service to and from the airport was an excellent bonus. The restaurant could have used a little more of a continental menu (especially on a layover when just looking for comfort food), but otherwise my overall stay was fantastic and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hotel Narita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Narita

Address: 970 Hanazakicho, Narita 286-0033, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel Narita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Hotel Narita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel Narita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.