We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - limited shuttle service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel Narita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hotel Narita to your Saves list
Richmond Hotel Narita
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   970 Hanazakicho, Narita, Chiba Prefecture 286-0033, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location - limited shuttle service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel was clean and reasonable - staff were friendly. Shuttle service from the airport is quite limited, If you are feeling confident, you can take the subway from the airport and get off at "Narita" station and walk a few blocks - or take a cab. I was traveling alone so felt uncomfortable getting to the hotel and trying to communicate with anyone (little or no English is spoken at the airport or hotel). The hotel has a nice restaurant.

Room Tip: There is a laundry and a drink vending machine in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    300
    42
    16
    2
See reviews for
136
175
223
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Absolutely faultless. Room was on the small side, but everything was thoughtfully provided.

There now appear to be more shuttle services to the airport. Do make sure that you book the service upon arrival though. I had no problem. Everything went like clockwork.










  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Traveller
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I have stayed I this hotel twice for a night each time to catch flights out of Narita the next day. We both recommend it highly as perfect for this sort of stay. The rooms are a good size for Japan (especially the twin rooms). The staff are very helpful and the hotel offers all the little extra things you need and might have forgotten.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After a long flight from the United States my family and I booked three rooms at this hotel. This was my first time to Japan and this hotel was a wonderful introduction to Japanese culture and hospitality. We arrived to Narita airport where the complimentary hotel shuttle picked us up from the hotel shuttle area. Upon Check-in we were met with two women at the Front Desk and a very friend concierge. You pay for your room at something that looks like an ATM and then on to your room. I booked a smaller room, it was very clean and functional. The hotel is located near Narita Station and you have a host of restaurants to choose from. We will book this hotel again but next time choose the rate including Breakfast. Thank you to all the Trip Advisor reviewers who recommended this hotel, it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I booked the hotel based on the #1 rating on Tripadvisor from hotels.com. It is said to have free shuttle from/to Narita airport w/o any details. It turned out not the same "free shuttle" as what we have here for all airport hotels, but very limited and narrow time frame, 7 to 12 and 16:45 to 20 from the airport to hotel, 6:40 to 11:40 and 14:10 to 19:40 from hotel to airport. It is very friendly to the hotel shuttle drivers but not that to the guests, especially for those who just need an overnight stay but still want to get a chance to explore the city a little bit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Well maintained, clean hotel, room, and bathroom. Breakfast buffet is decent. It is minutes from the Narita "town station", not the airport station. Unfortunately, my experience with their service is so-so. The ladies at the front desk are very nice, but cannot problem-solve (by lack of will or authority, I do not know). They have free shuttles to the airport every 2 hours, which is one of the reasons I chose this hotel in the first place. Unfortunately, the 8am shuttle was fully booked. That meant paying for my airport transfer ($30+ for a cab, or walking around with a suitcase for the train), or being 4 hours early at the airport on the 6am shuttle. When I suggested they could have the shuttle make an exceptional 8:30am run, they looked at me like I was insane, and thought it was totally normal I had to deal with the problem of the full shuttle on my own. A bit disconcerting.

Room Tip: Don't count on the free airport shuttle. If it's available, take it as a plus, but expect it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Due to unforeseen circumstances, my partner and I had to find a hotel near the international airport at the last minute.

As we searched for closeby hotels, we found this one sittig at #1 on TripAdvisor for Narita hotels. We quickly looked at other options but ended up booking this one over the phone.

We caught the last complimentary shuttle bus (8:20pm) from Stand 31B at Terminal 2. Upon arrival, the friendly staff was helpful and we got our room quickly.

The room was quite spacious and was spotlessly clean. However, I would have given a better rating if it wasn't for the cigarette smell in the non-smoking room.

The hotel is five minutes walk to the closest train station ans 15 minutes to the Narita-san temple!

Note: If you are using the shuttle bus service, make sure you make a reservation to avoid any dramas going to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hotel Narita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Narita

Address: 970 Hanazakicho, Narita, Chiba Prefecture 286-0033, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel Narita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Hotel Narita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel Narita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.