We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & historical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naritasan Shinshoji Temple

Naritasan Shinshoji Temple
1 Narita, Narita 286-0023, Chiba Prefecture
+81 476-22-2111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 Attractions in Narita
4.5 of 5 stars 585 Reviews
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This temple is known for its fire ritual, which is performed several times a day. Visitors wishing to know their fortunes can purchase paper oracles from vending machines located on the grounds or pay a visit to one of the local soothsayers.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful & historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Large complex of Shinshoji temples and pagodas dating back to the early 18th century. Visitors can attend the moving and colorful hourly services conducted by the monks that include cymbals, chants and tyco drums. Very little english translations available so bring your guide books.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    231
    60
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Poitiers, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice temple.+ There is different show the day we came here.
Maybe it's greater to take an afternoon here (i think it's every Sunday)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quiet and lovely.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I enjoyed visiting this temple because it was away from the hustle of Tokyo. I walked there from my hotel (Mercure) in under 15 minutes. Spent an hour wandering without feeling crowded. I went a little before 9am and caught the last 15 minutes of the service. You can just go in to the temple and sit down and be a part of it. Quite interesting. The shops on the road leading up to the temple fun to look in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“colorful, interesting temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

one of the most colorful and best preserved temples we visited in japan on our 9 day trip. surrounded by a lovely park also. well worth the visit especially if you are staying near the Narita airport.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Shinshoji temple is a Budhist temple with lots of traditional buildings, and lovely grounds. We spent a very pleasant few hours there, getting over jet lag.

Surprisingly it is free.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naritasan Shinshoji Temple also viewed

Narita, Chiba Prefecture
Narita, Chiba Prefecture
 
Narita, Chiba Prefecture
Narita, Chiba Prefecture
 

Been to Naritasan Shinshoji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naritasan Shinshoji Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.